We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at the MacCallum House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacCallum House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MacCallum House Inn to your Saves list
MacCallum House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service at the MacCallum House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

My wife, 8-year-old daughter, and I spent three nights at the MacCallum House and were very impressed with the level of service we received. We initially booked a room in the Carriage House. The room was not huge, but there was a king bed, a futon for our daughter, and a private patio with a hot tub. It was clean and well appointed. Our only problem with the room was that the high-speed internet access did not work. We tried everything we could think of to get online and couldn’t do it. By the morning after our first night, the phone no longer worked, either. We informed the staff of this problem and were told that someone would take care of it. An hour or two later, we were told that their staff could not fix the problem and that they’d have to bring someone in to take care of it. They then offered us a room in the “Luxury Suites” building (a short walk outside of town) for the remainder of our stay at no extra charge as compensation. The room we ended up in was much larger with a foldout bed for our daughter, a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub and sauna, another private patio with hot tub, and a lovely common area with newspapers, dining room, computer, etc. We felt they really went beyond what most hotels are willing to do these days to insure that we’d be happy with our stay. Apart from handling the issues with the room, the staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was served each morning in the main dining room (necessitating a much-needed walk into town) and it was quite good. My only gripe was that the portions were too big compared to what I like to eat in the morning. All of the food was delicious, though. We ate supper in the MacCallum House restaurant one evening and found that to be quite good as well. It was a bit pricey, but everything was very well-prepared and service was good. (If you like such things, be sure to try the ginger-rye cocktail – it was stellar.) I would have preferred a wine list that ranged outside of California, but what they have on it is pretty good and the prices were not out of line.

And the service did not stop with the end of our stay. We got home and realized that we had left two bottles of wine in the refrigerator of our room. I e-mailed their innkeeping director to ask if the bottles could be shipped to us and to offer to pay for shipping. After a couple of days, there was no response and I was beginning to think about calling them when a package containing the wine showed up at our door. Another indicator of their willingness to insure a good experience for us.

So there’s no question for us. We were very happy with our stay at the MacCallum House and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in a larger B&B in Mendocino.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — No significant dislikes.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    125
    40
    42
    32
See reviews for
54
283
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

What a wonderful time in Mendocino. After numerous trips to the area we finally decided to stay within the city limits for lodging. The MacCallum house was fabulous and the restaurant was worth going back to a few times during our stay. Really nice wine list and the staff made the evening very enjoyable. Hats off to this group! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

We love to go new places and see new things. We spent our 10th anniversary here. I found this place while searching for lodging in Mendocino. I wanted to go when I saw it on the website. My husband had us do the online auction. We got a fabulous price for two nights/ with breakfast included, dinner for two, bike rentals, and wine waitng in our room. The grounds were very clean and blooming. The food was awesome in the restaurant. We loved our room. It was a real retreat from our three little children. There was even fresh cream for your coffee!
Definitely would do it again.

  • Liked — the organization of the staff and meal coordintation
  • Disliked — wine hour waitng for food and wine
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

Found this delightful place through ---.com.
3 Nights in the Upper Barn Room was perfect. Most relaxing, excellant service, well presented cuisine.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

This is our fourth trip in 12 years to Mendocino, but the first time we have stayed at the McCallum House. Our original reservation was for one of the cottages, but a glitch in the plumbing prompted the McCallum folks to phone and then email us to say they were "upgrading" us to the Suites on the hill. We had a lovely room, most comfortable with an outside Jacuzzi, lovely garden with wooden table and chairs, coupled with internet computer service which was set up in the Suites meeting room, allowing my husband to hold a conference call with his colleagues. The afternoon complimentary wine reception and various cheese and nibbles from 4-5pm is exceptionally good. The bartender is a real pro when it comes to wines - my husband tested him! Breakfast was okay, not hot, hot, hot, which is how we like our food prepared, but certainly plentiful. The staff were most courteous and helpful and our dinner, while not actually gourmet for the prices charged, were artfully presented,and again the staff were always most solicitous, gracious and helpful. We had planned to visit the wineries, see the whales, play golf, etc,, but I caught a bad cold on the second day (watching six whales swim North off the coast and throwing myself into a strenuous golf game) that I ended up in bed for a day. McCallum House was a lovely spot to spend three days. My husband is now convinced that B&B's are the only way to travel. No more hotel rooms....they are too impersonal.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

The inn is perfectly charming, very Victorian, except with the addition of bedroom TVs (under a modesty drape so as not to jar the atmosphere!) and wireless internet. Rooms (we looked at three in the main bulding) are very spacious. The hot water is hot! Your stay comes with breakfast in the dining room downstairs, whcih is fantastic (fresh OJ, delicious thick bacon) and would be quite expensive a la carte!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma co.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our spontaneious trip to Mendocino and stay at the MacCallum House very much. The complamentary breakfast and Hill House suite, number 28,was great. The only complaint I have was that our room smelled of cigaretts. Not a fresh cigarette smell, but that of a room that allowed smoking inside. We were never were asked if we prefered smokong or non; we never thought of it as we are both non-smokers and were not asked if we had a preference. Our stay would have been even better if our room had not of smelled of stale cigarette smoke. We do want to come back, but stay in one of your cute cottages around the main house next time, non-smoking.
-Amy Williams

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacCallum House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.