We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Recommendation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Red Cottage Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Menlo Park
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Chose this place after reading the good reviews. They were dead on. This place is a great find. Price is a bargain compared to other properties in the area.

On the outside it looks like a 2 star motel tucked away from the road, but soon you find it well kept. Obviously the owner takes pride in and pays attention to their property. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and cozy. The funishings are newer and not worn. I thought being near the commuter railroad tracks a few blocks away would create a noise problem, but it was not. You had to open the door and listen hard to hear a train.

Definitely would stay here again if in the area.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, price
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    44
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
32
25
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We took a trip to Stanford to see UCLA play (women's volleyball) and feel we totally lucked into finding the Red Cottage Inn! Our room had a comfy bed, patio and large marble bathroom. We felt the comfort of a large well appointed hotel without feeling like we were staying at a nondescript hotel chain in anytown USA. The location was perfect! About 5-7 minutes up the road from Stanford and downton Menlo Park. The staff recommended a lovely book store and there was a late dining cafe with music on a Friday night. My daughter and I had such a wonderful trip and can't wait to go back! I hesitated in writing this review (a year late) as I want to keep this place a secret but when planning our trip this year I feel it needs to be recognized.

  • Liked — The style/simplicity of the room and decorations.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

I was a guest at the Red Cottage Inn for the entire week of Monday August 20th through to Saturday August 25th.

I just wanted to express my sincere appreciation and thanks to the staff (Especially to the Front Office, Jamine) for all their assistance, kindness and warm hospitalities during our stay (My daughter and I).

Our stay was very pleasant and we loved the "Home style" comforts of the rooms, the quiet, the general environment and for our overall experience. This was particularly calming to us, as we settled my daughter into her new dorm room and into her new College life, (First time away from home). Thank you.

I shall look forward to revisiting and staying at the Red Cottage Inn again the next time my family and I revisit the area. Thank you again for all kindness and hospitalities.

PJL - San Diego, CA

  • Liked — Friendly, convenient location and quiet
  • Disliked — The noise of the air conditioners
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

What a great find. It is a smaller property, tucked away behind other buildings fronting the main road which makes it very quiet. The property itself was very well maintained with plenty of flowers and shrubs. The staff was polite, friendly and personable. Although small, my room was immaculate with very well appointed furnishings. I appreciated the tasteful decor which made the room feel much more like a more upscale boutique type of property. The bathroom is tiny, with a shower stall instead of a tub, but that works for me and it is well appointed none the less. The towels were soft and fluffy and the tiles and grout were spotless. There was a small garden patio that overlooked the pool and created a very scenic and restful atmosphere, perfect after a long day working while on the road.
The room also had a microwave and refrigerator, and the sliding doors opening to a patio are another bonus.

  • Liked — clean quiet facilities
  • Disliked — easy to miss the sign from the highway
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

Pleasant staff, comfortable bed, clean accommodations, quiet location. Very pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

I was drawn to the Red Cottage Inn by other good reviews and the great price, as well as the proximity to my meeting location and shops along El Camino Real. I was a little worried as I drove up, as it is in a strip mall, though set back from the road. Also, it's a motel, which, as a single female traveler, I usually don't consider. However, the building and parking lot were nicely secluded behind a few walls and flowering plants. The staff was extremely friendly and efficient. My room was pretty far back on the first floor, and behind even more beautiful flowers. The room itself is very luxurious for the price -- marble bathroom, amenities and appliances that you'd expect to find at a much nicer place, very soft towels. The little things were great - the lamps are easy to turn on and off, and there are plentiful and well-placed outlets... hard things to negotiate in some hotels. I love the little back porch with a table and chairs. The beds are soft and comfortable. I'm staying here every time I'm in the area. The room is a little small, but as I said, very well-appointed and luxurious.

  • Liked — Free wireless, beautiful flowers all around the premises, high-end amenities in the rooms
  • Disliked — Appearance from the outside
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

We needed to be in the area to visit family at the Stanford Hospital. It was tough to find a decent place at a decent rate. The Red Cottage Inn offered great rates and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms sit back from El Camino Real. They are well-decorated with fantastic beds. Rooms even have private patios, and the hotel's common area was landscaped-nicely.

Like other hotels in the area, it tends to sell out midweek. Take along the address, because the sign can be hard to miss.

  • Liked — Great room! Helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Could be difficult to pass by on the busy street.
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.