We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 23 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was our first trip to Mendocino and we certainly lucked out staying two nights here! We stayed on the top floor and our room was so charming! It had a slight view of the coast and a fireplace in the room. The staff was so friendly and informative and the breakfasts brought to our room were amazing! It was within walking distance to many wonderful shops and restaurants. We even saw a play at the local community center. The walk around the jagged coast was incredible. We can not wait to return! I would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    43
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
276
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Hideaway Room which is a small cottage just a stones throw from the main b&b.
You don't get breakfast included when staying at the Hideaway but that didn't matter as there was a list of restaurants all within easy walking distance. It was also nice to have your own space rather than mingling with other guests in the main house. It was a lovely room, very nicely furnished with all the little details covered. Mendocino is a pretty seaside resort and I wished we had stayed at least 2 nights instead of just 1.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Headlands B&B. The whole experience was superb. Mendocino, CA, is a tiny romantic, peaceful, resort area. During the week we were there, a music festival was playing in town so all the hotel/motel/BB were booked, though the rates (about $300/night) seemed inordinately high to me, but not to my wife.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Headlands inn is like visiting friends and family in your home town. We stayed for three nights this year. Mitch, Denise run a top of the line bed and breakfast with help from Geoffery, and Kelly. Headlands Inn IS Mendocino. While the building is old the atmosphere is fresh, welcoming and home. It is located in town so you don't have to drive until you are leaving town. We stay in the Wilson room on the second floor with the deck in the rear. The room is beautifully appointed with a four poster feather bed, wonderful pillows, fireplace and a private bathroom. Quiet time starts at 10PM and is respected by guests. A gourmet breakfast is served to your room in the morning with gourmet dishes you wish you could make at home. Every day is a different treat and every day is special. In the afternoon, tea is served with cookies in the second floor parlor. Port is also available. The owners and staff treat you like friends and really care that you are happy and comfortable. We got a bottle of wine from Mitch and Denise to celebrate our anniversary.Thanks. I have not stayed in a property where I have felt more at home and comfortable. The inn is usually full so I suggest booking in advance. It is full because visitors return year after year. Five stars is not enough.

Room Tip: The rooms are very different so look them over on the website. If there is only one room available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed in Annies room and it was very, very nice. Comfortable and very clean. I only stayed one night and wished I had been able to stay longer. The place was very charming and the people running it were very friendly and accommodating. When I arrived I was given information about the area and recommendations for places to walk to and a wonderful cafe practically next door that had really good food. The breakfast was OUT OF THIS WORLD! I stay at B&Bs every chance I get and this was by far the best breakfast I've ever gotten at one. I even ate the fruit which I rarely do. I don't normally take pictures of my food, but it was so good here I just had to. If I come back to the area, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Charm, charm, charm. Lovely room with a pre-made wood burning fireplace and an incredibly comfortable bed. The breakfasts served during our two night stays were honestly about the best I have ever had anywhere. Brought to your room piping hot with beautiful plating and fantastic taste. The location is excellent. The cookies and tea in the late afternoon are a nice touch, too. Ordinarily, I try to say find some flaw in a place to retain credibility but I am hard pressed to think of anything negative about this B & B. I guess the bathroom wasn't anything special. Please don't go here so there will be rooms available when we want to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a welcoming, well appointed, agreeable place to stay right in the center of town..the farmers Friday market right at your door. We were there for a wedding and were most pleased by our brother's selection as we are a rather picky group. The beds were the very best! Made me almost miss the ceremony. Breakfast is served in the bedrooms as there is no communal dining room. As it is served only at 9 and we are early risers, the staff most agreeably brought our coffee or tea up early and also prepared a take away breakfast for us as we had to depart at 7 am for the airport.
I would recommend this B&B for couples and or singles.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.