We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, lovely accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, lovely accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved the Sea Gull Inn and Mendocino. Lady on reception was a bit stern on arrival. Warned us about the cost implication ($20) of losing room keys, advised that no tv (thanks to a legal wrangle) and helpfully told us to turn our car kerb side or we would get a ticket. Sign in bathroom about keeping the towels 'white and fluffy' which puts you off using them! Room very small but very pretty. Wakened by noisy tumble dryer. Breakfast of fruit and a muffin is served on a tray to the room at 9.30 sharp which would be great in warmer weather as you can sit outside but otherwise if cold and dull weather as we had, you need to eat off the bed as no bedside tables. Would definitely go back and hope for some sun

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaGullManagement22, Owner at Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are very happy that MeikT loved their stay at The Sea Gull, and hope to see them again on their next trip to our area. When guests check in at the front desk, they sign a statement that says they understand there is there is no smoking in the room, check-out is at 11 am, and that there is a charge for lost keys. This is common at Inns, but we do like staff to summarize the content. We do have a small sign cutely framed in each bathroom that asks guests to help us keep our white fluffy towels bath towels White and Fluffy, and lets them know where they can find old towels to use for their suitcases and shoes, etc. It is truly amazing how many of our white fluffy bath towels were used to clean shoes, suitcases, bicycles, motorcycles, etc. before we posted these little signs. Based on this guests other comments, we sincerely apologize for the stern reception and wish them to know that we have taken action to improve the reception certain staff presents to our valued guests. Stern is NOT what we aspire to, but rather a happy warm welcome for our guests, including a complete description of items available for use in the room, such as the folding table. With regard to a noisy tumble dryer waking them, this room does connect to the laundry room, but the dryers don’t start until 11am as housekeeping staff does not arrive until 10. Perhaps there was something going on at the adjacent restaurant we are unaware of. We thank MeikT for their comments and will use them as we continue to improve the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    53
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
129
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our single night at the Sea Gull.
It was nicely done and we liked our location, most especially proximity to the ocean and to all the restaurants. Nice to just walk around and nice to walk to a restaurant.

Breakfast was on the porch with 2 rockers outside our room- that was a nice feature.
The room is somewhat small, but suited our needs just fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent the first week in July here. The hosts are lovely. You best chance ever possibly to meet a judge with a ponytail. The rooms are all individual with lots of quirky adornments. The two we had were relatively large with king sized really comfortable beds. Breakfast was enjoyable but some may want to organise an early morning escape plan if you prefer eggs and bacon. The town is quirky with a number of watering and dining opportunities. We particularly like Pattersons. The food and alcohol were good and by Mendocino,s standards cheap. Watching Joe the solo waiter in action is worth a visit in itself. Mccallams Grey Whale bar was fun and the bar snacks very good quality at a reasonable price.

However if you are addicted to CNN or even CSI remember no TV
If you want endless coffee in your room there is no kettle etc
No phone either.

But a very good spot to pass a few days in this ageing hippy sanctuary they call Mendocino

Room Tip: Take a walk along the logging track along the Big River. Try the beach to the west of the village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had a beautiful four night stay in May at the lovely, historic Sea Gull Inn, in the gorgeous Lookout #1 room. It is the most serene, peaceful, wonderful place and Jim and Ayla the kindest and loveliest hosts you could imagine! The home-cooked organic breakfasts were SO good - Jim and Ayla very kindly accommodated my gluten free diet by making me an array of delicious gf options - and the coffee was amazing! I loved having my breakfast in the mornings sitting outside on my porch, enjoying Ayla's beautiful garden, the sound of the birds, the ocean breeze and the big blue sky. Mendocino is simply one of the loveliest places in the world. I left the Sea Gull Inn sad to say goodbye to Jim and Ayla's wonderful hospitality, but completely refreshed and renewed in body and spirit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The room is nice and comfortable, clean. The breakfast / baked goods were very good and the presentation was lovely. The location is great and convenient - safe and quiet. The Café next door is convenient as well as great food and friendly service. There is no TV, radio, clock, or phone, and that makes it all the more relaxing.

Room Tip: The upstairs area has multiple queen bed rooms. If travelling with a group, a nice way to stay clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent the night at Sea Gull and it was fantastic.Quite and relaxing.Cute room and I thought where is the TV.Well I entertained my wife by reading all the entries in the journal that persons wrote about their stay at Sea Gull and added our own and did not miss the TV.Breakfast in the morning was great.Coffee,muffins,fruit and yogurt.Thank you.

Bill and Linda Pisenti

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just stayed at the Seagull Inn B&B last week and must say that I would definitely rate this a 2 out of 5 stars. We have stayed at 8 places in the past two weeks and this ranks the lowest of all the places we stayed but it was the highest priced. The room was very, very small with a double bed, a chair at a little dresser in a corner and a bathroom where you would have to use the floor, the sink or the top of the back of the stool to hold toiletries. Breakfast did come with the room (but so did all the other places) and the cup of tea, the ramekin filled w/fresh fruit and the muffin was served in the room. I used the chair to eat and my husband had to sit on the bed. We could have gone outside but it was quite chilly. I could never stay here again and will remember this experience for a long time.

Room Tip: Please read people's reviews and decide from several reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaGullManagement22, Owner at Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We regret that Redhead1913 was unhappy with her accomodations. Though the room is our smallest, it is represented accurately in all of our photos and when we describe the room. We find most guests enjoy the coziness of the room as my wife and I did for our wedding anniversaries for 17 years prior to purchasing the Sea Gull Inn. Most guests thoroughly enjoy our organic breakfasts brought to their room and take advantage of the opportunity to have breakfast in bed. Others may utilize the folding table provided in the room and bring in additional seating available just outside the door. Though Mendocino rates may be higher than some other areas, the room the guest chose is not only our lowest standard room rate, it may be the lowest standard room rate in Mendocino. If this guest were to consider a return, we would love the opportunity to offer one of our larger rooms that may better accomodate their needs and desires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.