We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Menlo Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Menlo Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Menlo Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an old motel that's been renovated - with some nice touches. Nice decoration, good plumbing, wireless. The people at the front desk are the nicest you will find anywhere. The little snacks were really helpful when I came in late, hungry, and tired.

The location is great - easy walking distance to Menlo Park's little but very nice downtown.

One thing they didn't upgrade was the walls - I know way more about the football recap playing in the next room than I cared to at 11:30 PM, and could hear every cough of the older gentleman in the room on the other side.

Breakfast was ok, but nearly all starch. Cereal, toast, make-it-yourself waffles, hard boiled eggs, a little fruit.

Room Tip: El Camino is very noisy all night long, so see if you can get a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
16
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Menlo Park hotels have become seriously overpriced (thank you Silicon Valley), and I've been looking for a moderately priced hotel to stay when visiting family. I was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel had been updated from the standard 1960s, dated decor of comparably priced properties. While there is no pool and my sister complained about the breakfast, I enjoyed my room, the front desk was friendly, and the overall experience was positive. One can't change the fact that this is an older hotel, but at least they've invested some capital to overhaul the rooms and reception area (unlike some of the others in the neighborhood).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradise
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good central Menlo/Atherton location. Nice people. Very good amenities. Attractive room and very good value. Should ask for a room further away from El Camino Real due to traffic noise. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here on business this week and it was what I expected after visiting the website...a very nicely updated and remodeled motel. Don't get me wrong, the room was very clean and the updated touches were quite nice; but you can tell parts of this isn't a new motel. I'm glad my room was on the second floor because the squeaky floor joists would have driven me even more nuts listening to them of I had been on the first floor. The service was good at check in and check out and I never had any issues that I needed to engage then with. The free continental breakfast was ok as well. I liked the Kuereg coffee maker in the room, but was very disappointed that I only received a single coffee serving and it was never replaced by housekeeping after I used it. I've never been to a hotel that didn't replenish the in-room coffee supplies save for Kimpton where they only have communal coffee in the lobby. Road noise was a minor issue and easily resolved by turning the a/c on.

All in all, this is a clean, affordable little motel that has been updated, has good service, a decent free breakfast, is within walking distance of Santa Cruz Ave. (downtown Menlo Park).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Chic place, nice room. The bath amenities are great (blood orange scent).

Great location, easily walkable to a handful of restaurants.

Friendly staff.

Free breakfast and wifi.

Great value.

ps. if possible get a 2nd level room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

When I arrived my first thought was "why did they reserve a room for me in an old motel?" But, inside I found a reception area that was tiny but contemporary. A smallish room off of the office housed the free breakfast dining area. They had cookies and lemon water available every time I walked by. A nice touch. The room was fine. A fluffy queen size bed with lots of pillows. A small desk and chair, TV etc. The room (including the bathroom) was clean. I appreciated the free (!) Doritos and water they provided as well as the free sleeping mask and ear plugs. The room was fairly quiet and dark; I slept fine.

The free breakfast is your standard bagel/muffin/waffle assortment with coffee and juice.

I would stay here again.

Just as an FYI, cab fares to Menlo Park from the SFO airport are high! $100 (w/tip) there and $80 (with tip) back. Yikes! It is only 17 miles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stay here often and are always pleased. Family run by very attentive family. On El Camino Real but rooms are quiet and everything works. Free wifi. Always something to eat at breakfast.
Make your own waffles. When I loose something they always find it! Parking and bringing luggage to the room is always easy. Now I remember why they invented motels! Computer in lobby never very busy. Print out your bording pass.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet. try for ground floor if much luggage. Can walk to restaurants and Beltramos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Menlo Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Inn

Address: 1315 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Menlo Park Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Menlo Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Hotel Menlo Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menlo Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.