We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and New for a most pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCloud Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McCloud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCloud Hotel
408 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in McCloud
Santa Barbara, Calif
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Old and New for a most pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was our second visit to this historic hotel. Our room was spacious, with a Queen Sized bed, ceiling fan, air conditioning, many windows, a nice bathroom set-up, and very accomodating hosts.

The Breakfast provided offers several choices from a menu, and lots of good coffee. The house baked muffins were irresistable.

The afternoon we arrived was very warm outside, and cool inside. The complimentary goodies were baked on site and were delicious, and we were treated to a "mini-concert" by a professional pianist sitting in for the afternoon. We had a pleasant walk around this former company town.

The main lounge area is quite large and a good spot to visit with friends, if you are traveling with others.

There is a TV in a separate lounge and WIFI available in the main lounge. (McCloud is very near to some great fishing and hiking trails along the McCloud river, and it is not a noisy metropolis...... and we welcome places without TV in the room.)

There are few if any places for dinner in McCloud. The Hosts do prepared dinners on Thurs - Sat. and from the breakfasts and goodies we would have have had dinner with them, but it was Wednesday. Their recommendation of the Trinity Cafe in Mt. Shasta was perfect.

Room Tip: We had were able to view the rooms and choose the one we liked. There are also suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    15
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

On a recent trip from England we had the good fortune to stay at this delightful B&B. The McCloud B&B Hotel offers so much in addition to its elegant charm. Beautifully decorated in a traditional way the hotel is warm and welcoming with a relaxed feel. We stayed for two nights in a studio room. The room was spacious and bright with a very comfortable queen bed and small sitting area. The en-suite bathroom was lovely and clean with bath tub and shower. Apart from Studio rooms the hotel also has Deluxe Guest Rooms which all look to have been recently decorated. Breakfasts each morning were superb with a choice of three cooked meals. These were served in the delightful dining room at individual tables. From late afternoon until about 7 complimentary wine and homemade appetizers were served in the main lounge. There are also lovely seating areas in the garden. Plenty of parking space is to be found just outside the hotel. The new owners of the hotel, Nancy and Robert, are very hospitable hosts and they and their staff are extremely helpful. Without being intrusive they seem to go that extra mile to make their guests stay as comfortable as possible. We thoroughly recommend it as a great place to stay if you are visiting the McCloud/Shasta area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I had the ultimate pleasure of staying in this historic place in June just as the new owners Nancy and Robert were taking charge of the reins. I could tell right away these two are professionals and know how to run such a special place along with how to treat people in a way they will remember. Their prior days owning and managing a similar place back east are immediately evident.

Yes, the hotel is old - it is on the National Register and has a wonderful history of being the lodging for the bachelors that mined in the area - McCloud was a 'company town' and seeing the original structures, including homes for married employees and management, is in itself intriguing.

Nancy is warm and personable and goes out of her way to assist and make your visit special. She is a darn good cook also and the 3 course breakfasts where she even makes the bread for the french toast are "events" in and of themselves.

All the period furnished rooms are large and charming, many more like suites and some with jacuzzi hot tubs to make the need for TV a non-issue. Staying here is all about experiencing first hand the ambiance and comfort of a day gone by...

I plan to go back in the fall sometime and guess where I will be staying?

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant to rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I both really, really liked this place. We've stayed at other B&B's in McCloud but thought this one was the best for us. I loved the lobby and the tall slim man that runs and owns the house, he was very interesting. Our room was immaculate, nicely decorated we loved it. The house wasn't very busy during our stay and we had an opportunity to look a many other rooms, they were all different and beautifully done, every room looked great. I liked everything about the B&B. We had to leave very early each morning so we didn't have a chance to have their breakfast but I was told it was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor at the very end corner room toward the front of the house facing the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here on a trip to Oregon, and what a comfortable travel back in time. Built in 1915, but recently restored, each of the 12 rooms have all the comforts of home. The room furnishings are antique but clean and well-kept, but our favorite area was the quiet and beautiful garden, large enough to easily find a private place to sit and read. The included breakfast was delicious, and more than ample to start you on your day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is a really charming and cozy bed and breakfast hotel that I just absolutely enjoyed! The entire staff is to be commended and recommended! And the locale is just pristine.

We headed to McCloud for a wedding and chose The McCloud Hotel as our lodging of choice. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and checked in without delay. The hotel is a historic structure that dates back to the early 1900's and all attempts have been made to retain the period decor throughout the common areas and rooms.. Now mind you they didn't have TV back then so there are none in the rooms today. They do offer complimentary wi-fi for those who need to remain connected.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. Complimentary breakfast is served downstairs to all hotel guests. If you have a visitor they may dine with you for a modest price. The food is plentiful and hearty.

It is located on what can be considered the main street through town and everything is within walking distance. There is parking for one car per room for those trips into the countryside where there is plenty to do and see. Since we were only there for a couple of days we took in what we could. But there is hiking, fishing and camping to name just a few.

The combination of hospitality, location and locale, and the quality of our stay I would definitely recommend it to any and everyone!

Thank you again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Beautiful historic county style B&B. We loved everything about this place. The rooms was so clean and uniquely decorated. It was fun just to be there in the room, reading the guestbook, taking a bath, and we usually just like to be outside. We had the most incredible in-room breakfast. We love that there is no TV, it gave us more time together. We usually stay in Mt. Shasta city but couldn't find a place, but were so happy to find this wonder B&B. This is very close to Mt. Shasta and truly a special place to stay and worth the little extra dive if you plan to play on the mountain.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McCloud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Hotel

Address: 408 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCloud Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added McCloud Hotel to your Saves list