We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, Views, Views.....cold eggs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agate Cove Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agate Cove Inn
Save
You added Agate Cove Inn to your Saves list
11201 North Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ocean Front Inn voted b
Ranked #4 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Views, Views, Views.....cold eggs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We found ourselves in Mendocino after visiting Napa Valley. Stumbled upon this amazing little B & B. We didn't have a reservation but the receptionist kindly showed us three rooms to choose from and she could not have been nicer. She commented how wonderful the owners were and that we would meet them in the morning. We settled into a room with an amazing view and shared a wonderful bottle of wine watching the sunset. Went out to a great dinner and woke back up to the killer view again. That's where the magic stopped :( We were greeted by a woman that I assumed was the owner with curt information about eggs benedict and some other pastries that were available buffet style. The chef, I am assuming he was Roger that the kind receptionist spoke about the night before, never even said hello. The eggs came out in under 2 minutes and obviously were pre-cooked and hard as a rock. UGH!! Such a disappointment. I got the feeling maybe the owners are tired of "dealing" with guests. It's too bad, because this place would be perfect otherwise. I hope they can learn to make their eggs to order and tap into some of the wonderful brains/hearts of the people visiting. You missed out talking to some really cool people staying with you......and not just us. We met three other couples that were just full of life and fascinating. Best of luck!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the 4 star review. We were sad to read that we missed out on an opportunity to get to know you better. We hope you will give us another try so please call us and we will be happy to give you a free night. The best part of our business is getting to meet interesting people from all over the world. It can get hectic in the morning trying to get hot breakfasts served to 30 people. Sorry the Eggs Benedict were not prepared to your liking. We are happy to accommodate any requests. Most of our guests will send back "runny" eggs so we have been preparing them at 4 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    37
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
175
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I found the Agate Cove Inn on line while researching places to stay in Mendocino as part of our driving trip to Oregon. Everything looked so lovely and the reviews were great, so we took a chance. Well, we arrived rather late, just in time before Roger left to walk Nava and he was so accommodating. We stayed in the Obsidian for 2 nights (Oct 20-22, 2013). It was absolutely enchanting, comfortable, inviting and perfect....just what we needed after the long windy road to get there. We just loved it! In the morning, the ocean view was just spectacular. It is so peaceful and beautiful - loved the grounds and the town is so quaint. We really enjoyed our brief stay there and will definitely try to come back soon. Cannot say enough wonderful things about this B&B, from Roger & Lorraine who are so lovely, their dog Nava and the wonderful breakfasts - yum! Oh and the bed was the most comfortable bed ever! We recommend this place highly - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The Obsidian cottage looks directly over the ocean - best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We loved the photos you posted with your review. Thank you so very much for taking a chance on us. We know that living in Hawaii, you have seen some of the best ocean views and sunsets so we are glad that we did not disappoint. It was great visiting with you and getting to know you. Yes you are right, we do have very, very comfortable beds! .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having been shut out of Yosemite due to the government shut down we found ourselves traveling Route 1 with few plans. We ended up in Mendecino and fortunately checked into the Agate. The owners were very welcoming. The cottage was perfect. The view of the Pacific amazing. We enjoyed touring the town and meeting nice local folks. Everything is close to the Inn. As a jogger I enjoyed the many paths hovering over the Pacific Ocean. Breakfast was great, again accompanied by views of the ocean. We highly recommend the Agate---it's a perfect stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We agree, Mendocino has some great trails and paths for joggers to enjoy with abundant nature and stunning views. It was a happy accident that you were able to stay here as Yosemite was closed. We are glad you were able to experience Mendocino and Agate Cove Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I spent quite a bit of time looking for a nice place to stay for our anniversary. Our expectations were definitely exceeded and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I don't normally write reviews, but this place was worth writing about. We stayed one night with the Agate Inn and a couple nights up the coast. If anyone would like my humble opinion, it was the best place in Mendocino with stunning ocean views and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you as guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your "Babymoon". We enjoyed visiting with you and enjoyed it even more when you stopped by a couple of days later to just visit with us again. Good conversation, good views and good food, one can't go wrong. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As a travel consultant, I view venues with a different perspective than others. I investigated all the inns/b&b's in and near Mendocino and Agate Cove is by far, head and shoulders above the rest. The location is just beyond the tourists grazing the streets, but with in an easy 2 min drive to the village, i.e., no exciting switchbacks late at night. Lorraine/Roger are very personable and gracious; the type with whom you would sit and have a glass of wine. Our cottage, Obisdian, a view to die for, spacious room with sofa to sit and gaze the sunset or full moon; deck for an appertivo, lushious cottage garden; good (full) breakfast; 2+ days here and your blood pressure will dip several notches! You could envision sitting in the Adirondack chairs writing your next best seller! Heavenly peace on earth! A highlight of our 2 week trip from Carmel/Glen Ellen/SF/Mendocino!!

Room Tip: While many of the cottages have varying views, I can only comment from my stay in Obsidian, that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Oh Linda, we loved reading your beautiful prose. We value your opinion as a travel consultant and appreciate you for taking the time to review us in detail and posting pretty pictures. Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely visiting with you during breakfast and sharing stories about the hospitality business. We are so glad you found us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Agate Cove for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The location just outside of Mendocino overlooks a beautiful part of the Pacific coast line. Their breakfast dining area has large floor to ceiling windows showcasing the view. Our room was good sized, clean and nicely decorated (but not gaudy) with a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts were great and portions large. We will definitely stay there again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
What a great way to start off our day as we read your 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to share with us and our guests your opinion. We are still amazed when we walk into the breakfast room with the new floor to ceiling windows. We keep hearing that we have the best view on the Mendocino coast. It is a blessing to have this view as part of our daily lives and we love that we can share it with others. So glad you thought we were "wonderful" and that you enjoyed breakfast each morning. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stumbled in when the adjacent inn called to see if they had a vacancy for us. We stayed in the "moonstone" room which was lovely - canopy bed with lovely linens, a window seat for relaxing, a comfy chair, soft afghan, robes, nice furnishings. Our room did not have an ocean view, but the view from the grounds is stunning. Breakfast was very good and felt special. The owner is very pleasant - we chatted about dogs, gardening, etc. it was a terrific stay - definitely plan on returning for a longer visit,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your generous 5 star review. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and the the Moonstone cottage was available for you. We hope you can return and try one of our ocean view cottages one day! Reviews like your make our efforts all worth it! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agate Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn

Address: 11201 North Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 romantic cottages and 2 rooms feature K or Q feather beds,sherry, fireplaces,ocean views, private decks, TV, HBO and wireless internet. The private baths are complete with luxury robes and amenities, most have spa tubs. A thoughtfully prepared breakfast is served in the breakfast room where you can choose a table for two and watch the ocean surf. Our guest services room has movies, hot beverages, ice machine, books, C.D.'s, popcorn, all available 24 hours a day. The garden's Adirondack chairs provide a front row seat for spectacular sunsets, whale and wave watching. The inn's gardens have color year round. A two person love seat swing and a hammock hang from 100 year old cypress trees that face the sea.The inn is less that 1/2 mile from the historic village of Mendocino and worlds away from the stress of everyday life. Hiking, biking, canoeing, golf, tennis, spas, dining, theatre, shopping, wine tasting, galleries are some of the many activities here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agate Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.