We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.... for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hill House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hill House Inn to your Saves list
Hill House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Corte Madera, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad.... for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed room 224 with ocean view no balcony. Looking at pictures on the website we were expecting more style/ charms... room clean but very 1960 , tube TV with a very small screen. Ok for one night but . Can't say I would go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    99
    62
    31
    13
See reviews for
53
149
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The inn is really nicely located..you can see the ocean from their huge backyard..rounds ate clean and big size..enjoyed the breakfast and the dining room offers great voters add well..it's a beautiful place..serene and kinda secluded..

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Hill House Inn on the last night of our driving trip up Highway 1 in late December. On previous nights we stayed in Pismo Beach (2 nights), Carmel (2 nights) and Bodega Bay (1 night). The best value we encountered was the Hill House Inn. Attentive staff, large room, good bed, quiet atmosphere, decent continental breakfast, dog-friendly. What more can I say? How about my impression that they are good people, working hard to please, in a challenging economy, on a rugged, beautiful coastline. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a suggestion from the front desk. They know the property and will try to find a good match w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Spectacular ocean view! There was no view from our room. Noisey Heater. Breakfast upstairs broken elevator. Stairs beautiful but for a handicap person !
New Years dinner, told meal off the menu was not, other not told at another location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez-Malaga, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Travelling from Europe we looked forward to visiting this Inn. Arrival increased our excitement, lovely reception and staff, great ambience in lounge with welcoming fire after arriving in the fog! Into a room with exactly as expected lovely old feel (grandma?) fabulous bed, warming fire place and a balcony with an Ocean view - perfect (well not quite TV old and bold but we weren't here to watch television) and a great night's sleep to awaken with THAT view, magic then disaster we went for Sunday Breakfast to a nicely laid out breakfast bar and dining room to really enjoy the view but where was the food? Very stale bagels so tightly wrapped in shrink wrap it was almost impossible to open them, an indifferent self make waffle and luke warm dishwater from Friday or Saturday (I think it may have meant to be coffee!) with a few preserves.
No eggs, no meat, an apple and an orange and a request for bread to make toast was met with a very blank indifferent response from the one member of staff who eventually turned up on the room showing no interest in the few people trying to chew their way through those bagels. Positively the worst breakfast I have ever had in the USA. Be much better to either not offer anything or at least offer guests a proper paid for breakfast befitting what the Hotel really has to offer, a great traditional place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend getaway we found on Living Social. The location is great and easily walkable to town which was a big deal for us. The surrounding grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed the fall foliage.

The Inn itself had a neat rustic beach feel to it which I liked a lot... The room was big, antique furniture, a hidden LCD TV (which we didn't turn on) and had a king size bed. If you like stiff, hard as a rock beds this place is for you. I had a terrible time sleeping and both my partner and I tossed and turned much of the night. They definitely need to update their linens and bedding while their at it. There was something in the room I was allergic to (dust, mold or both)... within hours I had a cough, watery eyes and congestion. At first I thought it was a cold coming on till we left the room and the symptoms cleared.

The service was great, the staff was awesome and gay friendly. Overall if was a decent stay but because of the beds and allergy issues we probably won't come back to this specific inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
As always it is great to hear that our staff is welcoming and friendly as we expect and also good to know if we have areas where we fall short. Beds in a hotel are one of the most important pieces of furniture and we thank this guest for letting us know that maybe it is time for a new one in this room. The foggy coast where we live can make for mustiness if rooms are not used frequently we have instituted a heater rotation to hopefully prevent this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend getaway and got through a Living Social deal. The reviews below are pretty much correct.

Pros: The staff is nice and accommodating. The place is dog friendly and lots were around - all well behaved. The rooms are large, along with beds. The original set of pillows were rock hard, but others in the room were softer. Shower works good with good pressure.

Cons: The rooms are dated (think grandmothers house), have that musty kind of smell. The lobby is also dated and there isn't much there. I wouldn't consider their breakfast breakfast. Coffee, orange juice, boiled eggs, waffles and bananas. Oh, and did I mention you have to BUS YOUR OWN TABLES? Nice.

Oddities: I find it really strange the GM only responds to positive reports. If i was the GM, I would respond to the negative ones and improve. The first floor rooms open to the outside and there aren't screens on the sliding doors or windows. The windows open so that someone could come in your room very easily. I'm sure the town is safe, but.....

Overall this is a 3 star hotel at best. The breakfast area has a small view of the coast, and the rooms on the far right side of the hotel have some views on the top floor. Nothing spectacular.

Would I stay here again, probably look for a different place. This could be a really nice hotel, but they need to up the amenities for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Whenever we read "Grandmothers house" we realize that not everyone enjoys the style of décor that abound here in Mendocino and of course at Hill House Inn. We currently try and maintain the same look that was intended at the time the Hill House was built and used in the Murder She Wrote TV series. We also hope that our guest's feel just as comfortable here as they would in their own Grandmother's house. We do take all criticism and suggestions seriously and thank our guests for letting us know what needs improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Inn

Address: 10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Mendocino
Hill Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.