We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.D. House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J.D. House
Save
You added J.D. House to your Saves list
571 Ukiah St, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights over our honeymoon and were in Kits Cabin. We found the room really charming. We also really enjoyed the breakfast served -- probably the best warm scones and jam we've ever had. We organized a wine tour through our reservation and had no troubles. The tour was probably the highlight of our trip! Since Kits Cabin is one of the oldest rooms in the B&B the bathroom is was bit old and small. The sink was also located outside of the bathroom next to the bed. This really didn't bother us since we thought the room was very comfortable, quaint and budget friendly. I would recommend the JD house to anyone traveling to mendocino. If you prefer a nicer bathroom and have more money to spend you should ask about the other rooms which are more updated.

Room Tip: Kits Cabin is one of the most quaint rooms I've ever stayed in and has its own entrance from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A quick first visit to Mendocino has me hungry for more. I loved our room - the one out back facing the water (was it called Raven?). Everything was exquisite - the bed was the best we slept in during our entire trip. The room was clean and refreshing, and it felt comfortable. I loved the outdoor deck facing the water, and I wish we had had another day or two to sit outside and enjoy Mendocino. Brunch the next morning was well-served and very good. The location was wonderful - right in the center of town, yet not to noisy.

Room Tip: The two out back up the stairs with the decks - think we were in Raven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Nothing bad to say at all!! We stayed in Kit's Cabin. It was just so cute as well as feeling luxurious. The room and bathroom were spotless, staff were incredibly friendly and breakfast was delicious. Great location and lovely town. So pleased we chose JD House and thanks to the owners and staff who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

lovely room with whirlpool bath and luxury toiletries, just what we needed after two hard days of driving. Lots of advice about the area, restaurants, wildlife.

We were woken by the bin men at 6.15 am on our first morning, which allowed us to experience a Mendocino sunrise and walk out on the headlands to see the mist roll down the river and the coast clear - wonderful! We woke ourselves on day 2!

Lovely breakfast, fresh scones coming out of the oven and quiche, yogurt, lots of fresh fruit, juice, coffee, anything you wanted.

Loved our room, Osprey, definitely worth the extra for the terrace and view.

Great stay.

Room Tip: Book Osprey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were looking forward to staying here, photo's looked good etc but never expected it to be this good - amazing. The room was beautiful (Kit's Cabin), spotless, well arranged, shower good - you even get your own deck area.

We had a really good welcome - couldn't have been made to feel more at ease had we known them.

The town of Mendocino has to be seen, try and get there even i f you aren't staying - it's just wonderful (was used as set for Murder She Wrote) It's full of character, friendly people, not too many shops but those there are good. There are also sea walks along the cliffs which were spectacular. We were staying for just one night and that was the main disappointment - should have been much more. A fabulous find.

Room Tip: MUST go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in the Raven and had a great time. The B&B is close to everything and has a great view. The gardens were amazing! The different types and colors of flowers were so beautiful and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Perfect for a 25th wedding anniversary trip. Be sure to get out and explore while you are there. We hope to go back someday.

Room Tip: Pick the Raven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had a nice weekend at the JD House. It's a quintessential b&b. The breakfast was delicious (esp. the chicken apple puff pastries) and the staff is friendly and welcoming. We stayed at the First Mates room. It was tiny and it had no TV and the bathroom needed major updating. I think the experience could have been a 3.5-4 stars if another room was available - we saw some of the larger updated room and they were quite lovely.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J.D. House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.D. House

Address: 571 Ukiah St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
oldest house in Mendocino ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Dougherty House Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.D. House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.