We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, quiet, clean and spacious rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3107 Concord Drive, McKinleyville, CA 95519   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McKinleyville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location, quiet, clean and spacious rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Loved this place. It was two seconds from the highway, yet very quiet and our room was really large. We enjoyed having the space and we both slept very well there. I would recommend to anyone going through this area to check out this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of our Property. We are so glad you enjoyed our large rooms and slept well in our newly renovated beds. Thank you again for the nice review, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    94
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
96
86
6
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Super nice guys checking us in, they were fast, courteous, and knew we were tired and just wanted to get some sleep and rest. I forgot I was a member from years back on the holiday express membership and they looked me up, found me in two seconds flat, and upated me on the membership policies without a hiccup or taking needless time. It is really nice to check in to a hotel and the staff know about all the policies and get me to my room with as little wait time as possible. The room is very clean, the bed is very comfortable, and the wireless works like a dream. I would highly recommend

Room Tip: all rooms appear to be good for no noise, as the hotel is setback from the highway, no restaurant, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review of our Hotel. I will pass this along to the staff so they can read the nice comments you posted. We hope to see you in the near future and again appreciate your review. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

There is no where to eat past 9 pm at night aside from Denny's... So beware! The hotel is what you expect and it is clean. The front desk is very polite and helpful. Avoid the free breakfast as I generally recommend. very close to the airport. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Hotel. As there are not many late night food options, we have built a pantry in the Hotel and are constintly getting new items to make up for the lack of food options close by. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We've stayed here several Christmas eves in past years - this year we added a stay for our daughter's Solstice wedding at nearby Moonstone Beach. The holiday decorations added to the festive air as the bride and family made pretty and got dressed before the ceremony.The staff treated us well.

Room Tip: This is the only 3 star hotel near the airport, so if you reserve through Hotwire like we do it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the Christmas decorations as our staff takes pride in decorating each year. It really makes it all worth while with the great comments by our guests. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's really a nice hotel, of course, It's part of a large chain, but It's nicely distinguished from others. The hotel is located in a convenient location just a short distance from the sea and from the regional airport. The rooms are big and clean; the night, but also during the day It's very quiet and relaxing. The staff is extremely friendly and polite. The pool deserves a mention, it's covered and large enough to swim. We chose it by chance, but from now It will part of our favorite hotels list, for future trip in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review of our Hotel. We take all of our reviews very seriously and we will pass your comments on to the staff so that they can see what great things you had to say about our hotel and staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hotel pool goes to 5 feet, large enough to do short lap, great seaside mural on one wall, art on other walls. Love the added art-kudos to hotel owners; blue walls with terns and seaside scene. Good workout room with free weights. Windows in exercise room look over pool (so no privacy for swimmers). TV in exercise room. Jacuzzi spacious for 4-6 people, very nice heat… but no jets! Cookies upon arrival. Library, fireplaces in common room. Excellent photo art all around the building. 2 computers and printers available at all times to guests. Breakfast :gross eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, bad peanut butter, cereal, milk, juice, bagels and breads… large breakfast area. Points for having a recycle bin in room! Plenty of parking. Windows in room don’t open. Heard my neighbors’ radio on one side, TV on other …but never heard road noise or planes! Shower good with massage head. Huge bathroom counter. Fake plant and pretty pictures added a lot to room. Large closet. Good sized table, 2 desk chairs, lamps galore, comfy chair. Micro fridge, coffee stuff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Hotel. We take all of our reviews very seriously and appreciate all of your input. I will look into the things that we less than satisfactory during your stay so that when you stay with us everything is enjoyable. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, Ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed over the long Veterans Day weekend. The hotel is adjacent to the airport, but you would never know it. We did not see or hear a single plane during the whole stay. The hotel is just a few minutes from the main drag in McKinleyville, near to Highway 101 to take you N or S.

We had no problem checking in, and the requests made during the on-line reservation were provided. The whole property is spotless, inside and out. Our king room was huge, as was the bathroom. The 42" flat screen TV worked fine, with DirecTv. The bed was a bit soft, and the were two grades of pillows to select: soft or firm. The complimentary hot buffet breakfast was excellent, and even had an automated pancake maker. It was not a custom cooked breakfast, but had everything you could want, except, perhaps some fruit other than bananas.
Coffee, tea, cocoa are available 24/7. Free WiFi worked perfectly. Oddly, although there is a nice desk/desk chair, the only phone was on the nightstand by the bed. Not very convenient for a business traveler.

The staff were always friendly, efficient and accommodating. When we had a plumbing problem at 6PM Sat. evening, the front desk immediately offered to put us in another room, or wait for morning to get maintenance help. When I asked to try a "plumbers helper" she one right up.

We did not use the pool, spa or fitness center (which had high end aerobic machines and free weights).

This hotel has everything. It was a slow weekend, but I suspect they do well anytime. Clearly the place to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room own the hall from the elevator and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review of our Hotel. We take all of our reviews very seriously and are happy that you had such a great stay. Hopefully next time you stay with us you can enjoy the pool, spa and fitness center. Thank you again for staying with us and for writing such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express

Address: 3107 Concord Drive, McKinleyville, CA 95519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McKinleyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McKinleyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy yourself in the modern conveniences of Northern California's newest Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, a 100% non-smoking hotel. Venture through misty ancient redwood groves or stroll along unspoiled sandy beaches with spectacular views of the Pacific and its rugged coastline, all within minutes of the hotel lobby. The Inn's mission style architecture and country setting reflect the natural beauty of the north coast environment. The hotel is located just minutes from Humboldt State University in Arcata. Old Town Eureka is an easy 20 minute drive south and the charming town of Trinidad and Patrick's Point State Park are just 10 minutes to the north. We are also the closest hotel to Cher-ae-Heights Casino. The hotel offers everything the business or leisure traveler needs for a comfortable visit, with 84 rooms plus meeting space for groups up to 60. *Indoor pool, whirlpool spa and exercise room*Generous size rooms and wet bar suites*Free deluxe Continental breakfast*Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (all rooms)*Business center with two work stations*phone/data port access/voice mail*Guest laundry*Free airport shuttle*Restaurants and charming downtown area within minutes*Beau Pre public golf course 1/2 mile away*Bike rentals available onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Mckinleyville Hotel Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Mckinleyville
Mckinleyville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.