We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnitas Express

Carnitas Express
26900 Newport Road, Suite 117, Menifee, CA 92584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Menifee
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stop in at the Carnitas Express in Menifee pretty regularly for happy hour. The margaritas are really quite good and the quesadillas are big enough for two if you aren't too famished. Some nights there is a mariachi band playing. It is clean, has good prices, good margaritas and we like the food. So if you are looking for a reasonable place for mexican in Menifee that is reliably good, head for Carnitas Express.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Busy Storefront Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My family has been going to Carnitas Express for years, and the place has tripled in size! It doesn't look like much from the outside, and it isn't fancy on the inside either, but it's clean and the food is good. Prices are reasonable too. A burrito is big enough to last for two meals for most people. Crispy tacos are made in freshly fried tortillas -- not the pre-formed kind. They have a wide selection of Mexican and American food for breakfast, and it is served all day. The breakfast combination is big enough for two, with a choice of a main entree, plus two sides chosen from muffins, fresh fruit, toast, pancakes, and more! If you have a real sweet tooth try the French Toast Revolution made from a giant cinnamon roll. I usually share a Hongos Chicken dinner, which is a large chicken breast sliced into two grilled pieces and served with mushrooms, onions, bell peppers, and tomatoes with rice, beans and tortillas. They also have a selection of hot sandwiches and burgers -- the grilled chicken and mushroom is yummy! Be prepared to wait for a table if you go at noon or dinner time, or Sunday morning. We go early or late to beat the crowds. It's definitely a favorite with the locals.
The newest addition is a Mariachie Band in the cantina on Friday nights. They do serve alcohol and they just started a cover charge in the cantina area on Friday nights -- guess it's become very popular. They also do take-out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Bad service & breakfast wasn't great either.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

No hostess, so we signed in and waited. Servers passed by a dozen times and we were never acknowledged.
We had to approach someone to get seated.
Food was mediocre, the kicker was watching the cook crack eggs over a customer counter by the takeout area over a trash can.
We won't be going here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Good food, great service. I just don't understand why the bathrooms always STINK........please fix them, it makes me worry about the kitchen cleanliness...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“YUMMY,YUMMY-THE FOOD'S GREAT!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My Husband,I and Friend's coem here at least twice a week.
We come with Church Member's every Sunday.
The food is great,has a lot of variety,the server's are very nice,pleasant and also
are attentive to their customer's.
We also come once in a while to their Saturday night Karoke,it's a Blast!!!!
Local in the neighborhood-great place to bring the Family.
Would recommend it as 4 stars!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnitas Express also viewed

 

Been to Carnitas Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnitas Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.