We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price if you are looking for the finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Save Saved
You added Brewery Gulch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brewery Gulch Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9401 North Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Botanical Gardens Tix
Ranked #1 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the price if you are looking for the finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This boutique inn offers friendly, superior service, comfortable amenities, and very good food. In some respects it is like a B&B, but one that is elevated to be more like a boutique inn - and not a doily in sight. At breakfast and wine hour, or anytime in between, there is plenty of room for guests to hang out privately, or casually meet other like travellers for friendly conversation. Rooms are comfortable (other reviews have occasionally noted that they are not 100% soundproofed, which is true, but unless you are unlucky and have extraordinarily loud neighbors it is certainly not a big problem). The "snack" in late afternoon, while hardly a full dinner, was very delicious and for us was most adequate after a morning of outdoor activity and late lunch in town, especially after a glutinous week in Napa prior to visiting the inn,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    58
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
53
603
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

stayed only one night with my husband. amazing ocean view room. we were greeted warmly with a chilled bottle of champagne for my husband's birthday. owner and staff were amazing. welcoming and helpful. cocktail hour with appetizers was a meal! breakfast was order off a menu. the food, wine and beer all outstanding. wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Brewery Gulch Inn. The staff were lovely, each person more helpful and an sweeter than the next. The atmosphere was calm and soothing. The view from the outdoor patio was breathtaking. And the food was phenomenal. Their breakfasts were delicious and the portions were huge. My husband loved the millionaire's bacon! The wine hour was more like an early dinner, with wonderful wines to choose from and the food was incredible. So much food dinner was not necessary or even possible! Our room was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large. We had an in-room massage that was one of the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a fabulous stay at the Brewery Gulch Inn--the staff is friendly and professional, the ambiance is so relaxing, the breakfast is delicious, the chef comes out to talk to you, and the rooms are charming and large. Dinner is also included though we spent most evenings trying different restaurants in Mendocino. I would recommend this Inn for people who want a quiet, relaxing trip to Mendocino.

Room Tip: All the rooms face toward the ocean (across the highway) so any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Be prepared to be pampered when you stay at the Brewery Gulch Inn. It may look small but don't let the size fool you. My husband and I stayed in the Pelican Room and it was very spacious with an amazing view of the ocean right off the balcony. It had a wonderful fireplace with chairs to cozy up to it. When we told them we would be a late arrival, they said they would leave us dinner in our room. Not only was our dinner there waiting but a small bottle of wine as well! Nice touch for sure. We did not have to ask housekeeping for anything. They had extra towels in the bathroom under the sink, cotton balls, q-tips, blow dryer and a close up mirror for those of you who like them. In the closet there were extra pillows, extra blankets, 2 robes and a dresser so you don't have to live out of your suitcase. I'm allergic to down and they changed out everything that was down filled right away. The made to order breakfast was fabulous. We had the classic breakfast and the bacon alone make it worthwhile. It is baked in a brown sugar sauce with pepper flakes and is just divine! There are snacks left out for those foodie grazers and the dinner buffet is light and healthy and oh so yummy. The breakfast, dinner and drinks are included with the price of the room which I thought was awesome. There is a dining area that mingles with a sitting area next to a huge two way view fireplace. The big deck just outside the dining area is lovely with lots of seating so everyone can get to know each other over drinks and a great view. Other reviewers say the Brewery Gulch Inn is more like a B&B but I say it's more like a high end rustic retreat and worth every penney. We were so relaxed it was hard to go home :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

For the hype and price... It's not ritz/4 seasons level. It's a b&b on steroids. Probably great as a groupon or jet setter deal, just not retail. The bath products and alpaca throws were nice. Sheets were "well loved". Staff was gracious, kind, and very pleasant!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed just one night passing through Mendicino and it was incredibly relaxing. The food was great, staff was there to please. Looking forward to coming back for a longer stay next time. Having everything be included (dinner, breakfast, etc) made the whole stay that much more relaxing....and it seemed like a great deal to us!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pelican room, had a nice little deck with french doors, got a great ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Address: 9401 North Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1, our contemporary Arts & Crafts-style inn commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated in 2008/2009, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, and iPod docks. Included with each guest's stay are cooked-to-order breakfasts and a sumptuous buffet dinner featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewery Gulch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;