We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the kind of funky foodie place you always hope to find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marshall Store

The Marshall Store
19225 State Route 1, Marshall, CA 94940
(415) 663-1339
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Marshall
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Georgetown, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just the kind of funky foodie place you always hope to find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stopped here to have some oysters on a coastal drive, and found it to be just what I was hoping for! Great view to start and end with, but I loved the food, and funky casual atmosphere is perfect. Besides the oysters, don't miss the yummy tamales that are hiding in the deli case just waiting to be looked at and tasted despite the competition from the scrumptious oysters! Overall I would recommend this stop to anyone who loves good simple food!! Don't miss it! Very friendly staff and service too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Lunch ......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was a bright and Sunny Spring day and we happened upon this little shack of a place just about lunch time. A very limited menu but we had clam chowder, baked brie, and a huge platter of raw oysters and cracked crab. We chose to sit out by the water because of the nice weather and it was a good decision. It was a little pricy but considering the freshness of the seafood and the high quality it was money well spent. Bring cash though as they do not accept credit cards. This is the sort of place that we would detour from the driving plan just to visit again. And I am sure we will.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The oysters were great, and the view unbeatable. The staff was friendly and authentic.

Would love to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltahohe, Namibia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could've stayed all day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The setting of this is place is amazing, huge long picnic table overlooking bay.The freshest oysters prepared for you in a natural scenic place, while you have few glasses of wine or beer, what more could you look for? The problem is leaving, you don't want to (maybe I should setup a b&b across the road).
I'll be planning my next trip to S.F very soon, with the plan drive up to Marshall and return to this place

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Beautiful Stop, Coulda stayed all day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found this place as we were driving south on 1, having never been to this part of PCH before, but knew this was the area to stop for oysters, but there are lots.
We past others were you have to valet and go inside.You dont drive all this way to go inside or have your car valet, we past this place and you see the giant long picnic table along the water or and more picnic tables wrapped around the store overlooking the bay.
Order inside, get your beer/wine go sit outside and they'l bring em to you.
The scene/ambience goes hand in hand with the amazingly fresh oysters they serve.
I went around the corner and saw the fishermen drinking after they just brought em in.
Remarkable little stop on our daytrip from city

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marshall Store also viewed

 

Been to The Marshall Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marshall Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.