We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCloud Railroad House B&B

McCloud Railroad House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCloud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCloud Railroad House B&B
Save
You added McCloud Railroad House B&B to your Saves list
P.O. Box 217, Access by Lawndale Lane., McCloud, CA 96057   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 McCloud B&B and Inns
12943
1 review
“a great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

comfortable house, gracious hosts, delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
No. CA.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

This B & B offers a very comfortable & gracious enviornment. We enjoyed the railroad equipment & art. The hosts go to extremes to ensure your visit is great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

The breakfast was exceptionally wonderful, let alone how the home looked, Beautiful & Cozy. A wonderful experience at the railroad also just a short distant away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Not only were the grounds and rooms beautiful and well maintained, but the warm and friendly atmosphere that Diane and Ed provide make you feel so at home.
Diane was very informative upon our check-in and gave us maps and told us about different things to do in the area and places to eat.
Afterward, we were given a tour of the house and cabooses. We learned lots of interesting details about the antique furniture and furnishings. She took pictures of us in and around the trains and house and e-mailed them so they were waiting for me when I returned home. In fact, she usually prints a copy right away, but we ran out of time.
So many thoughtful details above and beyond the chocolate mints on the pillow you sometimes get (which we got, too!) make it easy for me to recommend the McCloud Railroad House B&B above any other.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We had a fabulous stay the night of our dinner train ride! We were greeted with maps, and tourist guides, and we loved seeing the cabooses and other railroad memorobilia. Most of all, we appreciated how they went over and beyond to make our stay comfortable--from sodas and snacks, to soaps, shampoos and a robe, to the candies in our room and the family room.The home cooked breakfast was excellent and was a delicious complement to the delicious train ride food we had eaten the night before. We were very pleasantly surprised, and will definitely return again when we come back in the area!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We highly reccomend the McCloud Railroad House B&B. The room was very clean as well as warm and friendly. The attmosphere of the home and the people overseeing it was very inviting and comfortable. The food was out of this world and very well presented. We reccomend you try them out. You won't be dissappointed.

Keith & Trish Wright

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This place was amazing, especially for a railroad buff. The home and grounds carry the RR theme including 2 cabooses, one of which has been made into a delightful master suite for Ed and Diane (the owners). Their 4-bedroom home is literally turned over to their guests with a shelf in the refrigerator for soft drinks and fruit juices and a cupboard full of assorted snacks. The rooms are full of antique furniture and reproductions of the early 1900s which is in keeping with the old mill town of McCloud.

For breakfast we were served baked cinnamon apples with vanilla drizzel, scrambled eggs with cream cheese and scallons, turkey-apple sausage, and red potatoe. At check-in Diane inquired about food allergies (I cannot eat onions) and my eggs were served minus the scallons.

Friday evening, before we left to go on the dinner trail that travels around Mt. Shasta, Diane took our picture posing in front of their beautiful leaded glass front door. When we returned, there was a color 8X10 sitting on our dresser. What a nice touch.

What a memorable stay.

Alyce Rankin
Camas, WA

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCloud Railroad House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Railroad House B&B

Address: P.O. Box 217, Access by Lawndale Lane., McCloud, CA 96057
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast, nestled among pine trees in Historic Railroad/Lumber Town. Yummy breakfast, home hospitality, large railroad collection including two real caboose for your viewing pleasure. Easy walk to to town and dinner train. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCloud Railroad House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.