We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B for R&R” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agate Cove Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agate Cove Inn
Save
You added Agate Cove Inn to your Saves list
11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Champagne or Wine
Ranked #4 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Stateline, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B for R&R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Amber room on our honeymoon - truly cozy, comfortable and romantic! In much need of R&R, Agate Cove was a QUIET retreat! The special touches were wonderful - a bottle of sparkling wine on ice was waiting in our room when we arrived, robes hanging in the closet, make-up remover towelettes, extra cotton balls and swabs in the bathroom if forgotten when packing, an extra quilt in the armoire, beds so comfortable and breakfasts so delicious, we never wanted to leave! We had only planned on staying two nights, but decided to stay a third! Our room had already reserved by other guests though, but we were able to move to the Sunstone room at the same rate - equally comfortable with a great ocean view! We'd heard that many of the cottages had undergone recent renovations - great job and thanks for making ours a wonderful honeymoon! (Be advised: Mendocino is on the cliffs above the ocean - you shouldn't expect to hear the sound of waves crashing at your doorstep...we also left our windows open to let in the fresh, cool air without a worry or problem!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    38
    5
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
200
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

If you are looking for an economical and spectacular getaway, the Agate Cove Inn in Mendocino is it. Frommer's says that the view is the best in Mendocino and while it's hard to venture away from the view of the ocean, day or sunset, the inn itself is a wonderful respite from a busy city life.
Driving up from San Francisco one becomes gradually peaceful -then transported into a wonderful, caring home away from home. If Paris is your first choice, dining at the French restaurants in Mendocino and returning to a fireplace-warmed, cozy cottage comes in a close and more affordable second. Yummy and healthful breakfasts complete the dream.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vine Valley - Middlesex, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Our stay at the inn was the most relaxing few days we have had in a very long time. Mendocino is a place that allows you to relax and enjoy the beauty of the area. The Agate Cove Inn simply adds an exclamation point on how to relax. Our room was lovely (had I not chosen a room without a view of the ocean it would have been hard to leave it) - fireplace, jacuzzi tub, sitting area in the room and a french doors that led to a private patio area. The breakfast room and grounds have stunning views of the ocean and our time spent watching the waves crash against the rocks in the morning and the spectacular sunsets in the evenings were superb. The cuisine in the area was also a grand experience. We had one of our best dinner ever at the Cafe Beaujolais one evening, lunch at the Mendocino Hotel, and another good dinner at the Moosse Cafe. We went to Headlands State Park, which you can see from the inn, a walking tour of the historic downtown area, and we took a short drive to Point Cabrillo Light Station for another relaxing walk. On the way back to Sonoma County, through the Anderson Valley, our host gave us a great recommendation for a small, boutique winery off of Route 128. Esterlina Vineyard and Winery (you must call ahead) was a highlight of our trip. We had a memorable wine tasting experience overlooking the valley. You know when you want to stay forever you've had a great experience. The Agate Cove inn was tough to leave.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Agate Cove Inn provided us with a most relaxing and peaceful stay while in Mendocino. Just a 10 minute walk from downtown, this seaside inn has a terrific view of the Pacific from the main house and from many of the cabins. The inn keepers are very gracious and Roger makes a killer breakfast every day. Don’t forget to pat Nava, the owner Shetland collie. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The Agate Cove Inn and surrounding grounds are unsurpassed in beauty, with their gorgeous flower gardens and ocean views! The innkeepers, Roger & Laraine, are warm, welcoming, knowledgable, helpful and available most of the time. Their dog, Nava, was an extra special treat and added yet another warm and wonderful element to the whole experience! The room was exquisitly decorated , very clean, updated and very comfortable, with a cozy fireplace and plasma TV! The breakfasts, oh the breakfasts; so delicious and different every day! The only bad part of the stay was having to leave because it is "paradise"!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We spent 2 nights and loved it. The location can't be beat as you are overlooking the ocean and it is only a short walk to downtown. It is very peaceful and restful. The gardens are gorgeous. The hosts are very accommodating. Breakfast is very good, 2 courses served while sitting in ocean view windows. One morning in was apple crisp followed by gingerbread pancakes; the next morning was poached pears followed by eggs benedict. We stayed in the Diamond room, which had just be renovated. It was lovely and romantic but did not have a shower. I would choose a room with a shower.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

agate cove inn is such a special place. we didnt have reservations and called on our way driving down the coast. they stayed up and waited for us to arrive. our room was recently renovated and was more then i expected! its one of the few that is attached to the main house but has its own seperate entrance. so private and cute! there's even a private garden seating area where one can enjoy a nice glass of wine. the inn's grounds are beatitful! all the flowers and plants give this a magical fairy garden place. especially after arriving here from a foggy drive down the coast...it was truly special. the next morning we woke up to clear skies and the beautiful mendocino coast. breakfast was waiting for us in the warm cozy kitchen with spectacular views! after breakfast we had to head out, but we definitly will be back and for a longer stay next time!
the inn is one of the few that i noticed that was set right along the coast, there are no other structures in between to block the view. great location!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agate Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn

Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agate Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.