We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Dog Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Inn by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Dog Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This place is so amazing. wood burning fireplace, fresh baked cookies daily in your room. They are the most dog friendly place I have ever been. You can even take your dog to dinner with you in there restaurant. My only complaint is there is no meat or dairy. This was a plus for my lady, but i am a big meat eater so I struggled a bit. However the food they do make is quite amazing and creative. especially the deserts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We're glad to hear that you and your lady enjoyed your time at the Inn. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    60
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
64
184
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A beautiful setting and lovely facility. Very friendly and helpful staff. Dog friendly too.
The food is imaginatively prepared but all we had was breakfast.
You can do biking and boating.
The town has a great nouveau restaurant in Mendocino Cafe.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the review, Stephen, we will pass on the compliments to our staff. Hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I think this is my new favorite place to stay. I am a vegan about 70% of the time- vegetarian the rest. The restaurant was fabulous- so nice to look on the menu and not have to narrow it down to a few choices... The grounds were beautiful- llamas, gardens, pond, indoor swimming pool. Our room had a cozy wood burning fireplace and a selection of reading material that included Architectural Digest and Art News. We also saw the 4th of July parade in Mendocino which was great fun.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed your holiday weekend in Mendocino, and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this space. We could only stay one night (they usually require 2, but I called a few days before we arrived and they had one room for one night). On arrival (3:00pm) there's tea and cobbler in the lounge area. Plenty of space in the room overlooking the organic garden that you should walk about in. There's a covered saltwater pool, hot tub, and spa open 8:00-10:00pm. Raven's restaurant is vegetarian/Vegan with some raw dishes, what we tried for dinner and breakfast was very tasty. Dogs welcome anywhere including the restaurant, although we don't have one. The room has a fireplace with wood and kindling already set up, there's a seating area outside and fridge and coffee maker in the room. It's a short drive (3 min) to the headlands shops by the see, great walk.

Green Features: Wow, organic and when available it's grown on the property.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for the great review, Paul, it sounds like you had a great time. We love to hear that! Also, wonderful pictures - thank you for sharing. Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a lovely inn-- rustic charm with woodburning fireplaces (already laid for a fire), decks overlooking the ocean, sumptuous plants everywhere and the kind of attention to detail that makes you glad you landed here (like homemade cookies in your room every night). We thoroughly enjoyed strolling the gardens, the proximity to terrific hiking, and the pool was very well done. Dogs are welcome here, and they are in abundance. Service was friendly and efficient. The only downside for us was the food. The menu is vegan-- great for those who want a vegan menu or require a gluten-free diet, but some items, like the spicy scrambled tofu, are just awful.

Green Features: Exceptional attention to environmental practices. Organic gardens throughout the property supply the restaurant.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the kind and honest review. It sounds like you had a great time at the Inn! We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at The Ravens'. I am not sure what dish you tried, as I don't recognize the name from our menu. If you would like to email us directly we are happy to look into this. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We chose to stay here for a romantic get-away, and were not disappointed. Everything: the service (wonderful staff), the view, the comfy (very large) room, the food--was amazing. Can't wait to come back, but I'd want to stay longer to enjoy all there is to offer.

If you're looking for a luxurious place, look no further. Stay here!

Room Tip: Any room has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
Green Features: There is an amazing vegan breakfast--part of the whole package. My husband and I don't usually choose a vegan menu, but everything was so tasty!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
What beautiful photos you have captured! Thank you for sharing, and we will pass on the kind words to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, Ca
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and our dogs have stayed here several times over the last 15 years. Most recently for his birthday in April. We are always welcomed like old friends. The property sits off the highway so there are lovely ocean and territorial views. We usually get the larger suite at the far end of the property which is a bit pricier but perfect for special occasions. All rooms have balconies, TVs, Mini frig, sound system and fresh baked cookies each day for humans and canines. The organic gardens on the property are wonderful to stroll and there is also an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Massage, yoga and other activities are offered for additional cost.
Ravens, the vegan restaurant on the property is a destination for everyone on the coast, not just guests of the Stanford. We aren't vegans but have always enjoyed the innovative and delicious food served here. Guests with dogs can sit in a special dining room and feel the comraderrie with other dog lovers. There is a lovely grand piano which we have been fortunate to hear a guest play each time we stayed. The canoe and bike rental facility is a brief walk from the Inn and you can spend the day paddling up the River. The Inn is also only a 5 minute drive from the village of Mendocino. We have been staying at fantastic places in Mendocino for decades and the Stanford Inn is our hands down favorite.

Green Features: If your are in to environmentally friendly places, this is your destination
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back, and appreciate you taking the time to write about us. Until next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.