We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pygmies and ferns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Damme State Park

Van Damme State Park
Hwy 1, Mendocino, CA 95430
707-937-5804
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Attractions in Mendocino
Type: Beaches, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Fishing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Picturesque spot known for its Pygmy Forest of small trees and Fern Canyon.
Oakland, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pygmies and ferns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Pygmy Forest short (boardwalk) trail begins just past the airport (south of the park entrance). Fees are not collected here. The trees are hundreds of years old but barely six feet high. It's eerie (but we swear the trail wasn't a boardwalk forty years ago).

Fern Trail puts you on a track with redwoods reaching to the sky and ferns taller than the tallest basketball player.

Day use fee is $8.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
2 reviews
“coastal camping trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Beautiful and lush. we stayed in one of the tent only spots near the fern canyon trail. I've been coming here for years, but it had been awhile. I would recommend the hike down fern canyon trail to the Pygmy Forest. It's not a short walk, but it's worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Mushroom Walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We loved the walk through the redwoods. It just happened to be a couple of days after a light rain. Millions of mushrooms everywhere - the air was so fresh! Just a reminder DO NOT pick the mushrooms - they are for viewing not eating! :)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I highly recommend camping here. It's beautiful and clean. The trail in the forest is amazing, wish we could have spent more than one night here. I would come back. The fire pits could use some help they were full and the grates were in pretty bad shape but all in all we really enjoyed our stay.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good stop along the coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We camped one night in a tent at Van Damme. We made reservations as we saw that the spots were starting to fill up before the week were planning on staying there along our road trip up the coast. I'm glad we made early reservations, since the campground was sold out upon our arrival.

The campground was a mix of couples, small families and large groups. Everyone was having a good time during the day and evening, but became quiet and respectful after everyone started going to bed.

The sites are nicely spaced out and some have trees. We stayed in the upper loop, which I would recommend. The spots on the inside of the "medow" loop are pretty much on grass, not many trees. The more forested sites are around the outside of the loop.

The only bummer was that the showers were ICE cold. I waited and waited for the water temperature to get warm and it just stayed cold.

If you get a chance to drive through Mendocino, they have a beautiful walk along the cliffs you can park and walk around.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Damme State Park also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Van Damme State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Damme State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.