We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place when visiting Stanford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Sand Hill

Save Saved
You added Rosewood Sand Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosewood Sand Hill
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2825 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Central New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place when visiting Stanford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic high tech room, good pool, hot bar, excellent food, tremendous view, very close to campus.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    33
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
43
11
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Silicon Valley has been described by many as a souless place - not so the Rosewood. Everything about the experience reflects a high-touch, luxury experience and, despite the proximity to the 280, a relative sea of tranquility.

Rather than repeating many of the very accurate previous reviews, form the perspective of Salomone in the technology sector, the Rosewood is in close proximity to the always important Sandhill and Page Mill Road locale of technology companies and venture capitalists, offering a great opportunity to meet, deal or simply chill either inside but the fire, or outside on the terrace. The after sunset crowd is also fascinating, a mixture of businessmen, couples and those wishing to meet the next billionaires. The only negative is the restaurant itself which offers truly average food.

Overall, worth a visit, worth a drink, and definitively worth a stay if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Look for rooms overlooking the pool if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The quintessential luxurious resort in the heart of the Silicon Valley. I love the privacy of the rooms, almost cottage-like. Simple yet classy decor throughout the property. Stayed in a suite that was quite spacious, bright and contemporary. I love the open floorplan with the television wall divider. The bathroom has an enormous shower and huge tub....another reason we had difficulty getting out and about in a timely fashion.
The spa is huge and one could spend the entire day relaxing and enjoying all it has to offer....quiet room, sauna, fresh fruit, cool water and outdoor jacuzzi. The pool and jacuzzi are the perfect size to accomodate the whole place, never feels overcrowded...super friendly pool servers, too.
Food - Every meal was delicious including room service....although extremely pricey and a very limited selection during breakfast and lunch.
Service was excellent in all areas of the hotel. Extremely friendly and accommodating, especially the front end; front desk, valet and bell staff.
Will return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quezon City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

this is the best hotel one can stay in at the bay area. The rooms are spacious and appointments are really great!!! We stay here often whenever we need to be close to stanford. It has very easy access in and out and prices are great for what they offer.We have even used this for family reunions when the children from all over the country stay here to be together. Food is excellent and can not complain. Only one hitch when we ordered breakfast room service, the milk for the coffee came late and it was not warm in spite of repeated calls to room service. however, that is such a small glitch for a great hotel. We are going back there this tuesday to enjoy the comfort of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed while my son was interviewing for medical residency at Stanford. This resort was above all expectations and I have stayed at other Rosewood resorts. The rooms are incredibly quiet even though it was at 100% occupancy. No noise at all, the blinds really do block all the light so if you want to take a nap you can. The beds are super comfortable.
The towels are plush, the amenities in the bathroom are top notch including the bath salts. Altogether amazingly wonderful.
The Madera restaurant deserves its rave reviews. Every small detail was well done. The food was perfect. The service superb.
The spa was well worth the expense. Best facial ( from Joy) and Massage ( Kim) I have ever had in my entire life and I am over 50 and been to many highly rated spas.
The only downsides are things that the property may not be able to control. For example there are so many FLIES outside. They land on you as you sit on the pool deck or your patio and we were here in the WINTER. They are inside the lobby too and land on you at the bar, in the restaurant. Beats me how to get rid of them in a way that doesn't drench everything with pesticide-- maybe import some fly eating birds ( but then they poop everywhere). That was quite annoying actually. The local taxis are very poor. Every single time we had issues as did other guests. The drivers are frankly unsafe AND don't have a clue where anything IS. Even when we asked to be picked up at the "oval at Stanford" which is a local landmark the barely English speaking driver wanted an exact address for his GPS. Then on the return to the hotel he didn't know where the Rosewood was and couldn't spell Sand ( as in Sand hill drive) so my son had to get out his GPS on his phone and direct the driver who turned the wrong way on a one way street. My advice is to rent your own car-- also you WAIT and WAIT for a Taxi-- at least half an hour, there don't seem to be any taxi stands at tourist areas...

The town car driver we had contracted with for the airport wasn't any better-- our flight was slightly delayed due to fog and he kept calling the cell saying
"the airport told him we had landed so he left"!! So spending lots of money isn't the answer either.

The concierges were uniformly incredibly helpful especially Margo McKinnon. She even took the "house car" and drove us to Stanford when the taxi which was supposed to arrive didn't after 15 minutes. Now that is personal service.

Room Tip: they all seem quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Reservations made by Stanford. Arrived @ 9PM to find room being aerated from prior smoker. Desk staff were most helpful and accommodating. Provided dinner, while waiting, and this was the second surprise: The meal was wonderful, and the staff, waitress and others were as friendly and helpful as I might have wished. Came to dinner the next night, and the meal was again wonderful, the service exceptional. When coupled all together, a wonderful stay, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here while we were in the area. I was there for business, she was there to see old friends in the area. Before we arrived, they sent a quick note asking if there was anything we needed for our stay. We mentioned a crib would be nice for our baby.

When we arrived there was a crib, an assortment of diapers, a baby bath, baby soap and shampoo. We were taken back by how our simple request for just a crib - became a complete package for baby care.

Additionally, at one point I needed to attend a nearby meeting and my wife the car. I called the front desk to arrange cab service, and they said they would be more than happy to take me and pick me up with their hotel car. The driver was very kind, the car comfortable, and it couldn't have been easier.

I've stayed at the Westin and Four Seasons in Palo Alto numerous times, and going forward, for business or visits to the area, the Rosewood would be my first choice. The gym was terrific, the grounds incredibly manicured, and the rooms were twice the size of the four seasons and in much better shape. Thanks Rosewood for a memorable and enjoyable stay for our family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosewood Sand Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Sand Hill

Address: 2825 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Sand Hill 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid 16 pristine acres in Silicon Valley, Rosewood Sand Hill® melds the rich heritage of relaxed California Ranch architecture with fragrant gardens and stunning Bay Area views of the Santa Cruz Mountains. The hotel appeals to an array of guest experiences with resort-like amenities, lush courtyard gardens and local charm. Whether relaxing in the largest guestrooms on the peninsula, indulging at Sense® spa or delighting in the freshest of fare at the Michelin-starred restaurant, Madera, guests enjoy unparalleled attention to detail and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Rosewood Sand Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Sand Hill Hotel Menlo Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Sand Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.