We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Bargain For This Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menlo Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Menlo Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Menlo Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Rare Bargain For This Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just across the line from Palo Alto, this motel is quite convenient to Stanford, which was our destination for this trip. This is a typical L-shaped, two-story motel setup that has been nicely rehab'd and kept up. The operators are very friendly and put out the extra effort to make you feel welcome as a guest instead of just another wallet. At check-in, we were presented with a basket of bottled waters and home-made cookies, both quite welcome after a long drive. The rooms are decently sized, with mix-and-match furniture that is nonetheless in good shape, comfortable, and useful. The bathrooms were clean and modern, the beds firm and comfortable. Wifi is free and excellent, with four different repeater locations to choose from so that you get a strong signal. One of my favorite features is that the hidef flat screen TV is provided with an actual hidef cable feed, unlike many "luxury" hotels that provide only an analog signal (with it's "fat-people" picture). And it has a generous array of channels including ESPN. We had an upper room, which I would recommend if you can handle a flight of stairs with your luggage, as our floor in the sink area squeaked prodigiously, and I wouldn't have wanted the room below ours (208). We didn't have occasion to use either the heat or the AC, but the unit appeared to be newer. The breakfast room was light and pleasant, and the offerings ranged from cold cereals to make-your-own waffles. Entirely adequate and very welcome each morning. There are several restaurants within walking distance, including a Turkish one that was quite good. We'll be repeat visitors whenever we are in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
16
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great little hotel close to Stanford, Palo Alto, Menlo Park...within easy walking distance of everything on El Camino Real...yet, quiet! Great cookies and snacks included! Nicely renovated....Super breakfast also included...Very friendly staff....will definitely stay here again...

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are farther from El Camino Real
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

great location for my business trips, nice rooms recently redecorated. good service, nice amenities. The property has large rooms, with nice linens and decent mattresses. there could be better pillows and towels, but for the money it is a great value in the area north of Palo Alto

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an old motel that's been renovated - with some nice touches. Nice decoration, good plumbing, wireless. The people at the front desk are the nicest you will find anywhere. The little snacks were really helpful when I came in late, hungry, and tired.

The location is great - easy walking distance to Menlo Park's little but very nice downtown.

One thing they didn't upgrade was the walls - I know way more about the football recap playing in the next room than I cared to at 11:30 PM, and could hear every cough of the older gentleman in the room on the other side.

Breakfast was ok, but nearly all starch. Cereal, toast, make-it-yourself waffles, hard boiled eggs, a little fruit.

Room Tip: El Camino is very noisy all night long, so see if you can get a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Menlo Park hotels have become seriously overpriced (thank you Silicon Valley), and I've been looking for a moderately priced hotel to stay when visiting family. I was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel had been updated from the standard 1960s, dated decor of comparably priced properties. While there is no pool and my sister complained about the breakfast, I enjoyed my room, the front desk was friendly, and the overall experience was positive. One can't change the fact that this is an older hotel, but at least they've invested some capital to overhaul the rooms and reception area (unlike some of the others in the neighborhood).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradise
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good central Menlo/Atherton location. Nice people. Very good amenities. Attractive room and very good value. Should ask for a room further away from El Camino Real due to traffic noise. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here on business this week and it was what I expected after visiting the website...a very nicely updated and remodeled motel. Don't get me wrong, the room was very clean and the updated touches were quite nice; but you can tell parts of this isn't a new motel. I'm glad my room was on the second floor because the squeaky floor joists would have driven me even more nuts listening to them of I had been on the first floor. The service was good at check in and check out and I never had any issues that I needed to engage then with. The free continental breakfast was ok as well. I liked the Kuereg coffee maker in the room, but was very disappointed that I only received a single coffee serving and it was never replaced by housekeeping after I used it. I've never been to a hotel that didn't replenish the in-room coffee supplies save for Kimpton where they only have communal coffee in the lobby. Road noise was a minor issue and easily resolved by turning the a/c on.

All in all, this is a clean, affordable little motel that has been updated, has good service, a decent free breakfast, is within walking distance of Santa Cruz Ave. (downtown Menlo Park).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menlo Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Inn

Address: 1315 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Menlo Park Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Menlo Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Hotel Menlo Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menlo Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.