We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nick's Cove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages to your Saves list
Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages
23240 Highway One, Marshall, CA 94940   |  
Hotel amenities
Northfield, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nick's Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Right on the bay. Great view. Cottages were artfully done and very cozy. The restaurant and service were first rate. Service splendid. They bring a sumptuous breakfast to the room. Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    37
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This place is special as other reviews report. We stayed at the Fly Fisherman Cottage and enjoyed the large room, view of the water, heated bathroom floor, large tub, and breakfast brought to the cottage. Go here for some quality couple time, it's so peaceful and relaxing. Oysters both across the street and up the street at Marshall Store and Hog Island. We watched the boats pull up the oysters in the morning, can't get more fresh than that. I didn't think the cottages on the water were any more special than the ones we were in, you all had a view of the water. Now that we know how lovely this place is, we look forward to coming back for a longer stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, SC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed one night in Ruthie's cottage, which is situated on the water at Tomales Bay. The view across the bay looking at Pt. Reyes National Seashore is spectacular. The accommodations in Ruthie's cottage were wonderful. We ate at Nick's restaurant. The oysters were excellent and the chicken dish was the best chicken I have ever eaten. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are traveling on Highway 1 up the coast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We rented Judy's cottage for one night. There wouldn't have been much of a view in any of the cottages given the torrential February rain, but the cottage looks out on road/parking lot. The linens were wonderful, the guest book charming, the history delightful, the included breakfast delicious (but not mentioned in our reservation confirmation, nor did the incompetent reservations clerk mention that we had an included breakfast when she made our brunch reservation -- three times, as she couldn't get the date correct). But the same incompetent clerk responded that the New York Times would be delivered with breakfast when I called to see if one could be reserved in advance (sorry, but the Chronicle is not the Times). And when we dropped off the card to reserve our breakfast, the "8:00-8:30 slot is already filled up." Sorry, Nick's, but that kind of service doesn't cut it in a luxury inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

If your psyche needs a break from whatever life throws you, this is the place to go. The cabins are decorated/outfitted (not the right words, sounds contrived) to make your blood pressure drop and you know that you are where you need to be. The atmosphere is so relaxing you won't want to leave...or, you will try to figure out how you can incorporate this into your life at home or at least come here more often. Dinner, the bar scene were both delightful...lively but not too loud (important to us), the food was wonderful. You can't beat just waling back to your cabin. And then we walked down the pier to the boat house....it was magic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torekov, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We ended up here by accident. We were first gonna use the bathroom but then had a look at their menu and ended up having the best lunch on our USA trip. The grilled oysters was just delicious and a totally new food experience for us. Then we had the todays special which was a crab something stew that was also super. The views were amazing and itwas just the perfect stop on our road trip. You can read more here if you'd like: http://sunshinestories.com/grilled-oysters/

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Spectacular cottages in a magic place, superb restaurant…hidden to look like a seaside drive-by. The details of the room are world-class -- think Big Sur -- and the menu is as sophisticated as you'd find in San Francisco -- and again, hidden behind a very family-run looking restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose to be over the bay on stilts, or across the road. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages

Address: 23240 Highway One, Marshall, CA 94940
Location: United States > California > Marshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar & Cottages is a West Marin icon. We are located directly on the shores of stunning Tomales Bay in the town of Marshall, California. We are open every day and welcome you to enjoy this very historic treasure for an overnight retreat or a stop midday to enjoy a delicious lunch on your Highway One travels. Our menu features local farm-fresh produce, locally sourced seafood and meats and our Executive Chef prepares a daily menu that focuses on the bounty we procure from our neighboring farms and ranches. We serve lunch Monday-Friday at 11 am; brunch Saturday and Sunday at 10 am and dinner every night at 5pm. We have twelve luxury cottages: five are situated directly on Tomales Bay and seven are situated across historic highway one in a meadow. Views and serenity abound! Wood burning stoves are ready to light each night and every morning our fresh pastries and french press coffee are delivered to your room! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages Hotel Marshall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.