We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside, Careworn, Inside Very Very Nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menlo Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Menlo Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Menlo Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outside, Careworn, Inside Very Very Nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Checked into the Menlo Park Inn on 10 January. As I was driving up to the hotel, the outside seemed a bit careworn and unappealing. The Office is temporarily located in one of the hotel rooms while they remodel the actual office building and the continental breakfast area is also in an adjacent hotel room. But, once I checked-in and got my room assignment, I was very impressed with the amenities. 3 telephones, nice comfortable bed, free internet, free starbucks coffee, a microwave, a mini fridge, a hair dryer, an iron and ironing board, and a flat screen TV with separate DVD player. The room seemed very recently remodeled and was very very pleasant.

The continental breakfast spread was also excellent with a waffle machine, bagels, bread (and toaster) fresh fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, granola bars, pastries, coffee, orange juice, and assorted teas. The room was set up with tables for dining and it was all very pleasant.

The staff is also very nice, I would recommend this hotel. Incidentally the office remodel will be completed sometime in February.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
16
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010 via mobile

Very clean hotel. Excellent service

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

This "hotel" has been rated 2.5 - 3 stars on various travel sites, but it really is just a motel. Just because a place provides Starbucks coffee packets and "upscale" toiletries does not warrant rating it higher than what it deserves.

I do give the owners credit for really trying hard at making what is really an old motel, into something better. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room and coordinated decor - but they really can't overcome the extremely outdated bathroom and poorly maintained upholstery. Anytime I walk into a hotel room with a bedspread, I cringe wondering when the last time it was washed - to top it off for this hotel - outside of the decorative pillows, two of the four main sleeping pillows, also had cases that probably don't get washed (as evidenced from "spots" on them) - leaving guests with two sad lumpy, flat, barely usable pillows.

The walls were also paper, paper thin. We had a ground floor room and heard conversations (and every single movement) of the people upstairs as well as full conversations of people walking past the room up the stairs.

To be fair, the price was right: on the low side versus other hotels in the area, but if you are going to market yourself as a 2.5 or 3 star hotel - you have to be at least as good as a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn - this motel/inn should only be given 2 stars at best so at least travelers can make informed decisions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is a really small hotel , but the rooms are very clean and confortable. i felt like if i was home the service is great the house keepers adjusted to my time i told them when to come in to clean my room i really love this hotel plus they have free internet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I booked this motel room via hotwire, which I have generally had good luck with. They described this as a three star hotel, which it is not. I have stayed at nicer Super 8 motels and Economy Inns. Small room, uncomfortable saggy bed with two thin lumpy pillows, and peeling wallpaper. Television did not work. The service was friendly. I don't know if this motel has some nice rooms and some lousy rooms, but our experience was poor.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Menlo Park hotels

Tracy, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

wonderful thoughtful innkeepers - very clean and large room. Beautiful bathroom. I will stay here everytime I have to be in the area - very very nice small boutique hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

I was disappointed in this hotel. I won't be staying here again. Its an average place.
The bed looked nice but it was too soft. The pillows looked nice but they were lumpy.
The hotel is a step up from a Motel 6 room. Free WiFi is appreciated. The service people were good at the hotel, but don't call for directions because you'll get someone in SF who doesn't know the streets and really can't help. The room is pretty quiet once you close the door. Its like a motel. The breakfast is all carbs and starts at 7am. No gym. The TV worked and was good. No elevator. Also the window in the bathroom was unlocked when I checked it....it did lock, thankfully.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Menlo Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Inn

Address: 1315 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Menlo Park Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Menlo Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Hotel Menlo Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menlo Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.