We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!!! Talk about a great find!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wow!!!!! Talk about a great find!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

We just returned from a perfect four night getaway. It was our 20th wedding anniversary and it couln't have been more romantic. We found the Inn in the AAA book. When I phoned to make the reservation, I knew by the sound of Denise's voice that we had chosen well! She, Mitch, Kellie and Jeffery are SO hospitable, accomodating and always smiling.

We stayed in the Wilson room and it is so cozy and well appointed. The private deck was definitely a plus. The fireplace added to the ambiance and with all of that, the most scrumptious breakfast delivered to our room each morning.

We like the Headlands Inn so much that we have chosen to return for another personal celebration in November. We're going to try out the Strauss room and are hoping for stormy weather.

We highly recommend a night or two at the Headlands Inn for pure relaxation and pampering.

TRY IT, YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    43
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
267
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

Our stay at the Headlands was a true delight. We arrived late in the day. After shopping around and turning down a tiny, over-priced room at a well-known local hotel, we found The Headlands, located one block from the center of town. There was only one room still available, The Wilson. We were pleasantly surprised to find a quite spacious, nicely decorated room with a loaded wood stove ready to use and a large private porch with a view of the water. The Wilson was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Outside our doorway was a lounge where sherry, tea, and fresh baked cookies were available to guests before dinner. In the morning, after a walk at dawn along the shore, a few blocks away, we were delighted to be served one of the very best breakfasts we have had - anywhere - right to our room. We devoured it sitting on our own private porch with our view of the ocean, as we planned our upcoming journey up the coast. Denise and Mitch were wonderful hosts, who provided us with a perfect ambiance that made our stay in Mendocino something really special.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

I must admit my sole purpose for heading out to Northern California was because of the research I did on the online about the wineries and to visit San Francisco. Wine has become a new hobby so I convinced the wife to take the long trip out to the left coast for our vacation. After reading up on TripAdvisor about the Headlands I decided this was the place for us and we were not disappointed. The Innkeepers are very nice and really make you feel welcomed. Each morning I would sit on the edge of the bed just waiting to devour that wonderful, filling breakfast. After breakfast while the wife was getting ready for the day, I would find myself drifting back to sleep in that comfortable bed and truly felt at peace with the world. Some days when we weren't too far away we came back to play a few games in the parlor and snack on the wonderful cookies provided along with some wine in the afternoon before going out again for dinner. Some of the things we did were: Go wine tasting in Hopland and up route 128. It's amazing the stories people have and how nice they are to chat about their life. We also took a canoe out on big river, which was fun. We went up to Fort Bragg for an day and capped off the night at the Headlands Coffee shop where they had live jazz that night. The first night we were tired from the drive so we just headed to the Mendocino Cafe and got some nachos and drank a few beers.

After thinking for a few minutes the only thing I can say negative is the people above us who came at the end of our trip talked very loudly and made alot of noise in the morning.
Before they came you could hear a pin drop so maybe we got a little spoiled with that.
If you go to Mendocino visit the Headlands Inn and treat yourself to a wonderful time. You won't be sorry!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

My wife and I have stayed at Headlands many times over the years and have found the inn a delightfull place. My wife and travel extensiveily throughout the world and yet the Inn is a breath of fresh air. Each time we stay there they have made minor changes that continually impress us. I would think that their inn would set the standard of what an excellent inn should be. Mitch, Denise and the staff are always helpful in customizing our stay, finding intresting things to do. provide fabiulous breaksfasts that are delivered to your room. We hate having to get up early, dress and go down for a breakfast that most inns have. The location is only a few feet from the town, with galleries nearby. I have seen them arrange special horseback riding for guests, arrange marriages on the premises, get tickets for various events and on occasion provide a good bottle of wine on special occasions. They truely love what they do and they make a delightful team and a wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

My wife and I spent nine days traveling the Northern California coast from Carmel to San Francisco to Napa and, finally, Mendocino. The Headlands Inn was our last stop on June 1-2 before heading back to San Francisco, and we unknowlingly saved the BEST for last. From the the staff we encountered (Jeffrey and Kelly) to the owners (Mitch and Denise), everyone affiliated with the Headlands Inn were top notch people and went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable visit. The whole experience was better than we could have hoped (having never been to Mendocino and only having blindly chosen Headlands based on reviews from tripadvisor(--)). The Inn is central to everything in Mendocino, and we never had to move the car, walking everywhere we went. I have already recommended this Inn to friends in San Francisco, to folks on the plane, and to our friends this morning when we returned to Atlanta. I will continue to do so without reservation. Finally, when Denise tells you that breakfast is included, she's not kidding, and it's not simply cereal, muffins and juice like you'd find at a hotel. It was brought straight to our room (up two flights of stairs) and was better than any restaurant breakfast we'd had our entire trip. Thanks to the Headlands Inn for a fantastic experience. (By the way, we stayed in the Barry room at the very top (which has a great view of the bluffs and ocean) and, with the windows open, fell asleep and awoke to the sound of the ocean waves.)

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

If you have a desire to live a dream, stay at The Headlands Inn in Mendocino, CA. You will feel as if you have stepped into the 19th century, but with all of the cleanliness and amenities of the modern world. The innkeepers, Denise and Mitch Hokanson, have put more work into creating an atmosphere of absolute perfection than all of the previous owners of the inn combined! Every room and every detail of this beautiful and historic building have been lovingly and carefully restored, improved, and maintained. My husband and I have been staying at The Headlands Inn annually for the past 15 years, and we have never enjoyed it more than with the warm hospitality of the Hokansons. Thanks to their hard work, the Inn's rooms are impeccable--the entire facility truly sparkles!

Doug and Cindy
Pleasanton, CA

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2006

To celebrate 25 years of marriage, we booked the Headlands Inn for friends and our college age kids. Everyone loved it - all 14 of us! The inn keepers were fabulous. Our weekend was relaxed, full of conversation and totally fun!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.