We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mendocino Seaside Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mendocino Seaside Cottage
Save
You added Mendocino Seaside Cottage to your Saves list
10940 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't have had a more accommodating innkeeper than Mel who really kept us informed and made certain that our stay would be top-notch. Perfect room with jacuzzi, view, sounds of the surf, fireplace, could not have been better.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Mendocino Seaside Cottage for just one night, on October 5th. You cannot beat the setting of this cottage, it's uniquely positioned overlooking the Headlands, and a wonderful vista of the ocean and coast. We stayed in the Vista View room on the first floor, a spacious, well-appointed room with a lovely deck and chairs to enjoy the view and especially the sunset. The grounds are charmingly kept, with quaint brick walkways and stone statues, and although there are others staying on the property, the impression is that you've got the place to yourself. The furnishings aren't the most up-to-date, but everything is extremely clean and comfortable. The innkeeper, Mel, is not on site but is available at any time, so when we needed a fan for our room, one was delivered immediately. Mel is also a wealth of information about the most enjoyable way to drive to Mendocino from San Francisco (101 to 128, NOT Route 1), and also had good tips for walking into town (very easy, not along the busier roadway but through a back way that took all of 7 minutes) and the perfect place to watch the sunset so you feel that you're surrounded by the water on every side. I wish we'd had more time to spend here, it was really lovely and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Vista View room on the first floor has a stunning overlook of the coast and headlands. Do be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We loved the vista view room. While not "designer luxurious", it had everything we needed, a small fridge, coffee maker, etc., a lovely gas fireplace for a bit of warmth and ambience in the evening, and a panoramic view of the ocean with total privacy. It has a lovely little deck with chairs overlooking the ocean vista. It's a short walk into town for breakfast at the Goodlife Café and a short drive to the Ledford House Restaurant in Albion, where we enjoyed dinner on both evenings of our visit. Yes, we would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

my husband and i decided on a last minute trip and had trouble finding accommodations for a Sat nite so decided to stay in the honeymoon suite (31 years married). The owner Mel happened to be there when we checked in - such a sweetheart! We sat on the terrace with our bottle of wine from wine tasting earlier in the day....such a spectacular view and sunset!! We travel a lot and would recommend this place hands down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just spent the weekend in the Vista View room at the Mendocino Seaside Cottage. I will certainly stay there again. It is not "fancy", but it is very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The location is perfect. It is right across the street from the headlands and the view is amazing. It is a short walk to the village and very quiet. It is not a bed and breakfast and the room has a separate entrance so it very private. It was a great relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I are frequent visitors to Mendocino, and have stayed in six different places there. Each place has positives and negatives, but for us Mendocino Cottages was fantastic. The first thing to understand about Mendocino Cottages is that it is not a Bed & Breakfast. TA does list it in Specialty Lodging, so perhaps that is apparent. If you want the B&B experience, you should look elsewhere. We have enjoyed our B&B stays in Mendocino, but we loved our stay at Mendocino Cottages. Mel, the Inn Keeper, is great. He was very helpful. He is not normally at the property, but he is always available by phone, and he has someone locally who dropped by to make sure everything was okay. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite (it was not our honeymoon), and the view from the private deck outside the room was spectacular. We were also fortunate to have glorious weather, so it was a great place to drink wine & watch the sunset. It is a two minute walk to the Mendocino Headlands - another great place to drink wine & watch the sunset. The location is also great in that it is not right in the village, but it is a short, easy walk to get to the village. I also thought it was a great value - a private deck with such a wonderful view would likely cost a lot more at other places - especially on a September weekend. The absence of breakfast was no problem to us - it was nice to have coffee and breakfast in the village for a change. We will definitely return!

Mel had their internet connection upgraded while we were there. The wi-fi connection was much faster after the upgrade.

Room Tip: The view from the Honeymoon Suite is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Mich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are regulars, staying at this lovely, well-kept property (in one of the pet-friendly units) a couple times a year. Mel is a great host. We highly recommend Mendocino Seaside Cottage for a
relaxing visit, minutes' pleasant walk from town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mendocino Seaside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Seaside Cottage

Address: 10940 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small private getaway in the Village of Mendocino. One of the very best locations in the Village, away from the business district & traffic yet only a short stroll to the shops & restaurants. Two minutes from the bluff overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Ocean views, lighthouse views, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs for two, free internet, private decks, & wetbars. An alternative to the Bed & Breakfast choices in the Village. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendocino Seaside Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.