We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mendocino Via Petaluma/Bodega Bay from SFO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicholson House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nicholson House Inn to your Saves list
Nicholson House Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   951 Ukiah St., Mendocino, CA 94560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mendocino Via Petaluma/Bodega Bay from SFO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

After the long pretty drive up from SFO on a beautiful day, Brent(?) was very helpful with location info on groceries, restaurants, and all that is Mendocino. The room was comfortable and affordable. Two days in the area followed by the drive down to St. Helena via 128/29 was a very nice escape. I wish I could articulate on the breakfasts but I was out about (Ft. Bragg and state parks) before and during meal time. I did my homework on prices and found The Nicholson House to be one of the less expensive B&B's in the area. I did have a partial ocean view from my room...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I take a trip with my boyfriend every year to Mendocino. We have stayed at four different places and Nicholson House Inn was by far the best place. We had one the suites where you get a kitchen and living space which was located on the first floor. The Inn was centrally located to everything and the breakfast spread is by the far best I have seen in my life time. Plus the suite was pretty affordable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The owner of Nicholson is such a nice man, but I think it's worth mentioning that the breakfast is continental-style and it starts later in the morning. It was a big spread and the scones were very, very good but I'm used to warm breakfasts at B&Bs (in fact to me a warm breakfast is the biggest selling point), so I was disappointed on that front. In addition, our room shared a door with another room and there was no soundproofing. We had light of it, but man it could make for an awkward situation if you're there with family!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed for a weekend at the Nicholson House. We booked Grandma's room. The room is cute, clean, and small with a private bathroom. However the bed is very tall and we had to use the stepper to get in and out of it.
Breakfast is good, and it is served by the owner between 8:30AM and 9:30AM in the living room which is a small area. The location is in town, and we walked everywhere. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We recently had a very nice experience at the Nicholson House B&B in Mendocino. Brent, our host, was a helpful as can be regarding restaurant and activity recommendations. He also did a good job on the breakfast, which is held in the first floor common area of the main building. This is not an upscale, "fancy," retreat, but very comfortable and ample and at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed one night the room was fairly small but comfortable and clean not having a tv is unsual nowadys but we really didnt miss it.
The breakfast area was very small but the food on offer was very good and the service was good and friendly. All in all a great stay at very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We were only here one night, arriving around 7pm and leaving at 7am the next day, and we didn't really get to see much that the town had to offer, but we couldn't have afforded many other lodging options there (I think there are tons!). So that being said, we were perfectly happy with our stay at Nicholson. I didn't feel that the guy who checked us in was all that warm, but he was probably about to give up on us showing up so it's fine. We had the Russian Rose Room. It is quite "cozy" and if we'd stayed more than 1 night, might have been a little frustrated for space, but we don't spend much time in our room regardless. The bathroom was nice and large. The bed was comfortable enough, not super comfortable. We found out the next morning that you could see the ocean a bit behind the B&B, pretty awesome, and I believe it was just up and around the corner to drive or walk to an unobstructed view. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We really wanted the Overlook I room and just missed out on it. Would try for that one next time. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nicholson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson House Inn

Address: 951 Ukiah St., Mendocino, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicholson House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson House Inn is the new name for the former Abigail's B&B and is under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Nicholson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicholson House Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicholson House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.