We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MacCallum House Restaurant

MacCallum House Restaurant
45020 Albion Street, MacCallum House Inn, Mendocino, CA 95460
800-609-0492
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MacCallum House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lansing St.
Transit: Mendocino Transit Authority.
Santa Ana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary in Mendocino. The proprietor of the Brewery Gulch Inn recommended the restaurant. The atmosphere was wonderful. The Manhattan cocktail I had was the best I had ever tasted. My wife ordered the wild mushroom gnocchi only to be told they were out. The server suggested that she let the chef create a pasta for her. She was not disappointed. The mushroom fettuccine they created was fantastic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    66
    25
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We ate breakfast and dinner here on our recent trip to Mendocino. Our dinner consisted of a crab cake appetizer, salad, wild mushroom gnocchi, and a banana split for dessert. Their breakfast menu also has many tempting options. We ordered eggs benedict and thoroughly enjoyed. The food here is excellent and being able to eat in a house that was built in the 1800's is part of the charm.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Menu is Now Too Limited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I have gone to romantic Mendocino nearly Christmas Eve and Christmas night for 25 years. One major reason for going is that we so look forward to dinners both nights at the Mac House. Our traditional feasts are: one night the venison with wild boar sausage, and the next night duck breast in native huckleberry sauce. (I drool as I write this!) This past Christmas Not ONE of those items were on the menu! Instead, a prime rib was a special on Christmas Eve, but it certainly wasn't special -- we can get better here in San Francisco. And it even looked sloppy with potatoes spilling off the plate and the horseradish sauce poured over everything. Sigh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“ONCE IN A LIFETIME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Do NOT miss the opportunity to visit, enjoy, relax and unwind in this unbelievably relaxing setting and extremely welcoming community...DM

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Good service and a good menu. Eat there during the day as the view is great! A nice walk to get there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacCallum House Restaurant also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to MacCallum House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacCallum House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.