We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give it six stars if I could” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brewery Gulch Inn to your Saves list
Brewery Gulch Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9401 North Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I'd give it six stars if I could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

During our stay at the Brewery Gulch Inn, we visited with Executive Chef Peg Davis. She said that BGI strives for an overall feel that is "relaxed and refined." She nails it. This is not a traditional bed and breakfast, and it's not a hotel. It is what we found to be a unique place that offers comfort, excellent food, and serenity. We stayed in the Heron Room, which was perfect for two people. We had a great view of Smuggler's Cove below and the Pacific in the distance. The Inn provides two meals for the price of the room. The breakfast menu is varied, ranging from a yogurt parfait with fresh fruit and granola to a full breakfast that includes eggs, the Inn's special "millionaire's bacon," potatoes and toast. Specials included waffles with fresh fruit and a caramel glaze and pancakes. The coffee, BGI's special blend of the local Thanksgiving Coffee, is terrific. The "light buffet" is served between 5:30 and 6:30. It generally included one, maybe two, entrees and four or five side dishes, along with bread, dessert and wine or a non-alcoholic drink. One evening we had that hearty beef and potatoes dish with the fancy French name; the beef was amazingly tender. I called it a "lumberjack" meal. Meals are held in what I would call a "great room" on the first floor of the building. It looks out over the cove. You can step outside on the patio and drink your wine or coffee or BlueSky cola and just live in the moment. Manager Steven Smith and his staff are among the friendliest, most good-natured people we've ever met. If you need reservations for just about anything -- a fishing trip, dinner, horseback riding -- they can take care of it in a flash. I had modest concerns about the fact that the Inn is not located in Mendocino proper, but it's not an issue. the town is a five-minute drive from the hotel and the route is scenic. In addition, the town fathers and mothers have the most generous and sensible parking regulations I've ever encountered. You can park just about anywhere. We were there the weekend the Mendocino Music Festival opened. That evening, we had dinner reservations for 8 p.m. at the Cafe Beaujolais. I was able to park within one minute's walk of the restaurant. I highly recommend the Brewery Gulch Inn. We were there to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. We're not waiting for our 50th to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    64
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
62
668
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Picked the inn based on the reviews and was not disappointed! Looked for a place where I could treat my sister to a little R & R in the midst of a 11,000 mile road trip for her nonprofit...this was the perfect choice! Massage in the room, wonderful dinner and fabulous breakfast! All near stunning beaches and the charming town of Mendocino! Staff was wonderful, kind and very welcoming! Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This boutique inn offers friendly, superior service, comfortable amenities, and very good food. In some respects it is like a B&B, but one that is elevated to be more like a boutique inn - and not a doily in sight. At breakfast and wine hour, or anytime in between, there is plenty of room for guests to hang out privately, or casually meet other like travellers for friendly conversation. Rooms are comfortable (other reviews have occasionally noted that they are not 100% soundproofed, which is true, but unless you are unlucky and have extraordinarily loud neighbors it is certainly not a big problem). The "snack" in late afternoon, while hardly a full dinner, was very delicious and for us was most adequate after a morning of outdoor activity and late lunch in town, especially after a glutinous week in Napa prior to visiting the inn,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

stayed only one night with my husband. amazing ocean view room. we were greeted warmly with a chilled bottle of champagne for my husband's birthday. owner and staff were amazing. welcoming and helpful. cocktail hour with appetizers was a meal! breakfast was order off a menu. the food, wine and beer all outstanding. wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Brewery Gulch Inn. The staff were lovely, each person more helpful and an sweeter than the next. The atmosphere was calm and soothing. The view from the outdoor patio was breathtaking. And the food was phenomenal. Their breakfasts were delicious and the portions were huge. My husband loved the millionaire's bacon! The wine hour was more like an early dinner, with wonderful wines to choose from and the food was incredible. So much food dinner was not necessary or even possible! Our room was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large. We had an in-room massage that was one of the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a fabulous stay at the Brewery Gulch Inn--the staff is friendly and professional, the ambiance is so relaxing, the breakfast is delicious, the chef comes out to talk to you, and the rooms are charming and large. Dinner is also included though we spent most evenings trying different restaurants in Mendocino. I would recommend this Inn for people who want a quiet, relaxing trip to Mendocino.

Room Tip: All the rooms face toward the ocean (across the highway) so any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Be prepared to be pampered when you stay at the Brewery Gulch Inn. It may look small but don't let the size fool you. My husband and I stayed in the Pelican Room and it was very spacious with an amazing view of the ocean right off the balcony. It had a wonderful fireplace with chairs to cozy up to it. When we told them we would be a late arrival, they said they would leave us dinner in our room. Not only was our dinner there waiting but a small bottle of wine as well! Nice touch for sure. We did not have to ask housekeeping for anything. They had extra towels in the bathroom under the sink, cotton balls, q-tips, blow dryer and a close up mirror for those of you who like them. In the closet there were extra pillows, extra blankets, 2 robes and a dresser so you don't have to live out of your suitcase. I'm allergic to down and they changed out everything that was down filled right away. The made to order breakfast was fabulous. We had the classic breakfast and the bacon alone make it worthwhile. It is baked in a brown sugar sauce with pepper flakes and is just divine! There are snacks left out for those foodie grazers and the dinner buffet is light and healthy and oh so yummy. The breakfast, dinner and drinks are included with the price of the room which I thought was awesome. There is a dining area that mingles with a sitting area next to a huge two way view fireplace. The big deck just outside the dining area is lovely with lots of seating so everyone can get to know each other over drinks and a great view. Other reviewers say the Brewery Gulch Inn is more like a B&B but I say it's more like a high end rustic retreat and worth every penney. We were so relaxed it was hard to go home :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Address: 9401 North Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1, our contemporary Arts & Crafts-style inn commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated in 2008/2009, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, and iPod docks. Included with each guest's stay are cooked-to-order breakfasts and a sumptuous buffet dinner featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewery Gulch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.