We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mendocino Cafe

Mendocino Cafe
10451 Lansing St, Mendocino, CA 95460
707-937-6141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Santa Rosa, Ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have been coming here for years and always have a great meal and drinks here. Everyone is friendly and it is just charming.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    186
    68
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner here. We had the clam chowder and seafood stew and they were both delicious. There were many interesting menu choices that we plan to try next time. The Thai wrap sounded very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a great stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stopped for a mid-day lunch, and what a great find. Clam chowder as an appetizer, the best since we left new England. I had a chicken sandwich, deliciously prepared.
Everything was fresh. We split a bread pudding for desert. My wife doesn't even like bread pudding, but liked this. Exceptional.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Charmed and satisfied at Mendocino Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a mid afternoon lunch and had our choice of tables, only one other couple occupied a table on the patio. It was a beautiful Jan. day we chose to sit on the patio with a view of the waves crashing on the rocks in the distance. The patio was lovely, the menu varied and the waiter was friendly, we were hungry. Each of us had a cup of the clam chowder which my husband says, "it was the best I've ever had." It literally disappeared before our eyes it was so good. Burgers to me MUST cover the bun to be any good and this burger was flavorful, local mushrooms were piled high and the gorgonzola on top was perfectly melted. What more could I want? Nothing. My husband devoured his dish of prawns and beans and we both walked away happy and too full to consider desserts. Very accommodating wait staff and lovely atmosphere. We'll go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So Fresh and So Fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We enjoyed dinner here. Fresh ingredients and very fast service. Nice selections on the menu, we had the prawns and vegetables and hot pot. Lovely little garden for outdoor dining. Too full for desert but the choices were tempting. Delightfully unpretentious..

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendocino Cafe also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Mendocino Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendocino Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.