We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Perfect Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

We spent three wonderful days in Casper Cottage at the Headlands Inn. Couldn't have asked for a cozier place with comfy featherbed, a beautiful warm fire every evening, and gourmet breakfasts beyond description delivered to our room. All the thoughful extra touches provided by Mitch and Denise and staff made us want to return as soon as possible. We'll recommend this heavenly place to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    43
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
276
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2005

The Headlands Inn is centrally located in the village of Mendocino California, in a historic house that has about as much history as the village itself. We stayed in one of the attic rooms, that features a huge , fluffy featherbed, window seats overlooking the town, private bathroom and fireplace.Each room also features a journal where guests can leave comments about their stay.Every entry raved about the breakfasts, the overall charm and the comfy bed in our room. Breakfast was delivered to our room along with a copy of the San Fransisco Chronicle and a seemingly bottomless pot of coffee. The breakfasts were innovative and absolultely delicous.My wife commented that they were so beautiful, she didnt want to eat it, and yet we were very pleased when we did. In the afternoon our hosts offered coffee,tea, Sherry and cookies in the charming parlor on the second floor. There is extensive information to local restaurants and our hosts were more than happy to inquire to availablity and to make a reservations for us at our choice of restaurant.The Inn is beautifully decorated and immaculatly kept. The owners, and hosts, Denise and Mitch are so gracious and friendly.We mentioned it was our wedding anniversary and we found a bottle of wine, two glasses and a corkscrew on the mantle over the fireplace when we arrived. We didnt see much of the staff, but saw their effort in making our stay comfortable, cozy and a home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

A group of us stayed at the Inn. What a fantastic B & B. We were treated like royalty. The breakfasts were excellent, the rooms were immaculate, and the location was wonderful. When we come back to Mendocino, this will be the only place to consider. Thank you Denise and Mitch and Jeffrey.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2005

Just wanted to thank the others for these great reviews which convinced me to stay here. I'll just second everything that has been said so far! And add that we stayed in the Wilson Room, which had its own lovely porch encircled by the most magnificent red passion flower vine! Really enjoyed eating our delicious breakfast out there. And that bed was fabulous! We were ready to live there as soon as we arrived. Really great owners and staff too. And much more reasonably priced/better value than big name places there if you ask me.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2005

It was hard to leave Mendocino and the Headlands Inn. We had the smallest room in the Inn (but probably the coziest). I fell in love with the feather bed, the bathrobe and having breakfast served to my door each morning....a fabulous breakfast that was so beautiful that we had to take a photo of it. Mendocino is such a lovely town and in a beautiful spot, to have a place like the Headlands Inn right in the middle was perfect. Our hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful and they paid attention to every detail. The garden was beautiful too. We loved it and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

We spent the three day Memorial weekend at the Headlands Inn and each day was wonderful. From the moment we arrived, Jeffrey greeting us, and explaining where everything in the town was in relationship to the Inn, the wine in our room and the box of chocolates and each mornings wonderful breakfast, the limo wine touring, the romantic dinner, to the day we had to leave was great. We booked the Wine, dine and romance package……………and it was worth every penny and more, every thing that was on the web site met or exceeded our expectation. This inn is a MUST DO INN!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

We just returned from a three night stay at this lovely place. The front garden with its ocean view was so beautiful. The Innkeepers were very hospitable and served an absolutely wonderful breakfast to our room each morning. We definitely would stay here again and felt it was the nicest place in Mendocino.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.