We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Mendocino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend in Mendocino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a great stay at the Sea Gull Inn. Jim and Ayla are extremely helpful and friendly. We were in The Shed and I was very impressed. It was larger than expected and very well decorated. The towels, linens and overall condition of the room was very nice. Breakfast was very good, delivered to your room. It was extremely quite at night and we slept very well. I would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    61
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
149
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having made our arrangements 3 months in advance, we found that we could not find availability for our 5 day stay at just one B&B. For our first 3 nights we chose The Shed, at Sea Gull Inn. It is a tiny independent cottage, to the left of the main house. It was true to the website photos, and assembled with heart, and the guests' comfort in mind. We enjoyed meeting the owners, and they made suggestions about the area. We obtained from the office some dvd's of movies filmed in the area, to watch on our flat screen tv at night. Breakfast each morning was delivered to our room on a tray, and consisted of mixed fresh fruit, yogurt, orange juice, warm muffins, and our choices of tea and coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this B & B for two nights, it was a wonderful experience. Jim greeted us upon check in and was most helpful, especially with places to eat around town. The room we had was very well decorated, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was fantastic, it was very evident time, care and effort had gone into the preparation. It was also very nicely presented.
We would certainly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I wasn't as charmed with the Sea Gull Inn as other reviewers. It is in a good location and the breakfast was good, but the queen bed in the Geranium Room was horrible (at least if you're used to sleeping on a decent mattress). Also, as we were on a road trip we had more than just a weekend bag for luggage, and it was inconvenient to get wheeled luggage to the room (the dirt path did not work well).

The flowers around the inn were lovely, and a cut arrangement was in the room.

All in all, this room made me appreciate the hotel chains with good mattresses, pillows, and linens.

I should probably mention that I like modern much more than Victorian and that the weather was very cool when we were in Mendocino; nevertheless, I stand by an average rating and think that is kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaGullManagement22, Owner at Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
While we are delighted that this guest found our location and breakfast to be good, we are disappointed and surprised to hear the bed was not to their liking. Since May 1, we have entertained guests in this room 3 out of 4 nights and of those guests, only two have commented specifically on the queen bed. One found it too hard, one found it too soft. Whether this guest was one of those or not we do not know, but so many others have commented on how well they slept and that the beds were ‘great’. With regard to the sandy driveway, while guests are certainly welcome to access their room via this alternate route, we encourage luggage to be brought through the (longer) main route with a brick pathway to avoid such difficulties. We regret this guest was not as charmed as others, but should they advise us as to their specific concerns, we would be happy to do our best to address them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gypsyrider14
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was such a charming B&B! We stayed in the Geranium Room, and were completely enchanted. The room was so charming and well-decorated - and so large! The gardens outside the door were just as charming. It was so nice to be in a room without a TV; before bed there was just reading and peace and quiet. This is the quietest place I have ever, ever slept. The bed and the pillows are very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and satisfying. I really enjoyed staying at the Sea Gull Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had a truly enchanting experience at this unique B&B. It is conveniently located downtown and is close to the local shops, galleries and restaurants. The hotel is surrounded by the beautiful and peaceful garden that attracts different singing birds. Stayed at the "Barn" suite that was very clean, cozy, spacious and private. The owners, Jim and Ayla, were very helpful and welcoming. In the morning they served delicious and healthy breakfast that you'll remember. Wish could of stayed longer than two days to enjoy it a little bit more. A special place with very special people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Wow! What a wonderful and relaxing two and a half days. Everything was great and the weather was perfect. We have finally found a periodic getaway. Thank you for everything, Jim and Ayla

Barbara and Larry Clark
Modesto, CA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.