We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brewery Gulch Inn to your Saves list
Brewery Gulch Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9401 North Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Conde Nast Traveler 2014
Ranked #1 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Placerville, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Second time back and I am still amazed at how wonderful BGI is. Where else do you sleep in Sferra linens - no micro fiber here! And the "light fare" wine hour is to die for. We had chicken breasts on kale that were to die for. I will be trying for days to recreate that dish! Great soak in the big tub with the window open to let in the sound of the ocean. The staff and proprietor are wonderful. Kudoos to the morning waitress, She was enthusiastic about the menu and anticipated every request. Stayed in the Osprey room which allowed us to view full moon setting on Brewery Gulch. We will return - as soon as we can!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    61
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
625
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Brewery Gulch Inn during a quick getaway, and it totally exceeded our expectations in every way. It was a great alternative to the more traditional bed & breakfasts that dominate the Mendocino area. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and very private; the bathtub was one of the best I have ever used! The "great room" area was the biggest surprise- a huge open room with a central fire place and panoramic windows overlooking the ocean. I could have spent the entire day there and been perfectly happy with the trip. We actually ended up canceling our dinner plans because the light wine & buffet hour was so tasty and we were having so much fun hanging out & playing board games. I really can't say enough good things about our experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

spent three days there and the place is truly magic. The property is beautiful with the forest and green fields in the back and views of the ocean in the front. Service and breakfast was excellent and so was the room. Location is about a mile from Mendocino town.

Room Tip: Osprey was a perfect size with views of the ocean, an over sized bath tub also with a view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I have just completed another stay at the Brewery Gulch Inn. It is by far, our favorite Inn in the whole world. Gorgeous setting, wonderful owners, excellent food, tranquil ambience, a perfect place to relax and unwind. Less than 5 minutes to Mendocino, for daytime explorations. The food is magnificent, always good!! Champagne in our room in remembrance of our anniversary....I could on and on....Guy, the owner is a wonderful host....I am a flight attendant and have stayed in many places in many countries. This is our favorite!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

A beautiful redwood inn with history. The food was magnificent and the rooms elegant. The staff is warm and friendly and eager to please. Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We just spent three nights at the Brewery Gulch Inn. It was PERFECT from beginning to end. We stayed in the Raven room, which was pricey but definitely worth the splurge. The food was magnificent. We loved the breakfasts -- especially the huevos rancheros -- and the happy hour food was amazing. We ended up canceling our dinner reservations and making a dinner of the inn's offerings. I can't recommend this inn enough. It is tops.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Booked at the last minute after reading thousands of reviews on trip advisor. This place really lives up to its name. When I arrived I was greated by deer grazing in the field. The place is gorgeous - modern contempory mission style. Coffee, teas, girahdelli hot chocolate and snacks are waiting when you arrive. All the toiletries are top notch Molton Brown. The rooms have fire places, the beds are welcoming with thick duvets, quality linens and comfy pillows. All rooms come with the white robe! My room the redwood (handicap accessible) had a patio porch with chairs birds and the sounds and views of the ocean right there. It is all wi fi and an iphone/itouch docking station in the clock in the room. There is a happy hour with farm to table all within a 100 mile radius small buffet. Books movies and table games a plenty! The breakfast in the morning is made to order from a menu with as many choices as any restaurant.
The staff is really great and way helpful. It shows that they really enjoy doing what they do.

Room Tip: Be prepared to enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Address: 9401 North Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1, our contemporary Arts & Crafts-style inn commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated in 2008/2009, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, and iPod docks. Included with each guest's stay are cooked-to-order breakfasts and a sumptuous buffet dinner featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewery Gulch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.