We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back place with good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mendocino Cafe

Mendocino Cafe
10451 Lansing St, Mendocino, CA 95460
707-937-6141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Laid back place with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We liked the Mendocino Cafe. Surrounded by gardens and located right in downtown Mendocino, it is recommended by the locals as the best in town. The food and service is good. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    186
    68
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Langley, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We weren't too sure where to eat on our stay in Mendocino and happened upon this restaurant around the corner from our B&B. Although it was not recommended to us, we liked what we saw on the menu and gave it a try. We started with the dim sum appy and a cup of the clam chowder which both were good but the clam chowder in particular was the best we had eaten on our trip. I ordered the roast chicken and my wife the roast pork chop as our mains and they too were very good. Our server was very relaxed, attentive and friendly and the overall service was very good. We would definitely eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“"Best in Town"? Maybe.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were sent to this cafe for a late lunch by the kind ladies at the information center in town. They said it was the "best in town". Well, maybe. The sandwiches were inventive and tasty but the service was less than stellar. The room is nice - in a converted house, it appeared - but the tables were packed in pretty tight so I give it a qualified recommendation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I dined at the Mendocino Cafe one evening in early October 2012. She enjoyed a sesame encrusted ahi tuna and I had an a la carte soup/salad combination. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and were highly impressed by the very efficient service. Without question, we would return for another meal anytime the opportunity arose.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

There's atouch of class about this place.Both the food and the service exude class.It's a very relaxing and fulfilling place to visit.It lost one star because of the rest rooms.Only one which has to serve male and female customers.A row of chairs outside the restroom does not compensate for the fact that the facilities are inadequate.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendocino Cafe also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Mendocino Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendocino Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.