We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and nurturing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
EastBay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“warm and nurturing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our stay at the sea gull was the most recent of many pleasant experiences there. Charming. Great weather. Good breakfast with a little bubbly treat for my birthday. They do a good job. Nice upgrades from when we were there last.

Room Tip: Driftwood had a nice electric stove/fireplace. Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    61
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
149
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rolla
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The good stuff first. Mendocino is a very small town so everything is close, but a big advantage to the Inn's location is that they are at the edge of the town which makes last arrival parking so much easier than other locations in the city's grid. The Inn has a main building with rooms and some smaller cabins located in their delightful gardens. The ambiance overall is older, well worn, cozy, homey. We were very well received by Linda. I have not had a better experience with a host--ever. Just right in regards to the balance of privacy and attention. I could give lots of small details about her ways, but it is enough to say she made our experience there very pleasant.
We stayed in The Barn. It's a little building with a delightful porch for sitting out. But there are some important things to know about these lodgings. There is one private bedroom downstairs--not large, but comfy. The upstairs double is a much more difficult accommodation to use. There is a major drawback in the ceiling height. It is in the opened ceiling so it's not claustrophobic, but there is not enough headroom to stand up from the side of the bed, and even along the highest part of the roof pitch there are cross members that you must duck to walk the passage to the bed or stand in the highest part of the ceiling at the foot of the bed. This means a midnight visit to the bathroom downstairs could put your head at considerable risk, let along the issues you might have with getting children out in an emergency. This makes the heat circulation problem seem much less important, but the cabin is drafty and the heat all rises upstairs--There is no fan or distribution at all, just so you know. I loved the privacy and garden setting, and outdoor sitting options enough to stay in different accommodations again at the Sea Gull Inn.

Room Tip: Call and ask for details about your rooms. They are all different here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, Ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We rented two rooms for three nights, one for my husband and I, and one for our 80 year old relatives. The location of the SeaGull Inn is so convenient "in town". Our relatives walked downtown Mendocino everyday, visited the cliffs, pubs, etc. They loved it. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The one room was a little cozy for an older couple. Newly weds and young lovers would do better. The hosts are very pleasant, the breakfasts very tasty and delivered to each room. There is no general room for people to meet, so we really didn't meet other guests. There is a patio "out back" where people can gather, but Mendocino weather in Sept is a bit chilly. We had a great time. We definitely will go back. We stayed in the main building upstairs. There is no elevator, but our host carried the bags to the second floor.

Room Tip: Check the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The inn is very pleasant, within a block of 2 excellent restaurants, Cafe Beaujolais and the maccallum house, the beach and the shopping in town.
We selected our room because we wanted 2 beds and were pleased that it was bright and sunny. Our only complaint was that the bathroom was really small and the room was fairly small so not much room for bags etc.
Despite that, we would recommend it and stay there again. The continental breakfast in bed was good and the inn keeper linda was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Most rooms have one bed and some are small queens so select carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night on our roadtrip along Route 101.
It was our wedding anniversary, so I had been in contact with the staff to arrange a small surprise for my wife - flowers and a nice sparkling wine. They were very helpful and it was a success.
We enjoyed a stroll around Mendocino and wished we had a bit more time there. Would like to go back to that town some time - can recommend staying here. Breakfast was brought to our room, which is nice. Pretty old house with a beautiful garden. As it is an old house the rooms are not so big, but it is part of the charm.

Room Tip: You can see photos of all rooms online, so you will know which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We loved our stay here. It had all we were looking for in an oceanside B&B...location, charm, hospitality, gardens, and two beds for two friends traveling together. The bonus part was that the Mendocino Music Festival was in progress and we were able to walk easily to 3 different types of musical performances. Felt like New England. Loved the little town and its shops and history. Also top notch restaurants. Our room was the Geranium and it litterly felt like our "own" place since it had the door directly to the outside. Easy come and go. Convient on street parking. Weather was cool (60's) but a treat after leaving Ashland Ore in the 90's. Were sorry to leave even after 3 days.

Room Tip: Remember this is an old building. Each room has its own charm. If you are not big on "charm&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very good location. Nice room (Geranium) with good breakfast. Breakfast not until 8.30am but there is a coffee place 50 yards away open at 6am. You can also walk to the restaurants.
Very friendly owner ......and cat to greet you.
Room was quiet and this was ideal for two nights in Mendocino.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.