We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Bakery

Garden Bakery
10450 Lansing, Mendocino, CA 95460
707-937-3140
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Oakland, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tamales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Their tamales were our "little bite to eat" before our big Christmas dinner. Home made, hand made, chicken and vegetarian. There was also an excellent frittata and many, many beautiful pastries. Not to mention the terrific outside garden seating.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helena, MT
Top Contributor
508 reviews 508 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 375 cities Reviews in 375 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were wandering around the village just looking. And behind other things, totally hidden and out f the way was this little gem. I worked at a retirement job at an artisanal bakery at home and love to try them out. We got some sweets and a couple of loaves of bread to munch on at our B&B. Nice little find. What a great town, three artisanal bakeries!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great Danish and cookies. The hot chocolate is delicious and made the traditional way...by hand on the stove!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good sweet stuff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were on our way to the grocery store for some bread when we passed this tiny bakery. The sourdough baguette was still warm from the oven. It was a bit bland for sourdough, but so fresh and good. We also were tempted by the brownies and the apple empanadas. Got one of each, and they were outstanding. Cute little place with a very friendly cashier.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hard to find bakery off of Lansing Street has gotten great write-ups in travel guides but does not live up to the hype. The choices are limited, and while apricot or raspberry topped cookies had a nice short crumb, the Danish was just ordinary. It seems this bakery may have lost its pastry chef because there was little to choose from.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Bakery also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Garden Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.