We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy (but Expensive!) Cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages to your Saves list
Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages
23240 Highway One, Marshall, CA 94940   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cozy (but Expensive!) Cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I had been dying to try Nick's for about a year before we finally had a chance to go in February. The weekend we went was incredibly wet, and the rain never let up. But, Nick's was a great place to curl up by a roaring fire. We spent one night in Big Rock with our pup and fortunately loved the cabin, since we were confined to being indoors for the duration of our stay.

The furnishings are rustic, the fishing theme is tastefully executed, and the beds are incredibly comfortable. If you can't fall asleep with the sound of waves lapping against the shore outside you might want to consider ear plugs. But, even though the wind and water were quite loud, especially given the gap under the front door, I had a good night's sleep. My rating is based primarily on the great lodging.

Nick's has all the makings of a great getaway. In fact, I was excited to be somewhere without cell phone reception for a weekend. But by the time we left I was a little disappointed. Relative to other hotels in a similar vein, the value didn't seem to be here (even in low season). Service was non-existent. We were checked in and pointed in the general direction of our cabin. The complimentary beverages were a nice touch but the "snacks" were a zip lock baggie of very plain trail mix. Somehow, I wound up paying for aspects of the "complimentary breakfast". While the crab mac n' cheese and oysters at the restaurant were very good, the rest of the food was a huge let down, especially at that price point. We left wishing we'd eaten elsewhere but had ignored. I'm not opposed to paying a substantial amount for a nice stay - but when I do, I expect more consistently high quality for my money.

Our visit could have been be tainted by the fact that we weren't able to observe the sunset or spend any time on the deck due to the constant downpour--I'd like to return in better weather to see if my opinion changes. But, while we enjoyed Nick's, it'll take a little more to convince me it's worth the money.

Room Tip: Big Rock can fit more than 4 people but it's a tight squeeze even with 3-4. One benefit is that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    37
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
90
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nothing but relaxing and wonderful! Service, food, view and servers were unique! I will be back with my people again. Thanks! This place is what dreams are made of. You will go away feeling much better than when you walked in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Right on the bay. Great view. Cottages were artfully done and very cozy. The restaurant and service were first rate. Service splendid. They bring a sumptuous breakfast to the room. Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This place is special as other reviews report. We stayed at the Fly Fisherman Cottage and enjoyed the large room, view of the water, heated bathroom floor, large tub, and breakfast brought to the cottage. Go here for some quality couple time, it's so peaceful and relaxing. Oysters both across the street and up the street at Marshall Store and Hog Island. We watched the boats pull up the oysters in the morning, can't get more fresh than that. I didn't think the cottages on the water were any more special than the ones we were in, you all had a view of the water. Now that we know how lovely this place is, we look forward to coming back for a longer stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed one night in Ruthie's cottage, which is situated on the water at Tomales Bay. The view across the bay looking at Pt. Reyes National Seashore is spectacular. The accommodations in Ruthie's cottage were wonderful. We ate at Nick's restaurant. The oysters were excellent and the chicken dish was the best chicken I have ever eaten. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are traveling on Highway 1 up the coast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We rented Judy's cottage for one night. There wouldn't have been much of a view in any of the cottages given the torrential February rain, but the cottage looks out on road/parking lot. The linens were wonderful, the guest book charming, the history delightful, the included breakfast delicious (but not mentioned in our reservation confirmation, nor did the incompetent reservations clerk mention that we had an included breakfast when she made our brunch reservation -- three times, as she couldn't get the date correct). But the same incompetent clerk responded that the New York Times would be delivered with breakfast when I called to see if one could be reserved in advance (sorry, but the Chronicle is not the Times). And when we dropped off the card to reserve our breakfast, the "8:00-8:30 slot is already filled up." Sorry, Nick's, but that kind of service doesn't cut it in a luxury inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

If your psyche needs a break from whatever life throws you, this is the place to go. The cabins are decorated/outfitted (not the right words, sounds contrived) to make your blood pressure drop and you know that you are where you need to be. The atmosphere is so relaxing you won't want to leave...or, you will try to figure out how you can incorporate this into your life at home or at least come here more often. Dinner, the bar scene were both delightful...lively but not too loud (important to us), the food was wonderful. You can't beat just waling back to your cabin. And then we walked down the pier to the boat house....it was magic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages

Address: 23240 Highway One, Marshall, CA 94940
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Marshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar & Cottages is a West Marin icon. We are located directly on the shores of stunning Tomales Bay in the town of Marshall, California. We are open every day and welcome you to enjoy this very historic treasure for an overnight retreat or a stop midday to enjoy a delicious lunch on your Highway One travels. Our menu features local farm-fresh produce, locally sourced seafood and meats and our Executive Chef prepares a daily menu that focuses on the bounty we procure from our neighboring farms and ranches. We serve lunch Monday-Friday at 11 am; brunch Saturday and Sunday at 10 am and dinner every night at 5pm. We have twelve luxury cottages: five are situated directly on Tomales Bay and seven are situated across historic highway one in a meadow. Views and serenity abound! Wood burning stoves are ready to light each night and every morning our fresh pastries and french press coffee are delivered to your room! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages Hotel Marshall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.