We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restaurant-inn in the centre of Mendocino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Blue Heron Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn
Save
You added Blue Heron Inn to your Saves list
390 Kasten Street, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
1 review
“Charming restaurant-inn in the centre of Mendocino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

We had the B&B for ourselves as the restaurant closes at 10pm and the 2 other rooms were empty. 2 rooms including ours share a huge bathroom and the other one has en-suite. Lovely view from our room on the small flower garden below with the sea in the background . Room was a good size with nice furniture. Good breakfast in the restaurant. Misha the owner was lovely and recommended a good winery to stop by. We stayed one night and without booking, just showed up at 5pm.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dodgeville, Mi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We arrived in San Francisco on our train 5 hours late and had to make the drive to Mendocino in the dark. The drive was difficult and we were tired, but the arrangements that the Inn made for us to check in late were so helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and simple and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Though we had a shared bathroom we never had to wait for it. We also had a really nice view of the ocean from the Sunset Room.

Our breakfast in the morning included very good oatmeal and cranberry scones. Delicious sliced fresh fruit and the most amazing freshly baked fig scones. We were so happy with our stay and only disappointed that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were driving down the coast and needed some dinner, so we called the restaurant, Moosse Cafe, which was about to close but stayed open because we had called ahead. We had a very good dinner there, although it could have used a vegetarian selection on the dinner entree menu. While having dinner, the lady waiting on us left (I've forgotten her name) and the owner, Misha, finished our dinner service and talked to us. She was very friendly and then upon our request rented us a room in the Blue Heron Inn.

We had a great view of the absolutely beautiful garden, a bed, a table with water glasses and towels for the shared bathroom. It was all very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, modern, and spacious. I didn't see any toiletries to use except face and hand soap, but I had brought my own so I didn't look into it any further.

Breakfast was served at 9, and it was a lovely plate of fresh fruit, really delicious coffee, and some breakfast biscuits. We spent some time in the garden, enjoying the colorful flowers. We had a great time at the Blue Heron Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Simple but friendly continental style welcome and service. Of the two rooms available when we called by one had a great ocean view but no en-suite and the other an en-suite but no view so we opted for the Ocean view room and happily shared a bathroom with just one other room. Nice simple continental breakfast and a good restaurant for evening meals. Very good value in terms of price compared to other hotels in Mendocinio. A clean hotel and modern decor compared to alternatives there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

The Blue Heron Inn is located over the Moosse Cafe, an excellent restaurant. The owners should either change many things or get out of the room rental business and stick to what they do very well, running a fine restaurant.
Cons: No closet - No chair - No phone - No clock
No radio - No TV - No wastebasket in bath
No hairdryer - No shampoo, cream, etc - No curtains
No luggage rack (and no room to put suitcases on floor)
Pro: Clean
We arrived and were told we could not check-in until 4pm though there was no one else there. When we arrived at 4pm the door was locked so we went around through the kitchen door and found one of the cooks who let us come in. The rooms (there are 3) are spartan and very small. The water view was had by leaning out the front window. We were ask if we intended to stay for breakfast and when we said yes, they were less than happy. Since we were the only people staying there and we were having dinner with them, it would have been nice if they had said - "How about we comp dessert tonight and skip breakfast tomorrow". We would have been happy to do that and could have been on our way earlier. We ask if we might get coffee since we were early riser and were told they certainly wouldn't be up at 6:30 or 7am and we could probably get it a couple of blocks away at a cafe. When we went down to dinner there were curtains and curtain rods lying on the stairs which it was difficult to get around. The owner was watching - and after dinner when we went up to our room - they were still laying on the stairs. The next morning we walked to local cafe and had nice cup of coffee. We packed and waited for breakfast. At 9am, with no breakfast and no one around, we packed our car and I left a note suggesting that maybe they needed to rethink being in the room rental business. I thought we might have a reply from Carolyn Moore, the owner, but I do intend to send her a copy of this review.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

This place is a bit unusual.... It's really just a restaurant with three rooms upstairs (two of which share a bathroom!). But it's ideally located, comfortably furnished, and the people are nice as can be. If you stay there, try the restaurant for dinner. They will spoil you silly, and the food is divine. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — The location! Bedding was great as well.
  • Disliked — Smallish room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

We have stayed at the Blue Heron inn twice and have had great experiences both times. We stayed in the room with a private bathroom the first night and we and another couple we brought there stayed in the rooms with the shared bathroom. The rooms are clean and comfortable with views of the water. The location is great, you can walk all around the the town of mendocino and to the water.
Our favorite part is the Moose cafe. We have eaten lunch and dinner there (breakfast is included in the price of the stay) and the food is always FANTASTIC. Sitting out on the patio in the sun at lunchtime is also great, you can see the water from the deck.
I think for the price you pay, you can't beat the Blue Heron Inn while in Mendocino. It's a perfect getaway.

  • Liked — Location, Food, Value
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 390 Kasten Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.