We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCloud River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added McCloud River Inn to your Saves list
McCloud River Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   325 Lawndale Ct., McCloud, CA 96057   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 McCloud B&B and Inns
Happy Valley, Oregon
1 review
“"Home away from home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were greeted by a warm, friendly smile from Ursula as she served us fresh-baked cookies. Our room was excellent with very comfortable furniture and bedding. The home-cooked breakfast was gourmet quality! We felt very welcome during our stay and look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I've stayed at the McCloud River Inn twice and it's always been very clean. The window air conditioner is somewhat loud but other than that it's pretty OK. The breakfast was good nothing outstanding. No one ever seems to be there except when you check out, if you arrive in the late afternoon they leave your key in the small lobby. The building from the outside looks beautiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a small room in the back of the house on the second floor and it was fine for one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our suite was a double with 2 sleeping rooms, luscious bedding, and a large sitting room. It was very, very attractive and comfortable, with high ceilings, period furniture, and a faux fireplace for added warmth. The breakfast dining room was large and nicely appointed, and the breakfast itself was sumptuous and tasty. There is a separate TV lounge if you want to watch TV. The place is well furnished with books - many bookshelves offer a wide variety of reading materials. The town is okay, but much of it is shut down on Monday and Tuesday. Plan to eat dinner in a different town if you visit early in the week. Don't miss visiting the nearby Upper, Middle & Lower McCloud Falls. The hike is lovely and the falls are very impressive, especially Middle Falls.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, CA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent a night at this Inn on the enthusiastic recommendation of fellow hikers at Burney Falls and we wish we could thank them for the tip. Ursula encouraged us to arrive early and sent us off for a beautiful hike in Squaw Valley after giving us a tour of the unoccupied rooms and a bit of the history of the fascinating old building. We chose a room designed for 2, but were impressed that others offered beds and space for up to 5 fellow travelers. We had time to watch the American Dippers at Lower Burney Falls before an excellent, reasonably priced dinner at the nearby McCloud Lodge. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed and the breakfast was both healthy and delicious with lots of fresh fruit and delicate oatmeal pancakes. Waking up in McCloud was a perfect start for our all-day drive south through Lassen National Park. We travel between Mendocino and Ashland several times a year and look forward to re-visiting McCloud River Inn and the Lassen route (after checking the National Park website for wild flower sightings and snow conditions on the high mountain pass).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is becoming a highlight of our annual journey from Arizona to Washington state. Ursula is very welcoming. We have stayed in the Drawing Room both times, and have been very happy with it. Breakfast is great. The wonderful porch is a nice place to relax before or after dinner. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The McCloud River in is a lovely Victorian B & B in the hamlet of McCloud, CA. at the foot of Mt. Shasta. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. The only drawback is there are no views of the McCloud River or any river. The breakfasts are delicious and quite adequate for a days adventure.

The real attraction of the Inn is the Innkeepers, Ursula and Mike Weatherford. They are delightful hosts with a welcoming and warm demeanor. PLUS, Ursula keeps a cookie plate full of fresh chocolate chip cookies to greet all guests. It is a wonderful place to stay and very affordable. We did there fly fishing package which was fabulous. Alston Laughlin

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

Inn is in the historic district of a very quiet former logging town. delicious warm chocolate chip cookies on arrival and plenty of chocolate kisses in room. Our room, Waterfalls, featured a large jacuzzi tub in a corner of the bedroom. What a treat! Our Romance package included a bottle of wine and a $40 credit toward a choice of nearby restaurants. Room included window AC and ceiling fan. Very good breakfast, tho coffee was weaker than we prefer. Historic district provided a very pleasant morning stroll. Hike on McCloud River 5 miles east was excellent! We come by this area each year on our way to Oregon Shakespeare Festival and plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCloud River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud River Inn

Address: 325 Lawndale Ct., McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — McCloud River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your McCloud River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccloud River Hotel Mccloud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCloud River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.