We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cottage, great overall experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cozy cottage, great overall experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed at the Sea Gull Inn B&B in Mendocino June 6th & 7th, 2009. The four of us (wife, myself, & two teenagers) stayed in the Barn, a separate cottage in the back of the gorgeous little garden. Room was quaint and cozy, with an upstairs sleeping loft for the kids (one bed, low headroom but functional). Small bathroom (shower only) but big enough and the hot water came suprisingly fast. Hosts couldn't have been more friendly. Simple breakfast (coffee, juice and scones or muffins) but fresh, delicious and very well presented. Great location right on the edge of the very walkable villiage. If you have a small family, this is a good value; a real B&B experience without a king's ransom for two rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    58
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
138
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ginnyc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

What more could you ask? We stayed at Sea Gull for the first leg of our trip through wine country and it could not have gotten us off to a better start. We stayed in Lookout 1, a charming first floor room at the front of the inn and it was just lovely. The room was small but charming, the garden at the inn was delightful and a delicious breakfast was delivered to our door every morning. Jim and Ayla were warm and welcoming. We stayed 3 nights and if we go back, Sea Gull is absolutely where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The Sea Gull Inn was exactly what you would look for in a New England bed and breakfast on the California coast--cozy, charming, and clean. We thought it was the best place we could have stayed-it was right in the center of town, yet also just a tiny village block set away from Main Street which gave it the sense of being peacefully secluded when all the day-trippers flooded in on Sunday afternoon of Memorial Day Weekend. It was also probably the most affordable option right in the center of town.The bed was ridiculously comfortable. Having wireless was also convenient.

Sea Gull is a little different than your typical B&B, which, actually, appealed to us. There's no common living room or lounge and you don't really socialize with the hosts, Jim and Ayala, who, by the way, are very nice and helpful. Instead of having breakfast with the other guests, Jim brings you a lovely home-cooked breakfast of juice, a hot drink, fruit, yogurt, and a baked good, on a tray to your room at a time you choose (8:00, 8:30, 9:00, or 9:30). You can then eat in your room or in Ayala's beautiful back garden.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

My wife and I went to Mendocino for the 1st time to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. We did not really know where to stay, but decided upon the Seagull Inn based on its location and reviews- what a GREAT decision! We stayed in the Abalone room, and although it is a little cramped, it is very cozy and homey. The hosts were very friendly and helpful- they recommended some really great hikes! And breakfast each morning was VERY tasty and filling! We had an excellent stay and I would definetly recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

The Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast is located within walking distance of the ocean and in the heart of beautiful Mendocino. The cozy room was beautiful and comfortable.Each morning, a delicious breakfast was served to us while still in bed! This is the perfect girls weekend in rain or shine!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

If you are looking for a typical B&B experience, the Sea Gull Inn may not be for you. But if you're looking for a quiet and comfortable place to relax after a day of hiking or sightseeing in Mendocino, you're going to like this place. The Inn is more than 150 years old, and features rooms of various sizes. My wife and I spent two nights in the Driftwood room and it was more than adequate for us. Hosts Jim and Ayla were warm and welcoming. The unique aspect of this B&B is that there is not a central dining room for meals. Instead, breakfast is delivered to your door (by Jim) for enjoyment in your room. I admit that this seemed a bit awkward at first, but by the second morning I came to enjoy the near "breakfast in bed" quality to the practice. Sunday morning's hot oatmeal scones were excellent! The Sea Gull Inn is well located, within a 5 minute walk to about every shop or restaurant in town. Access to the Big River beach is also close by. This was my first trip to Mendocino, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay at the Seagull! Perfect little inn with lovely gardens, nice breakfast and warm hospitality. Felt like a mix of English style and California earthiness. Location right in the town made it easy to walk everywhere and owners were very accomodating and helpful. Definitely will stay next time we're through!

Holly from Canada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.