We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the neatest place on the Coast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackberry Inn
Save Saved
You added Blackberry Inn to your Saves list
44951 Larkin Rd., Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the neatest place on the Coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

just want to add that I lived in Mendocino for years so I know every inn and guesthouse and believe me, there's no other place anywhere like this one. It begins the instant you turn into the drive and are at once transported to a magical little, storybook of a western street, complete with post office and even the local lock-up. The Stadd couldn't be nicer and the rooms more adorable... and they charge less for all this than other places that don't offer more than your everyday Holiday Inn.
They say the best recommendations come from the natives so I tell everyone I know and they always call to thank me... and while I've moved away, when I go back I know where I stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    43
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
88
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the "school house" at the Blackberry, thematically decorated, clean, and located next to a very friendly Mendocino resident who offered us a Meyer lemon from his tree. Right down the road, we drove to watch the sunset and spied whales swimming up the coast--truly idyllic. The only downside to the Blackberry is that the front desk is pretty indifferent. Having just come from a motel where the desk was very friendly, offering suggestions and just conversation, asking questions at the Blackberry elicited vague, blase responses tantamount to "I don't know." Didn't ruin the stay, but a friendly and helpful desk would have easily elevated it to an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is was very homey and comfortable. The ocean view was beautiful and one morning we had deer across the grass outside our window. Very peaceful location off the busy highway and many trees around. Every day they left a goodie basket with local coffee, hot chocolate, microwave popcorn, homemade mini-loaves, bannana nut and lemon, baked cookies or brownies and a bag of dog biscuits and clean up bags for the 4 pawed traveler. Room had a refrigerator also. Each room is like a cottage. Each one is a different western town theme but it is not cheesy. Some are larger to accomodate more people or smaller for a single or couple. A fruit basket and coffee was also in the lobby for the guests. We liked the coffee so much we bought some in town to take home. Great place and worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Really enjoyed the room we had at Blackberry Inn. It was a charming throwback to how motels used to be. We enjoyed watching the ocean (at quite a distance) from the swing. It was really a very enjoyable, quiet property. Although you are only a 5 minute drive to Mendocino, unless you want to walk on the Highway, this property IS NOT a walk to town. Also, as with other guests, I thought the lack of welcome and local knowledge at the front desk was downright odd. We were there early in the week when there were very few other people there and it was strange to have such uninterested staff, in what clearly was originally meant to be a welcoming place. The price was right, the place was VERY NICE and we would definitely return, just thought the front desk was a disconnect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Booked this Inn just the day before while driving down the west coast.
We stayed in the Sheriffs office which was lovely cozy and had a spectacular deep soaker jacuzzi overlooking the grounds and the ocean
Our check In wasn't very warm or welcoming. In fact the fellow at the desk barely looked up from his television program. when we asked questions about good places to eat he just warned us that everything was very expensive and we would be better to go back to Fort Bragg
We enjoyed the "theme" of the Inn we also had a nice fireplace but only enough wood provided for one very short small fire.
They do provide you with a basket of snacks so we enjoyed popcorn and a movie in front of the fire. There was also some fresh fruit brownies and banana bread that we saved for the next morning.
The grounds of the Inn are also nice would have loved to explore some of the other theme rooms
I think it was the best value in Mendocino. Some people claim its too far from town> We certainly didn't feel that way we could have easily walked there

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Blackberry Inn is located on the east side of Highway 1 across from City of Mendocino. It is less than 5 minutes to the heart of town but very quiet and relaxed. No road noise, no noisy neighbors. Rooms are built on a ridge looking west. Easy parking in front of room.

Rooms are almost like small cottages with exquisite decorations reflecting an old west Village theme. Beds are comfortable; staff is very friendly. Best coffee in room I've ever had; plus fruit and homemade muffins. Each room has microwave, small refer, & wireless internet. Some rooms have ocean view though it is somewhat distant. Prices for a Mendocino motel are reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about equal.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is a motel, not a B&B, so keep your expectations in check. We knew this and chose it because we're not into the whole B&B experience, so it worked well for us. The location is on a small hill across the highway from Mendocino and it is very quiet. The website for this place does exaggerate their "gardens". The landscaping is nice, but it is just a strip between the rooms and your car, not what I would call "grounds". Nothing wrong with it, but nothing to get excited over either.

The western theme of the front of the rooms is well done and very cute. The interiors are country-western style and OK for what it is. The decor could use an update, but the beds were comfortable and our two days there were pleasant. A snack/breakfast basket is provided each day that was nice and sufficient to get us out the door without looking for breakfast first. There were three whole fruits, two mini loaves of homemade banana bread, two homemade cookies, hot chocolate packets, and some microwave popcorn.

There was a refrigerator and a microwave in the room. There is no air conditioning, but there is a clever opening in the wall that can be opened for ventilation without leaving the windows open. The bathroom was dated with a very low shower head (it hit me between the shoulders), but everything worked.

The room was very clean, but the carpet could probably use a cleaning soon and there was water damage along the front wall of the room (Barber Shop). It was quiet as long as other guests behaved properly, which they didn't in our case. There is a big lawn behind the rooms and a partial ocean view. Guests are requested not to run around in this area because it can disturb others guests, but some people don't read the rules.

We only saw staff at check-in/out and they were OK, but not overly outgoing or helpful. They tried to answer questions about the local area, but they aren't very informed about the area. There is plenty of free parking right outside your room. Free wireless internet is provided and it was very fast.

If you're not into B&B's this is about your only choice in Mendocino that doesn't cost a fortune. I do think it is overpriced for what it is, but it is not out of step with the area. You can get better deals and more modern accommodations a few miles north in Fort Bragg and I'd probably go there next time. I would stay here again if I had to stay in Mendocino, but I wouldn't make a huge effort to do so.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Address: 44951 Larkin Rd., Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.