We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every second” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages to your Saves list
Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages
23240 Highway One, Marshall, CA 94940   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Loved every second”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I recently stayed at Nick's Cove with my friend for just one night as a very impromptu getaway...I made the reservation the day before we arrived. I picked Red Legged Frog from the photos on the website because the color scheme looked cheerful, but I had no idea how charming it would be in real life.

We arrived at dusk and were shown to our room by Kali, who is charming and cheerful and very helpful. Music was playing, all the lights were on, and the bathroom floor was toasty warm. It felt like coming home to exactly the kind of place you'd want to relax in after a day on the road or out in the elements. We had a little snack from the provisions left in our room (Nuts and cheese and fruits) and spent a few hours playing Yahtzee in the bar. The restaurant filled up at about 7pm (mostly lodging guests) but we enjoyed how quiet it was, and very cozy with the fire going behind us.

Red Legged Frog is a really cheerful room; the decor is a delightful mix of charm and warmth. The antiques are tasteful, and the appliances and fixtures are brand new and high quality. It is a very good size, with separate areas for the bed, the couch and woodstove, and wet bar and dining table. We had plenty of room to spread out and settle in; I would like to have a couple of nights at least to really get comfortable. The room is always such a pleasure to come back to! There are even twinkle lights on the stairs outside.
I enjoyed taking a bath in the deep, luxurious tub, and then sitting out on the porch in the dark and listening to the night sounds. The cottage faces the highway, but after about 9pm, cars passed about one per every 10 minutes. It's very quiet.

The bed is incredibly comfortable and we slept so well...my friend said it is one of the most comfortable ever. I loved the texture of the sheets. We're from Tahoe, though, and found that we could not get the room cool enough for our liking. There is a huge fat down comforter provided but it was too much for us, and we slept with three windows open. The main problem here is that there are no screens, and flies came in, but the air is that lovely sea air which is so easy to enjoy, so I have no complaints.

Breakfast was very good, and we loved having it brought to the room.

I'm so excited to take my mom to this property for her birthday...I'm having a hard time deciding which cottage to reserve. The location of the Frog is not over the water, which is of course, most desirable, but the layout of the room is superb, and the decor quite feminine without being frilly. Each cottage has so much individual character. I didn't mind at all being across the highway, and found the view to be really wonderful. We left with great reluctance; we would have liked to have extended our stay for a few more nights.

This is a location I look very much forward to visiting over and over, with my friends and family and anyone who will come with me! It is really a treasure on the California coast. I believe the prices to be very fair for what you get. Nick's Cove defines rustic luxury.

  • Liked — Little extras, super luxury without pretension, comfort and relaxation
  • Disliked — flies in the room because of no window screen (but they do provide fly swatters in the room!?!?!?!?)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    37
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
darien,georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Absolutely great. Nick's Cove is a short drive north of San Francisco and well worth the trip. The hotel resembles a spa and the restaurant is four star. The food is excellent as well as the atmosphere and the service. We had a wonderful overnight stay and wished we had stayed longer. I recommend at least two or three nights to enjoy Point Reyes. Would also be a great romantic getaway.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — winding road to get there
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

You won't regret staying here. We stayed in Heart's Desire across Highway 1 from Nick's Cove restaurant. The five cabins near the water are the gems and the prices are steeper. At either Heart's Desire or Red Legged Frog you can still have your own private deck where you are treated to a view of Tomales Bay and the comings and goings of the restaurant. The restoration is more upscale with conference facilities available, too, but it has been “lovingly brought back to life.” I suspect here is still a little bit of funkiness from the original Nick’s Cove. It can be noisy in the morning staying across the highway but we slept incredibly well. The cottage was warm and comfortable. Delicious complimentary breakfast of homemade scones, muffins, organic fruit, coffee/tea is brought to your room. For an additional cost you can order other specially prepared items such as frittata, eggs, steel-cut oatmealm etc. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent featuring local, organic foods. It was a relaxing, memorable experience at Nick's and we’re already thinking about our next trip!

  • Liked — Comfortable and well-appointed cottage and lovingly restored with photographs of the original Nick's Cove
  • Disliked — Noise from housekeeping before 11AM
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed in Ruthies Cottage at Nick's for one night on our trip up the Northern California Coast. The room was cozy, charming and very comfortable (think rustic Ralph Lauren). As it was a foggy and cold afternoon we enjoyed coming back to our cottage lighting a fire and relaxing in the comfy leather sofa and chair in front of the large picture with our bottle of wine from the Point Reyes Winery and cheese from the Cowgirl Creamery we visited that day. Nick's added some nice touches, music was playing when they showed us to our cottage, homemade chocolates, nuts and fruit. Loved the heated bathroom floors especially with the cold weather. We enjoyed a very nice dinner and good service at the restaurant. The breakfast was also very good. It included juice, french pressed coffee, a large basket of assorted homemade pastries and fruit. Plenty after a big dinner at Nick's the night before.
We were the ones mentioned in KellylovesTom's review who showed them our cottage, Ruthies, in exchange for us seeing the inside of Al's next door. We liked the size and sitting area of our room along with the dining area.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

We spent 2 nights in Al's Cottage which is over the water. The accommodations are very rustic but had charm. The bedroom has a huge picture window looking out over the bay. There was a small porch with somewhat tacky furniture. Had it been sunny, I would have wanted more comfortable seating. We spent 1 day doing an oyster barbeque at Hog Island which is always fun. Unfortunately it was so overcast and so cold in July. The day we left the sun finally came out. So bring warm clothes just in case!

