We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place beats a chain motel any day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added McCloud Mercantile Hotel to your Saves list
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
SF Bay Area
1 review
“This place beats a chain motel any day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed overnight here on my way back to the Bay Area after a long road trip to the Pacific Northwest. Friendly innkeepers (both husband and wife). Very cool room -- loved the decor. Extremely clean and fresh. Wifi worked fine (always nice to have). Nice public area to hang out and have coffee or a drink in the evening. I could see Mt. Shasta from my window! I'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    32
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
101
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at the Mercantile in the Founder's Room. Classy, roomy and ultra clean. Owners were very gracious. Breakfast downstairs was excellent. This is the nicest place in McCloud.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel. The hotel rooms are above the general store, which harkens back to an older era. Our room was clean and comfortable; the bathroom was spotless. The owners have done an amazing job at restoring the building, which used to be the company store when McCloud was a mill town. We received a credit for breakfast at the cafe downstairs, and it was hearty and delicious. The owner greeted us, and he seems like a great guy who is happy to share advice and make your stay comfortable.

McCloud is a sleepy town, which is fine as we were tired from hiking and fly fishing all day. While you're visiting, take a drive to the McCloud falls. There's an easy walk from the lower to middle falls, and it's quite scenic. Seeing Mt. Shasta is a beautiful sight, especially at early morning or twilight. Can't wait to go back to this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in the Wintu room and it created a wonderful wonderland escape for us.
Filling our days with snowshoeing and our evenings with soaking in a huge tub and then crawling into a comfortable cozy bed.
This is only an hour away from where we live and have our own Bed and Breakfast.
It is a special getaway for us and a place we also send our own guest who are looking to get out of town for a night or two.
One of the things I love about the Inn is that it has a great atmosphere not many have. You feel you have stepped back in time a bit with the community area upstairs and the store downstairs.
My husband LOVES the Huevos Ranchero's down stairs at the restaurant below the Inn.
Make sure this is a stop for you along the way up Hwy 5..you'll be glad you did!!

Room Tip: We found the website excellant for our room choice selection process..great pics
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Just stayed one night passing through from Oregon to the Bay Area, but we were totally charmed by the renovation that the young owners have done to the Mercantile. There are other hotels and B&Bs in McCloud (and we haven't stayed at all of them), but the Mercantile is different. No doilies or stuffed rabbits or lace. The room was quite large (probably a combination of a couple of original rooms) and a huge bathroom. Everything was new and fresh and clean and crisp. The decor is minimalist but still comfortable and welcoming in a historical setting. They have done all the work themselves - very impressive. It was very quiet and although we saw several families with small children we never heard a thing. There is a large common area on the second floor where you can get coffee in the morning, but you go downstairs to the cafe next door for breakfast, armed with your $20 credit from the hotel. (The breakfast was generous and delicious, including the coffee, and we're pretty picky about our coffee.) Bear in mind that this is a historical building so there is no elevator. You must walk up one flight of steps to get to the rooms. We did not eat dinner out so have no comment on local restaurants for dinner. After dark we walked the quiet streets and gazed up at the gorgeous night sky full of brilliant stars, a sight not possible with all the light pollution of our Bay Area. Truly a lovely experience all round!

Room Tip: A/C was welcome as McCloud gets really hot in the summer. Very small flat screen TV, which is fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel during the last week of July, 2011. An avid fly fisher, he loves to go to regions boasting great fishing, and I love to go along for the hiking and reading while he casts about. We spent two nights at the Hotel, and simply can't speak highly enough of this wonderful spot.

The interior has been designed in a way to drop you into a historic visit. Complete with deep red/orange painted wooden walls, polished hard wood floors and antique period chests and armoirs, the hotel seems to wrap itself around you in welcome.

We stayed in the Friday George room, giving us a beautiful view of Mt. Shasta, still covered with snow. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a lovely clawfoot tub and the yummiest shampoo, conditioner and body lotion that I've ever tried. My only regret was that we had to leave before the mercantile opened, so I was unable to purchase some of the amenities.

We ordered a box lunch to take on one excursion to the McCloud Preserve, expecting the standard sandwich w/ chips. How pleased we were to recieve (right at 8:30am, when we asked for it) a remarkable cooler backback, for ease of carrying, filled with a tasty & fresh turkey roll-up, a chocolate chip cookie for him and gingersnap cookie for me, a pint of fresh mixed fruits, and 3 different sodas & juice. All kept cool by an ice pack in the cooler.

I highly recommend the McCloud Mercantile Hotel. We will definitely return, and next time, stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

quaint, clean, helpful staff, great views of Mount Shasta

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCloud Mercantile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.