We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, friendly and terrific views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agate Cove Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agate Cove Inn
11201 North Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Cozy, friendly and terrific views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night after a long absence from Mendocino, one of our favorite coastal locations. The Inn has 11 rooms located in cottages on grounds that contain beautiful flower gardens and the site hovers over the coastal cliffs at the north end of town. Our room was called Amber, very warm and cozy with stove, microwave, refrigerator and bathtub for two. The morning breakfast was located in the main office building with wall to wall windows viewing the ocean. Service was superb and the entree was Eggs Benedict (unfortunately overcooked), fruit, bread pudding, orange juice and coffee. We watched the local seagull sit on the Agate Cove Inn sign outside the window, waiting for tidbits from the owner and the guests. He owned the sign as no other seagulls would come near. All in all, we had a delightful visit and must highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Amber Room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks for that great review. So glad you fell in love with the Amber cottage. Just let us know on your next visit that you prefer the customary "Eggs Benedict" and we will be sure to get yours just right.. We get more requests for the eggs to be on the firmer side so we have made an adjustment for that. It is our pleasure to cater to our guests and make their breakfast experience perfect! Thanks for the feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    35
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
146
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Agate Cove is enchanting. The accommodations were beautifully furnished, roomy, and with lovely views. The location is perfect with sweeping views of the coastline. Breakfast in the main building was delicious and the view was amazing. Definitely worth the money. Can't wait to go back and spend more time.

Room Tip: Each cottage has a different theme/accommodations. The Garnet Room was darling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Garnet cottage. That little private garden with the fountain, flowers and the view of the sea is just so sweet. We are happy that you plan to return.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights last week at the Agate Cove Inn. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. We were in the Amber cottage which had a great view of the gardens and the ocean beyond. Breakfasts were fabulous and the proximity to town and the Headlands Park was very convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to review our inn. Thank you so much. You are correct, we do have a wonderful location with spectacular views of the sea and part of the Headlands State Park. We think we have the best of both worlds, the convenience of being close enough to the village but just outside the town enough to be quiet and surrounded by nature. Our guests also like the fact that there is free parking by their cottage, free wifi and lots of freebies in the guest services room. Thanks again for your kind words about our very special inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We wanted to thank Lorraine and Roger (the owners) for the excellent service my family and I received during our stay at Agate Cove.

They made my wedding day into a fairytale wedding with a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean and a beautiful manicured lawn.

The rooms have breath-taking garden and/or ocean views.

We are very delighted to have chosen Agate Cove Inn for our Special Day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It was our pleasure and honor to have you and your family here on such a special occasion as your wedding day. We are so happy to have been a part of your wonderful memory making this summer. You have a delightful family and we hope you will be back to visit or even to celebrate an anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I started writing this review and realised it was turning into a novel so hence the title.
Ok, after picking up our hire car, a mustang convertible, we drove the 3 something hours to Mendocino. The journey is through majestic redwood forest, beautiful vineyards and stunning coastline; truly awe inspiring.
We arrived at the inn which overlooks the cove with it covered in a sea mist, so it felt like we were on a cloud. Roger the inn keeper made a little joke about the weather and our long drive which made us feel right at home.
He showed us the breakfast area and the all hour coffee room, we could see it would have stunning views. We were not disappointed the mist cleared by morning and we witnessed perfection.
The coffee room contains everthing you might need from a free phone to a DVD.
The inn was full when we booked so we would be switching rooms a couple of times during our stay. This turned out to be no problem; the eficient housekeeping staff took care of it when we were out on our daily adventures. As I have said we got to stay in three rooms all had coastline views and were freshly decorated in a tasteful manor; we found out Laraine the owner is an artist. My favourite room we stayed in was Jasper as it had a skylight so we could watch the stars at night.
One day we fancied a picnic lunch and could not think of anywhere nicer than the coves front lawn and beautiful gardens. We picked up provisions at the local market and Laraine and Roger kindly provided us with plates, glasses and all the other stuff we needed.
My wife booked an in-room massage, again the Innkeepers took care of this.
While she was being pampered I retired with my kindle onto a large outdoor sofa. I could hear the waves crashing from Agate Cove and the sun was out so I fell into a relaxed sleep within minutes; there should be an App for that.
All in all a fantastic stay in a wonderful setting.
Oh and the breakfasts are excellent, something different each day to send you on your way.

Room Tip: Think all have sea views except one with a private garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for such a great detailed review of our inn. We appreciate the time and though that you took to mention details that have not been mentioned in other reviews. We are so glad that your stay here was everything you hoped for and more and we are pleased that you had the experience of more than one cottage during your stay. We look forward to your next visit and remember we have some nice discounts in the "off season".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Agate Cove Inn in Mendocino is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed there three nights during the Music Festival. Our room was lovely. Our hosts, Roger and Lorraine were terrific. And Roger makes a fabulous breakfast. The room were we had breakfast has incredible views. The entire property is great. We highly recommend a stay here when visiting Mendocino.

Joe Faimali & Donita Decker

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are so pleased that you were able to visit Mendocino during the summer time and attend the Music Festival. We are even more pleased that you chose to stay with us and that you loved the Amber cottage. Thanks for the 5 Star review. We hope to see you on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in the Sunstone cottage for one night. This cottage has a view of the ocean as well as a small porch to sit out on. Our plan was to get in town early enough to have dinner and then enjoy the sunset with some wine of the porch. Unfortunately it didn't work out that way as we kept getting distracted by other places to stop and visit on our way in. The room was very nice. A good size bed and nice comfy sitting area. The thermostat controls the fireplace. Since it was July we didn't really need a "fire". The bathroom had one of those overhead rain shower heads which sprinkles water directly on top of you. (We had never used one before and probably won't again.) We did not realize until the next morning that on either side of the patio doors, there are narrow vertical windows with a screen that can be opened to let the air and ocean sounds in. Really wish we knew that the night before. We ended our stay with a fabulous breakfast in the dining room.

Room Tip: Sunstone has an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
A fire star review! Thank you so much. We know that so many of our guests trust Trip Adviser and great reviews like yours is very much appreciated. Believe it or not, we have actually had guests say that they don't want to review us because they don't want word to get out that we are so wonderful and they don't want us to get too popular! So glad you enjoyed breakfast and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agate Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn

Address: 11201 North Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 romantic cottages and 2 rooms feature K or Q feather beds,sherry, fireplaces,ocean views, private decks, TV, HBO and wireless internet. The private baths are complete with luxury robes and amenities, most have spa tubs. A thoughtfully prepared breakfast is served in the breakfast room where you can choose a table for two and watch the ocean surf. Our guest services room has movies, hot beverages, ice machine, books, C.D.'s, popcorn, all available 24 hours a day. The garden's Adirondack chairs provide a front row seat for spectacular sunsets, whale and wave watching. The inn's gardens have color year round. A two person love seat swing and a hammock hang from 100 year old cypress trees that face the sea.The inn is less that 1/2 mile from the historic village of Mendocino and worlds away from the stress of everyday life. Hiking, biking, canoeing, golf, tennis, spas, dining, theatre, shopping, wine tasting, galleries are some of the many activities here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agate Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Agate Cove Inn to your Saves list