I also wish we could have watched TV from the bed.

We ate both nights at their restaurant which has a slightly fancier side and a very casual side. We were hesitant because of the bad reviews I had read online but the food was very good. We would not hesitate to eat there again. The service was great too. We also had the bigger (you pay for it) breakfast in our room and that was quite good!

My only big complaint was in the morning I went to the desk hoping to see the other cottages on the water if no one had checked in yet. The desk person was quite rude. I almost canceled my reservation I have there later in the year. I did get to see the cottage I had reserved by letting the current occupants come see Al's. It was Ruthies, and not my favorite, so I need to figure out which I will change it too sight unseen. Too bad that office person was so shortsighted.

  • Liked — Very casual and rustic but comfortable. Great views.
  • Disliked — Was so cold and foggy i n July!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a 2 night getaway as a base for hiking in Point Reyes.
Pros
- the cabin (we stayed in Jerry's cabin) was super-luxurious with a huge and comfy bed, a very romantic cosy wood burning stove, big sofa, little kitchen, all delightfully fitted out
- We took advantage of the option for an in-room massage ($115 per hour) which was terrific
- The restaurant food is delicious and it has a warm atmosphere (both friendly and romantic)
- Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful
- Tasty home made chocolate/little snack and free soft drinks in the room

Cons
- As other reviews state, rooms and restaurant are pricey (Continental breakfast is included for example but it isnt enough to set you up for a day of hiking so we ended up paying for extras). Room is expensive given that it is a 15min drive away from Point Reyes station and the cabins sit either side of Highway 1. We weren't price sensitive so it didn't bother us, it's a pleasant drive from Point Reyes, the cabins are just lovely, the road isn't bothersome at all, but if you are price sensitive or want to be much closer to the trails, then this might not be the place for you.

  • Liked — Cosy room
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

Nick's Cove was an impromptu vacation that almost went bad. We came up here for a 2-night getaway to see Point Reyes and Tomales Bay.

We didn't research this area enough. First of all, it turns out that this inn is 10 very long winding miles from the entrance to the Point Reyes national park. It would have been much better to stay in Inverness or Olema.

Second of all, the rooms were not as advertised. We reserved the room called Innkeeper's Cottage which was the only unit with a kitchen and had a "creekside view". After we checked in and were being walked to our room across Hwy 1 from the lobby, the receptionist said, oh by the way, there was a problem with the toilet in the Innkeeper's Cottage, so you're staying in the Red Legged Frog cottage above it. It turned out that both rooms were part of a 2-story triplex that fronted Hwy 1 with no ocean view. The innkeepers cottage was on the 1st floor with 2 units above it. They had switched our room to a room half the size at the same price, saying the upper unit "had a better view". The triplex sits next to a drainage ditch. That was the creek. The parking area next to the triplex wasn't even paved, and arriving in the dark in a light rain, I of course dropped a few things in the mud.

We had made advance dinner reservations at the hotel restaurant (I'll post a review about that), and that turned out very disappointing, so we were afraid this was going to turn into 2 terrible nights of rip-off.

But, if you read this far, it turned out that everything turned out okay. Our room was small but the bed had a good pillowtop mattress and lots of pillows. There was a refrigerator, a couch, LCD TV, HBO, a terrific wood stove with plenty of firewood, a gas wall heater, and the large bathroom had a heated marble floor. The exterior walls and windows were well-insulated, so even though it was extremely cold outside, we were cozy inside. The bathing amenities were locally made lavendar-scented products. Large towels, bathrobes, and slippers are provided.

Unfortunately, the one interior wall shared with the 2nd upstairs unit had poor sound proofing so that conversations came muffled through.

Besides the quality of the furnishings, what helped make the stay enjoyable was that the inn stocks you with treats. The frig comes with a some water, sodas, 2 beers, and a bottle of wine. They provide an evening treat; one night was bread and fruit with 3 kinds of home made pate. The second night was home made cookies and milk. The complimentary continental breakfast they bring to your room on trays was very good coffee, fresh squeezed juice, muffins, and one bowl (you have to share!) of fruit. For an extra $10 you can get a generous bowl of steel-cut oatmeal.

The food helped our attitude about the room. But at $100 more than any other hotel in the area, it's obviously not worth it, and we'll never stay here again.

We came to Nick's Cove because it was recently promoted in Sunset Magazine and the AAA Via Magazine, and my only guess is that those unwarranted articles were either published as a favor to, or were paid for by, the owner.

  • Liked — Nice amenities
  • Disliked — They downgraded our room without telling us
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages

Address: 23240 Highway One, Marshall, CA 94940
Location: United States > California > Marshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar & Cottages is a West Marin icon. We are located directly on the shores of stunning Tomales Bay in the town of Marshall, California. We are open every day and welcome you to enjoy this very historic treasure for an overnight retreat or a stop midday to enjoy a delicious lunch on your Highway One travels. Our menu features local farm-fresh produce, locally sourced seafood and meats and our Executive Chef prepares a daily menu that focuses on the bounty we procure from our neighboring farms and ranches. We serve lunch Monday-Friday at 11 am; brunch Saturday and Sunday at 10 am and dinner every night at 5pm. We have twelve luxury cottages: five are situated directly on Tomales Bay and seven are situated across historic highway one in a meadow. Views and serenity abound! Wood burning stoves are ready to light each night and every morning our fresh pastries and french press coffee are delivered to your room! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages Hotel Marshall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.