We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the romance of the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCloud Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McCloud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCloud Hotel
Save
You added McCloud Hotel to your Saves list
408 Main Street, PO Box 730, McCloud, CA 96057   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience the romance of the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I had the ultimate pleasure of staying in this historic place in June just as the new owners Nancy and Robert were taking charge of the reins. I could tell right away these two are professionals and know how to run such a special place along with how to treat people in a way they will remember. Their prior days owning and managing a similar place back east are immediately evident.

Yes, the hotel is old - it is on the National Register and has a wonderful history of being the lodging for the bachelors that mined in the area - McCloud was a 'company town' and seeing the original structures, including homes for married employees and management, is in itself intriguing.

Nancy is warm and personable and goes out of her way to assist and make your visit special. She is a darn good cook also and the 3 course breakfasts where she even makes the bread for the french toast are "events" in and of themselves.

All the period furnished rooms are large and charming, many more like suites and some with jacuzzi hot tubs to make the need for TV a non-issue. Staying here is all about experiencing first hand the ambiance and comfort of a day gone by...

I plan to go back in the fall sometime and guess where I will be staying?

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant to rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    19
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
66
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I both really, really liked this place. We've stayed at other B&B's in McCloud but thought this one was the best for us. I loved the lobby and the tall slim man that runs and owns the house, he was very interesting. Our room was immaculate, nicely decorated we loved it. The house wasn't very busy during our stay and we had an opportunity to look a many other rooms, they were all different and beautifully done, every room looked great. I liked everything about the B&B. We had to leave very early each morning so we didn't have a chance to have their breakfast but I was told it was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor at the very end corner room toward the front of the house facing the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here on a trip to Oregon, and what a comfortable travel back in time. Built in 1915, but recently restored, each of the 12 rooms have all the comforts of home. The room furnishings are antique but clean and well-kept, but our favorite area was the quiet and beautiful garden, large enough to easily find a private place to sit and read. The included breakfast was delicious, and more than ample to start you on your day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOS
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is a really charming and cozy bed and breakfast hotel that I just absolutely enjoyed! The entire staff is to be commended and recommended! And the locale is just pristine.

We headed to McCloud for a wedding and chose The McCloud Hotel as our lodging of choice. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and checked in without delay. The hotel is a historic structure that dates back to the early 1900's and all attempts have been made to retain the period decor throughout the common areas and rooms.. Now mind you they didn't have TV back then so there are none in the rooms today. They do offer complimentary wi-fi for those who need to remain connected.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. Complimentary breakfast is served downstairs to all hotel guests. If you have a visitor they may dine with you for a modest price. The food is plentiful and hearty.

It is located on what can be considered the main street through town and everything is within walking distance. There is parking for one car per room for those trips into the countryside where there is plenty to do and see. Since we were only there for a couple of days we took in what we could. But there is hiking, fishing and camping to name just a few.

The combination of hospitality, location and locale, and the quality of our stay I would definitely recommend it to any and everyone!

Thank you again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Beautiful historic county style B&B. We loved everything about this place. The rooms was so clean and uniquely decorated. It was fun just to be there in the room, reading the guestbook, taking a bath, and we usually just like to be outside. We had the most incredible in-room breakfast. We love that there is no TV, it gave us more time together. We usually stay in Mt. Shasta city but couldn't find a place, but were so happy to find this wonder B&B. This is very close to Mt. Shasta and truly a special place to stay and worth the little extra dive if you plan to play on the mountain.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Only 10 miles or so east of I-5 from the town of Mt. Shasta, on Hwy. 89 toward Susanville and eventually Reno, sits the quaint mountain village of McCloud. McCloud boasts several small, outwardly appealing hotels and B & B's. I can't speak to the other spots, but the McCloud Bed and Breakfast Hotel is the real deal. Built nearly 100 years ago, it is utterly charming and welcoming. The room was airy and bright, the bathroom modern, the bed quite comfortable. A chocolate treat lay on the bedside table. The creaky staircase adds to the ambience, as does the absence of TV and telephone in your room (they are downstairs off the lobby). Guests can relax in the comfy reception where books and games await (and where complimentary wine is served in late afternoon), or can sit on the veranda or in the leafy back yard. Off-street parking is ample. The staff is friendly and helpful; for example, although I departed before the hot breakfast would be served at 8 a.m., a young man, Ryan, was happy to fix me a sack of goodies to take along in the car.
My queen-bed room was $108 plus tax. Obviously, the larger rooms, including suites with jacuzzi tubs, cost more.
A drawback is that McCloud has few dining spots, so driving into Mt. Shasta for dinner may be necessary. Fortunately, that doesn't take long. A plus, for hikers, is that several trails are located only a few miles east. One hike in particular leads to three scenic waterfalls on the McCloud river; only the third of these requires much exertion.
I save 5-star ratings for deluxe resorts and exotic settings -- places like that. But as small, remote-but-charming hotels go, it would be hard to beat this one. I give it 4 stars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the McCloud Hotel. The interior feels historic, not dated, and the relaxed, yet classy, atmosphere feels like you have gone back to a simpler time.

It's true that there are no televisions in the rooms or phones, but that's the way we like to vacation. The breakfasts are fantastic and they accommodated our vegetarian needs without a problem. The serving staff in the morning were great! As others have mentioned, the gardens are lovely. The rates were quite reasonable (we got the standard room), and the beds were comfortable.

We will stay here the next time we are in the area again! Book early! We booked in March for a room in July and they were almost out!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 8 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
8.8 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 8 in Mount Shasta
3.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
6.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Hotel

Address: 408 Main Street, PO Box 730, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McCloud Hotel is an historic property located in the quaint, former logging town of McCloud, California. We are only 5 miles from the Mount Shasta Ski Park and 9 miles from the I-5 corridor and the town of Mt Shasta. McCloud is actually located on the southern slope of Mt Shasta! Our hotel offers historic hospitality along with modern amenities. We serve a cooked to order breakfast (that you order from a menu) and have a fine dining restaurant open to the public with seating available 5:30 - 8pm Wednesday - Sunday evenings. Dinner reservations are encouraged. Various rooms types and suites are available - all have private bathrooms. Good Wi-Fi and cell phone reception. Pet friendly. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCloud Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.