We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really don't want this to get out...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Save Saved
You added McCloud Mercantile Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in McCloud
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I really don't want this to get out...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the best Christmas we've had in ages. We decided to get out of the city for Christmas and didn't want Tahoe, so we stumbled upon McCould and found magic. There were so many beautiful attributes to this inn, the people and the town. The Mathis family made us feel like we were home and we all cooked Christmas dinner together and had a big group of locals and guests for a evening we will never forget. Simply perfection.

Room Tip: We were in the Founders room and it was the best room I have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    32
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
94
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel as part of getting our daughter married in McCloud. Our family had most of the rooms in the hotel which made it really fun. We had our daughters reception in the large upstairs room in the Mercantile. The owners were very helpful and accommodating to us and our group. It really was an A+ experience. There also was a breakfast credit as part of the room and the food in the cafe was very good. The portions were large and the food appetizing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great place to stay - our room was picture postcard perfect and very comfortable indeed. The Mathis family made us feel very welcome with great ideas of places to go and eat and walks we could take. Breakfast in the diner is also a great treat.

Room Tip: All rooms look fantastic, all are different so picking one out would be impossible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I received this review from one of my clients who recently stayed at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel 02OCT2012 and was completely blown away by the customer sevice,warmth and appreciation given by Kevin and Darlene. I knew when I spoke w/him on the phone that it woud be an awesome experience and he proved me right!

If you are heading up near Shasta, stay in the McCloud Mercantile Hotel. You will be graciously welcomed by Darlene and Kevin who manage the hotel, store and do all sorts of things. They are extremely helpful and very accessible and care about your well-being.

We stayed for 3 nights in the 1940's room which is spacious and comfortable. Very clean. Includes a large whirlpool tub. Bathroom is spacious and the fluffy towels just right. Beds are perfect. After an active day and bath or shower, you will sink into sweet comfort. Breakfast is included. Try the breakfast burrito at the Morning Star Cafe just behind the store.

I very much hope to return. I feel like I brought back some of the good feelings from our stay at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel.

You will love the infinite forests in the area. Hiking trails are a short drive from the Mercantile. Drive to the falls and hike around. Also, you will want to walk through the town of McCloud full of history. Read about the history in the McCloud binder found in the sitting room near the small kitchenette, common area. Kevin and Darlene are happy to make suggestions for your outings.

Room Tip: 1940's room which is spacious and comfortable. Very clean. Includes a large whirlpool tub. Bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were with a large group of friends staying in varying rooms and B&B's in McCloud. My husband and I were upgraded, I think because of a reservation problem that had to do with another client. We had been booked in the pet room and didn't have a pet, hence, they switched us...is what I believe happened and our upgrade was the kind of room where you wanted to stay at least TWO nights, but we only had the luxury of staying one. The owners were extremely accommodating. Price of room included a $20.00 credit to a couple of cafes in the same building. Our breakfast was delicious. There is "nothing" to do in McCloud which makes it a great getaway from everyday life. The small selection of shops are good. The local restaurant, The Lodge, excelled at accommodating our large group on short notice. We have no negatives about our stay at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel.

Room Tip: This very old historic hotel has been remodeled and does have an elevator! There are no coffeepots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We like to stay in small town America on our regular trips from the UK and this has to now be one of our favorite towns. Everyone is really friendly and wanting to know why two Brits were there! The Mercantile was really comfy and the staff friendly. A great place that we want to come back to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Merc; the shower was a little quirky until you figured it out, and as early risers we could have wished the cafe opened before 8 AM, but other than minor details like that it was close to perfect. The owners and staff were very helpful. McCloud is the kind of place where drivers wave at you, and it's a great central location to explore north-central CA from; we drove to the falls of the McCloud River one day, around the east side of the mountain another, and to the old stagecoach route past Callahan and Ft. Jones on the third.

Room Tip: The Charles Miller room has a wide view of Mt. Shasta, even from bed. Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCloud Mercantile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.