We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mendocino Art Center Students-Read this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Save Saved
You added Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Mendocino
Cupertino, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mendocino Art Center Students-Read this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Mendocino Hotel offers a wonderful low rate for students taking a class at the Mendocino Art Center. For the price $59 a night, it was excellent! The staff were very nice and helpful. Everything was clean and working. Mendocino is very quiet, so there was no problem with noise.
I felt very safe. The Mendocino Art Center is terrific too, so this is a perfect combo when you want to get away for a few days!

Room Tip: The special price was for one person. I believe it was an additional $10 a night for a second perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    70
    40
    44
    24
See reviews for
20
201
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dierect view of the ocean. It's is a gorgeous hotel. Feather bed on the mattress. Feather pillows. The shops are so cute. Really good food in the restaurant. Ate from the lunch menu for dinner. Downside: there is very loud music out front. It's 11pm and no signs of the music shutting off.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second stay at this hotel. We came last year and had such a great experience that we had to go back. While this location is out of the way and a long drive from the Bay Area, it is a wonderful place to get away from it all and to stay right next to the ocean and relax. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. We stayed in a garden room and felt we had our own place there with a separate entrance, tucked away from it all. Definitely worth the drive to get there. If possible, go during the week and it will feel as though you have the hotel and town to yourself.

Room Tip: If it is your first time, ask for one of the rooms at the front of the hotel. They are like stepping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On our arrival, we were taken aback by the old world charm this hotel offers, and the amazing view of the bay opposite. However a little more charm would have been appreciated after our long journey. We arrived at 8.20pm, and it took just over 10 minutes to check in. We asked if we could eat in the dining room, but were told that we could if it was immediately. We pointed out that having just arrived, we needed to take our cases to our room and use the bathroom, which did not go down too well. Considering in the hotel's literature they say dinner is up to 9pm, we were surprised with their attitude. The meal however was very good.
The room did not have a TV, which is OK. Having got into bed and needing to catch up on my emails (I work for myself and three weeks is too long to be away from work), I tried to log-in. However the wi-fi did not work, which was most unhelpful.
The towels that were in the room were dreadful. When my towels at home get like that, I use them on my dogs. Also, considering there were two sharing the room, the only toiletry was one small bottle of dual shampoo/conditioner and a soap. Considering how much this hotel costs, a little attention should be given to the services offered to guests.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the front of the hotel, you get a fantastic view of the ocean and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

stayed at this hotel for two nights with my husband. Found a great deal on the price. Room was very comfortable, nice towels and linens, very comfortable bed, small patio outside our room. The flowers throughout were amazing. Wonderful antiques in the rooms and in the main hotel. We did not eat there, so cannot comment on the food. The entire town is a throwback in time, with a charming appeal. The ocean views are magnificent. This was our first time in this area. It will not be our last.

Room Tip: Because we went on a special, we did not choose our room. No complaints about the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This was our third time staying here and we loved it just as much as we had on our previous visits. The staff was warm and welcoming, the hotel itself is very charming and the location is fantastic. Our room aes lovely and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for the kind words and we hope to be your "special" place to go for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We just completed two nights in a dog friendly suite, room 309 in the garden section. The hotel is a late 1800's era complete with antique furnishings and motif. The room itself was spacious, with fireplace, full bath, and couch set in a bay window. The bed itself was rather hard but for two night it was tolerable.
We were on a special so for the price, we were pleased to get our money's worth. However, to pay full price, we would not have been so thrilled as there is no ocean view, and though nicely done with a bed and breakfast "feel", it would not rank with other four and five star hotels we have enjoyed.
I would compliment the front desk people for their willingness to put us in a room we would enjoy, the dining room waiter who was attentive, and the maids for their job well done. The food in the restaurant was appealing, but rather spendy for even a tourist zone. The location is magnificent as from the front of the hotel one enjoys a panaramic view of Mendocino shoreline. One is within walking distance to a trail to a beach and the dogs are allowed on a leash.
The hotel is also nestled in the charming old town of interesting shops, galleries, deli's , and well preserved buildings. We would go back, on a special again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are happy that you had a good time with your family and pet while staying with us. Please come again. Be sure to check our website and facebook page for upcoming specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.