We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mendocino Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mendocino Farmhouse
Save
You added Mendocino Farmhouse to your Saves list
43410 Olson Lane, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
MV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Very nice bed and breakfast 2 miles away from the Mendocino downtown. The setting is beautiful with redwood trees, beautiful lawns and a wonderful host, Margie. We stayed in the Cedar room for 3 days and enjoyed our stay very much.

Do not understand the negative reviews of the place. Would definitely go back here and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We returned to Mendocino Farmhouse after far too long since our last visit. We've stayed there in the '70s, '80s and the last time in 2002. Simply put, it is the best of B&Bs - - and we've experienced many over the years. An early 1900s-styled home nestled in a majestic forest and yet just minutes away from the Mendocino village. Warm, beautifully appointed guest rooms, indoor/outdoor chairs in inwhich to sit and read, a pond, gardens and chickens wandering the grounds. Margie is a marvelous host. Breakfast a winner every time (blueberry pancakes and bacon this time). Just a wonderful, oh so relaxing experience. Can't wait to return.

David and Karen Brudney

Room Tip: Less demand midweek and 1st quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My partner and I were staying for 3 nights at the Margie's Mendocino Farmhouse and it was great. Beautiful place, located in the middle of a forest with a big garden. The house itself is very nice, the rooms big and lovely decorated. There is nothing to complain at all. Margie is the perfect host. Very friendly and open. We truly miss the Farmhouse!

Thomas & Monica, Zurich / Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I truly wish I would have come onto Trip Advisor and read the reviews before visiting the Mendocino Farmhouse. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are adorable, and the price is much more reasonable than many of the other Mendocino B&B's in the area. However, I feel that this all comes with a price due to the Host/Inn Keeper's general attitude. Every single question that we asked...she answered in a manner that was "scolding" us. She was unfriendly, cold, and curt. We had a much better experience with her Assistant who cooked us breakfast the next day. Just before we left around 9am on our final day, she barked at us, "Oh, you're still here! Well, I thought you would have left by now!". That was obviously our key to go...and so we went...and will never be returning. The scenery was gorgeous but the attitude was ugly. It's quite a relief that after looking at previous reviews, I'm not the only one who thinks the Inn Keeper needs an attitude makeover...or perhaps a Customer Service refresher class.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a lovely and very relaxing stay last week. Great star watching! The inn is just a few minutes from the village. We enjoyed a couple of picnics on the back patio basking in the fall sun. The innkeepers were very welcoming and served up some very delicious breakfasts. We would definitely stay again if we're in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

After the long and winding road trip out to Mendocino, The Farmhouse was a welcomed sight! Nestled in the beautiful trees this B&B had it all. We were greeted at the door by the owner,Margie, who was very pleasant and she got us settled right away. Our room was charming. It was not covered in grandmas old wall paper but instead has a comtempary country feel to it. The bathroom was huge and well stocked. The little porch was nice to relax on and read a book while listening to all the birds and wind rustling in the trees. The king bed was so comfortable. I loved how it was built in with reading lamps on each side and also had place to plug in your cell phone and put you book and glasses next to the bed.
We were glad the breakfast was not served at the crack of dawn because we slept so soundly and did not have to rush. We were enticed to breakfast with the wonderful aromas drifting into our room. I think the gal who made and served our delicious breakfast was Bessie and she was a delight! She was so informative about the area and gave us some good ideas about what to do and see. She had our table set in a darling window area looking out to the beautiful garden as she served the yummy breakfast she had just made. There was plenty of great coffee and fresh squeezed OJ and she offered seconds on the orange pancakes but we were too full! The one thing I would have liked is a smaller amount of pancakes and either an egg or fruit to go with the breakfast.
After breakfast we took a walk around the lovely gardens and meadow area and Bessie let us peak into the two rooms in the barn. The were awesome. When we return we will book one of the barn rooms with a fireplace and both of those rooms have private baths.
Sadly we had to leave the Farmhouse after only one night. We do plan on returning and spending a few nights there. It is really a wonderful retreat from the busy life's we all live!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very nice propriety hidden in the woods right before Mendocino. Easy to find following the instructions on the web although can be a little difficult in the night time. Lovely outdoors. Rooms are large and comfortable. Only 1 room (the biggest - John) has the bathroom remote on the corridor and not in -suite. Not a gourmet, fancy breakfast but a basic, very good one served in the living room of the house. Plenty of places to stay - inside or outside with a group of friends. Margie is not a chatty person but if you find common points of interest she warms up. My husband enjoyed talking with her about their interest in Brazilian bosanova....the music she played in the background.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mendocino Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Farmhouse

Address: 43410 Olson Lane, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mendocino Farmhouse Hotel Mendocino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendocino Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.