We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shades of Agatha Christy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hill House Inn to your Saves list
Hill House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
west marin, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shades of Agatha Christy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We loved it all, the elegance, the view, the history, the location, the room (#204), the breakfast room and chapel, the service, the setting...Highly recommended! Easy to walk into town to stroll the shops and eateries.

Room Tip: Upstairs has the best view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    94
    59
    29
    12
See reviews for
51
144
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Based on reading other reviews, people were complaining about some of the rooms. However, ours had been renovated and was beautiful! The view and setting was quiet, pretty, and peaceful. It is off the main road on a hill so there is no street noise. Their continental breakfast is pathetic, although the dining room and view was beautiful. Choices for breakfast was waffles, hard boiled eggs, and store bought bagels plus coffee, tea, and orange juice. They are re-doing their kitchen so it may improve in the future. But even so, they need to offer more choices of food. The front desk staff seemed to be overwhelmed with phone calls and trying to help guests. It sounds like they need more help. For Murder She Wrote fans, this is the hotel where the cast and crew stayed when they filmed in Mendocino.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated room! We stayed in room 124.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place has good and bad things. The room was huge but the bed was really uncomfortable. The grounds were beautiful and decor lovely but the continental breakfast was lousy. When I'm paying $160 plus fees I expect a little classier breakfast. Love that it was pet friendly but our room smelled like pee when we first opened it. The rooms weren't very sound proof and the upstairs guest were really noisy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We spent two nights at Hill House and would have been happy to extend had time allowed. We were given an up-graded room with a view of the somewhat distant ocean. Especially beautiful with the fog and overcast. The room was a bit shop-worn around the edges, but extremely clean and comfortable.
The desk folks - Menthie and Seyrai - were especially friendly and helpful.
The property is a few blocks from the main village, and has the feel of seclusion. Very quiet and restful. The breakfast is standard expanded continental fare with waffles, bagels, juices, coffee/tea/chocolate, boiled eggs and fruit. More than adequate for our needs.
We'll definitely consider this Inn for our next trek to the North Coast.

Room Tip: Don't know about the "garden" rooms, but the ocean view we had was very nice. The oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Several good things but several bad about this place.
The good: nice location, we had a room with an excellent view for which we paid more. Friendly stall. Easy walk to town. Loved hearing the waves and the sea air always nice
The bad. For the price not worth it. We booked via the Internet and paid fill price of $295 plus tax. I noticed others booked and got special deals. The furniture and decor were old and outdated and the place could really use some sprucing up. The bed we had was very uncomfortable. The breakfast was listed as continental but only had bagels, high fat cream cheese, waffles, instant oatmeal and some fruit. There was coffee and tee. No milk only one staff and expected to bus your own table.
Would not book again. Look for something in town

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layer de la Haye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

......By the old fashioned stripes and patterns combination. Staff didn't know their rooms..it took three attempts for us to find one with access to the garden, which was pleasant to sit in the adironacks and watch the fog drift overhead. Bed gloriously comfy, weird papered over light switches, good shower. Breakfast disappointing (although the make your own waffle is always a winner). We'd go back, even if it's just to visit one of their murder mystery nights, after all this is Jessica Fletcher territory...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Hill House Inn for two nights and absolutely loved it. Our room was spacious and clean, the bed was super comfortable, and there were beautiful views of the ocean from our balcony. Ashley at the front desk went out of her way to be extremely helpful, she was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 223 and had excellent views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Inn

Address: 10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Mendocino
Hill Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.