We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a great town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites to your Saves list
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
covington la
1 review
“Great place in a great town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

My second stay at the picturesque hotel was just as fabulous as the first. A wonderful view from an excellent location was made even better by an attentive and efficient staff.
I look forward to another stay at this bargain by the sea in the near future.

  • Liked — location, staff, ambience
  • Disliked — ni email hookup
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    83
    52
    49
    26
See reviews for
23
226
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairlawn, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel only for a night. My wife and I were travelling down the coast of California and arrived at the registration desk late afternoon and was greeted by a very friendly and gracious clerk named Davina. She offered us a room at a reduced rate and even lowered the rate even more when we told her we were on holiday and it happened to be my wife's birthday. The room was lovely although we were initially put off by having to share bathroom facilities with other guests. However there were four bathrooms each with a shower and they were all spotless. Hotel staff routinely made sure the bathrooms and showers were clean and they did a great job. We experienced no problems utilizing the facilities.

We then had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant. We did have to wait sometimne before we had service and we were considering leaving as we were very hungry. However without saying a word a waitress approched us and offered us a heartfelt apology explaining there was a mix up in seating ans she was not aware
someone was at her table. Her apology was sincere and we had no further problems. The food was wonderful. At the end of the meal the waitress brought out a beautifully decorated desert for my wife with Happy Birthday written in chocolate and a delicious cheesecake with raspberries. The hotel did not charge for this. Another server with a beautifal voice sang happy birthday to my wife who said it was her best birthday ever.

Adjacent to our room there was a crew filming a movie so we got to have a real California experience. The crew let my wife videotape all of the goings on. After they left the hotel became very quiet and we had a very restful night. In the morning we were able to cross the street and acces a trail along the Pacific. The scenery was breath taking.

I would certainly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone travelling along the coast. Just ask for Davina and she will take good care of you as will all of the other staff.

  • Liked — lovely and clean
  • Disliked — shared bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We recently stayed at the Medocino Hotel and found it to be very comfortable and relaxing. The weather was beautiful. We stayed in a garden room. Very ornate discore, wonderful bed, and expected musty odor from a 1878 building. The odor dissipated after a few minutes.

Wish they had a continental breakfast included, although many nice places are very close.

What a cute town. Ate at the Albion Inn - wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

In downtown Mendocino overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Great hotel with clean old fashion rooms, some with bathrooms down the hall. Great bar and restaurant. Nice gardens and plenty of parking in this busy tourist town.

  • Liked — Old work charm
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

Mendocino is a beautiful, small town on the north coast of California.
It has been the site of a number of movies and television shows.

In the middle of town, on the main street is an historical hotel- The Mendocino Hotel.
This hotel, while paying tribute to its past with antiques, old photographs etc. offers all the up to date amenities a traveler wants and appreciates.
We stayed in one of the garden suites. They are clustered in a garden area in the back of the main building. On the other side of the street.
Lots of parking. Both upstairs and downstairs accommodations.
Our large room was extremely comfortable. Television, bathtub, coffee/tea making facilities (Although coffee and tea are offered free of charge every morning in the light and airy Gazebo restaurant and bar.)
There is also a beautiful dining room. The food is wonderful!
The people at the desk were all warm, welcoming and very helpful.
They seemed genuinely interested in our well being.
We enjoyed having a drink on the upstairs (of the main building) deck with a fabulous view of the sea and surrounding bluffs.

  • Liked — Hotel charm and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

i had read bad reviews on other sites about this hotel, but when we got into town i thought it looked nice, and decided to take a chance,
more fool I.!. We were given a room the same size as a medium size wardrobe to "sleep" in. We had a sink in our room and our "bathroom" was down the hall?. I had to wait over 45 minutes to go to the toilet
as there was a lady taking a shower, we had a dinner reservation in a restaurant in town and I needed to take a shower i forgot my towel and had to go back to the room to get it and when i came back down someone had gone into the bathroom again i waited for over an hour but ended up going out to dinner with greasy hair. THis was just the beginning of our adventure. When we got to our room that evening we could clearly hear music which seemed to comming from reception we thought they would turn this off which we think they eventuall did but not untill well into the night it was turned on again bright and early next morning even though we had complained, but the receptionist just stared off into the middle distance. We asked to be moved the next day due to the music playing and our lack of space and a bathroom, and we also could not believe our view which was of a path, our window was on the same level as some sort of pathway. A disgruntled staff member, brought us on tour of the hotel. he did not
seem quiet sure where he was going, and did not seem sure why he was there at all, after towing our luggae by ourselves by the way around the hotel grounds and around the hotel we were brought across the street, to another part of the hotel, he grunted at us opened the door and left, we entered a room which had not been cleaned and still
had another guests belongings in it, i had to use the bathroom and discovered the other guest was trying to take a shower he was as pleased as we were. We towed our luggage back to reception, where we were almost accused of trying to break into a room we cancelled our stay there we wont be going back, and we did meet several people there which felt the same. what a shame becuase the location of the hotel is great, and the lobby has a charm you just dont see anymore but it stops there, make sure and ask if your room has an en-suite.

  • Liked — Nothing except maybe the lobby but we had no time to spend there as we were busy either waiting for a bathroom or being showed rooms that belonged to other people
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elk creek
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

We have stayed at the Mendocino Hotel for our Anniversary for the past 8 yrs. The Hotel is always clean and the staff always friendly and eager to assist with any needs. There is a wonderful formal dinning room for a special dinner. They also have a fantanstic cafe for breakfast, lunch or afternoon meal. The rooms are all different and decorated with wonderful antiques fitting to the rich history of the area and the Hotel itself. Some of the rooms have ensuite baths and some share baths that are convienent and clean. The bar and lobby is a great place to rest and visit after a full day of shopping, sea kyaking or diving.
The Hotel is located in the center of the local shops and sites. There are many different shops that offer a wide variety of goods....We always find something new and special each visit.
We have stayed at other inns and hotels in the area but consider our stays at the Mendocino Hotel to be the best.
Brian and Rachel

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.