We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good life!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goodlife Cafe and Bakery

Goodlife Cafe and Bakery
10483 Lansing St, Mendocino, CA 95460
+1 707-937-0836
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Mexican, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Established in 2012, the GoodLife Cafe & Bakery offers delicious, organic, whole food, fine French pastry and baked goods, as well as Mendocino's best coffee drinks! Everything we offer is made in house, from scratch. We strive to use local produce, products and organic ingredients whenever possible. We offer an extensive menu of Gluten Free items including Mac & Cheese, Enchiladas, Deli Salads, Soups and Baked Goods! Our deck is sunny and dog friendly and our dining room is cozy and cheery. Stop by for a taste of the GoodLife! Open daily, 8am - 4-ish.
California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A good life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The spinach lasagna and breakfast empanada were fresh, flavorful and substantial. We topped the lunch off with heavenly homemade cheesecake with blueberry sauce. We had window seats looking out at an old picturesque bank across the street. Have a relaxing and leisurely lunch. You serve yourself at the counter and bus your dishes.

When in Mendocino parked and walk down this small cozy tourist town. And reward yourself here for lunch and dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Yikes, what excellent baked goods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our first day in Mendocino, we tried Moody's . No need to go back there - mediocre lattes, meh muffins. Interesting clientele.

Then we discovered Goodlife and it became our go-to food source for days 2 through 5. There's a reason this place usually has a good-sized line, and it's worth the wait. The muffins, bagels, bialys and other breakfast-y rolls at Goodlife are fresh-baked using the best ingredients, and they are mighty fine. Their cupcakes are a dream come true. And when you order a lunch thing, say a Caesar salad, it might take a few minutes because they're actually making it for you, not scooping it out of a tub of pre-made stuff. (That includes making fresh, excellent croutons that are added in generous quantity!) The bakery/food prep area in the back is a hive of activity. The staff up front is unfailingly patient with touristy customers who, stunned by the baked good magnificence facing them, just can't decide. And the lattes were good!

Bonus - there's a nice deck eating area outside that's dog-friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Where life's such a groove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

It was an organic, gluten-free sort of place and I wasn't too optimistic until the cute-nose-ringed cashier explained to the gray lady in front of me that "EVERYthing has cream in it" (mental fist pump YES!). I had the pesto quiche and it was fabulous. The folks here -- staff and customers -- are healthy, leggy, free-range folks. It was a weekday mid-morning, so the customers all had more important things to worry about than a job. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“new stop to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

pizza was O.K. After garden bakery doesn't serve cakes and pies, this is alternative to get pastries and pies. This is more like lunch place not dedicated to bakery items only.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Foods and "Arty/Bohemian" Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a great cafe!! From coffees to baked goods and delicious foods - this place has it all in a comfortable, "coffee house" type setting also with outdoor, patio setting. I enjoyed a well-prepared dry cappuccino (good strong espresso!) and a home made muffin. Another diner was enjoying enchiladas, raving about the salsa - but I had upcoming dinner plans.

Staff was friendly, expert in preparing special-order espresso drinks and the setting is welcoming for reading, catching up on computer texts, people-watching or just relaxing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodlife Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Goodlife Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodlife Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.