We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Raku House (same owners, across the street)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages
Save
You added Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
44781 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Tacoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Raku House (same owners, across the street)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We called en route to inquire about a room in the Alegria Inn, which was full, but we were offered a room in The Raku House across the street. We were also offered a late check in deal, which made our minds up for us. We were very comfortable in the upstairs spacious accommodations, could have slept 4 people. Toni was very helpful, letting us know there were copies of restaurant menus and she also had a map locating each one. We got settle then headed out to dinner at the Cafe Beaujolais and had a wonderful dinner/evening. In the morning a tray with a pot of coffee, juice and fresh, still hot from the oven, scones were delivered to our room. Hope to make it back to Mendocino and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    23
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
70
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I wish I could give this a Very Good review, at least, because there were many excellent things about the Alegria Inn. But our room just wasn't up to snuff, especially for the price.

The Good: Ellen and Eric, the owners, who are warm, relaxed, friendly, and solicitious; the cookies they bake and always have available in the lobby; the personal note and bottle of wine awaiting us in our room; the breakfast and the attentive way it's served; the hot tub that overlooks a magnificent eucalyptus and beyond that, the ocean; the lovely main house; the cozy location tucked into beautiful landscaping; the trail down to a beautiful stretch of beach.

The Bad: I wasn't happy with the Driftwood Cottage. It was dated and felt claustrophobic, with worn furnishings and almost no space to put your stuff. Its "ocean view" was a teensy little window in a corner of the bed loft through which you could glimpse some waves if you squinted. The shower was pretty terrible: a deep round tub with a handheld sprayer mounted way high that drooped down so it would only point at the wall. You had to give yourself a spray bath instead of taking a real shower, and the hot and cold taps were very hard to adjust. The loft bed was fun but would have been more fun if I'd been about 12. And the futon bed was a foam mattress so thin it was unuseable.

Everything except our cottage was so nice that it kind of seemed like two different inns. Because of this, I think we'll try it again sometime, but with another room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Oh goodness ~ where to begin. My (now) fiance kidnapped me from work and took me here as a surprise weekend getaway (and ultimately to propose.) From the moment you step foot in the front door, you can expect a warm welcome and a top notch experience. Elaine worked with my fiance to find the perfect spot to propose and ensured he had maps, sunset times - everything he could possibly need to make it perfect. She really went above and beyond to help us out.
We stayed only one night in the 'treehouse', which was much too short. It was rustic, cozy and completely romantic - the perfect place to celebrate under the stars. The bed was heavenly soft and the fireplace was perfect. Many ammenities here, including fresh local coffee and organic teas in the room. Toiletries? They got you covered too.
We opted to have breakfast delivered to our room and it was absolutely divine! Pesto eggs, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, pasteries... we loved every delicious bite.
Toni was just a doll and so helpful. She made us feel very welcome, like part of the family.
We were sad to leave such a magical place and can't wait to come back. There just aren't enough kind words we could say that would do Alegria justice. THIS is hospitality at its finest.

Room Tip: We stayed in the treehouse. I can't imagine there is a bad room on the property though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Mendocino for over 30 years, and have stayed in numerous different B&Bs and rental homes, and also the Mendocino Hotel. We somehow overlooked Alegria, staying there only on a recent trip. Wow, what a great place, and we will definitely be returning there. I think Alegria offers perhaps the best view we have experienced if you stay in a room overlooking the Big River where it runs into the ocean. The innkeepers are among the friendliest we have encountered at any of the many B&Bs we've stayed at in several states, and the breakfasts are equally superb.

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the river/beach/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

cozy, rustic cottage; fabulous location (cove cottage overlooks ocean with no obstructions); friendly, helpful innkeepers; delicious, freshly cooked breakfasts; easy walk to town; lovely outdoor hot tub to view the stars at night

Room Tip: all are different; cove has unobstructed views of ocean; is private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

When we booked our two-night accommodations, they communicated right away with us to confirm our arrangements. When we arrived we were instantly charmed by the place. Our tree house room was clean and cozy and just right for our family of three. They provided a sleeping mat for our 10-year old daughter while we slept in the Cal King size bed. My husband noticed though that he woke up with a back ache, so not sure whether it was the kind of bed (not enough support) that was not compatible with his needs. The breakfasts were delectable, made just as we arrived and served fresh with ingredients from the local organic farms. We loved both the breakfast quiche and the waffles, as well as the fruits that accompanied them. Hot chocolate was from Italy and the coffee was organic. And the owners Eric and Elaine were both there to serve us, answer any questions we had, and make helpful suggestions on what to see in Mendocino. Truly a family affair. Even their teenage daughter helps out, baking the delicious lemon bars and cookies, which we were allowed to help ourselves to all we want. Elaine even printed out the recipe for us so we can bake it at home! The breakfast room has a stunning view of their garden with the estuary/ocean as the backdrop. It was wonderful to be able to take quick morning and afternoon walks down to the beach through the inn's private access. Would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Alegria was our first stop on a trip up the Pacific Coast from San Francisco. We arrived a few hours before dusk, on a sunny day, after a spectacular drive up the CA coast. The afternoon light on the inn's gardens and the beach was fantastic, and we couldn't wait to explore the ocean bluff paths nearby. But our room (the Pacific Suite) was so inviting, and the deck had such a pretty view, that we just sat and enjoyed the peace for a while before setting out. This is not ostentatious luxury -- no granite or exotic wood in sight -- but it seems like Alegria's owners think of every detail. Our whole stay was great; a comfortable bed, cozy wood fireplace, tasty breakfast, lots of quiet. Though this is a small inn, the feel is very private -- the owners are present but not intrusive, and when we were there the other guests were friendly but seemed there (as we were) mainly to enjoy each other's company in a gorgeous and tranquil setting.

Room Tip: The view rooms and cottages are worth the extra $ -- just a stunning setting. One word of caution...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages

Address: 44781 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Alegria Oceanfront Inn And Cottages Hotel Mendocino
Oceanfront Inn Mendocino
Alegria Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.