We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small restaurant, big flavors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Del Sol

Cafe Del Sol
1010 Doyle St, Ste 1, Menlo Park, CA 94025-4515
650-326-2501
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 120 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“small restaurant, big flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is our go to restaurant for lunch- The food is good ( Dinner is even better with a larger menu). Service is friendly, sometimes a little overwhelmed and the noise level can be a little high. My favorite items- any kind of burrito and Chicken Mole ( only available at dinner). Their tortilla chips are freshly made and delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Menlo Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Forget any of the French restaurants on Santa Cruz Ave., Del Sol is the best restaurant in town. Every dish is outstanding, and the biggest problem is deciding what to get. Luckily, many of the ingredients are the same no matter what you get, including the tasty rice, beans, and salsa fresca. The enchiladas de mariscos are my favorite, with shrimp and fish in a great creamy sauce. Also a favorite are the fish tacos and burrito...I could keep going on and on. Everything is fresh, authentic, and delicious. I can't say enough about Del Sol; it's a must-try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Charming place with tasty sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The staff is friendly and the food is authentic. Had a lovely meal here last week. Strongly suggest the chicken mole.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty mexican cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very small facility but very flavorful and excellent service.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I ate here on a Saturday afternoon with our son and his family. We loved the food - it was fresh and tasty. The service was excellent! There is a green salsa that they serve here with chips and the other more typical salsa - you have to try it! It's amazing.

The menu selections are traditional but they are served with an extra flair. You can tell that the owners are proud of their restaurant. We'll definitely come here again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Sol also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.